We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Pacific Rim from April 2nd - 6th. From the moment we arrived the service was awesome. When we got out of the taxi the bellman asked for our last name and said that we did not have to go to check-in, he had our keys. He handed us off to another gentleman who took us to our room and showed us how everything worked and where the buttons were (remote lights, curtains, coffee maker, TV in the mirror......)

The location of the hotel is great. The 2010 Olympic Caldron as directly across the street to the left and Canada Place was directly across the street to the right. The elevators are the fastest that we have ever had in a hotel. The longest we had to wait was approximately 2 seconds, they seemed to anticipate us needing to use them. The rooms are large and comfortable.

The hotel just opened in January 2010, so the pool area is not finished yet (it's due to open in June 2010). You may want to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel until the pool is finished, as the workers seemed to start working outside between 7:00 and 7:30 am. I went to the spa and it was great. I decided at the last minute to get a massage, that was around 4:00 pm. I called down and they said that they were all booked up, I said that was fine. About 10 minutes later I received a call from the spa saying that a masseuse said that she would stay to give me my massage. I went directly down and had an awesome 60 minutes massage.

If you want to be pampered and have great service, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,000 - 3,006 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel is a top notch hotel with excellent harbour & mountain views in the rooms. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious, clean and modern. Although our room was located next to the elevators we were never bothered by any hallway noises. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and we were greeted with smiles every time we walked thru the lobby. Another nice unexpected bonus was that we were able to web check-in and print our boarding passes for free in the Business Centre on the day of our departing flight which allowed us more time to spend in the city. The hotel is also closely situated to the Canada Line Sky train, about a 3 minute walk eastward. The hotel is also within walking distance to Gastown, Chinatown and Robson Street. Also try the Giovane Cafe located in the hotel, very delicious breakfast pastries (try the sugar bun)! The only downside was the rooftop cabana pool was not open yet when we were there but I'm sure it will be amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chen5930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The hotel is very modern, the room is big, with nice and comfortable furniture, and of course, beautiful views. All the lighting and window curtain in room are controlled electronically. It took us a while to figure out how to use the espresso machine, but coffee comes out of it is way better than other coffee machines I used at other hotels (including other Fairmont hotels). Bathroom has shower and bath tub, TV build in the mirror. Service are great, everyone is polite and try to offer the best service to their guest. This is one of the best hotel I ever stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picturejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Although our room view was described as Harbour View, what we could actually see from our room was the roof of the conference centre. When we requested another room, we had to wait a very long time, and were shown a room in front of an ice machine and close to the elevator, even although we have a preference stated for a quiet room away from elevators and ice machines (both in our President's Club profile and on our reservation).

In such circumstances, good hotels normally offer one or two upgrades at little or no charge, just to compensate the guest for the inconvenience. This hotel did offer a minor upgrade, but to another totally unsuitable room. When we asked for a higher upgrade, for which we were willing to partially pay for, we were asked for the full amount of the upgrade.

Ultimately, we had to cancel our reservation and move to another hotel. However, it was not until we informed this hotel of our decision that the Assistant Reception Manager came to speak to us, even although he was close by during the previous discussion.

Also, we highly recommend that anyone looking for an enjoyable and relaxing stay in a 4 star hotel atmosphere should avoid this hotel, because it certainly does not have a 4 star hotel atmosphere, but rather appears, sounds and feels like a typical business hotel full of convention delegates, with the associated high level of noise and constant bustle and delays in service. Due to this hotel’s extreme proximity the convention centre, the choice of rooms is very limited for individual travellers, due to the common block-booking for conventions.

The only slightly redeeming part of this experience was that the hotel provided us with free transportation to our new hotel.

I should also mention that I have been satisfied with my stays at many Fairmont hotels over the years, but this experience has now unfavourably changed my opinion of the Fairmont brand.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ValerioRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Fabulous suite… eager-to-please staff... stunning views… delightful experience!

Pet friendly notes – our dog enjoyed happy greetings, a quiet room, and exploring the waterfront neighborhood. The bustling lobby could be overwhelming at times, and it felt like a long walk to a good “doing his business” spot — but never a problem. The cat and dog room service menu was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peace-L4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

A gem in the city of Vancouver. Everything about the Pacific Rim was five star quality. When we arrived, my wife and I were greeted at the front entrance by Patrick who welcomed us with a warm smile and took us right up the the front desk. Our check in was very smooth and pleasent. The front desk staff were very warm and welcoming. Brianna walked us right to the elevators instead of just pointing them out or telling us "they are over there". The room was beautiful with awesome views overlooking the water and mountains. We almost felt like we were at home and not in a 'hotel". My wife wanted to have a look at the Spa. We left our room and found Les in the hallway and asked him where we could find the spa. Just like earlier in the front lobby, we didn't just get pointed in the right direction, he took us to the elevators and down to the front reception area in the Spa. The Spa staff were more than welcome to answer all our questions and give us a small tour.

You guys should be proud. Best staff interaction I've had in a hotel. You made our stay very pleasent and comfortable. Won't hesitate to return to your wonderful establishment on our next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This is a beautiful hotel. From the moment my husband and I checked in till we left we felt pampered and well taken care of. The lobby is great for people watching and for having a drink before dinner listening to some great live music. The whole place is open, comfortable and relaxed. We had dinner in Oru with some friends and had the Chef's selection. I highly recommend this if there are 4 or more of you. You have a selection of appetizers and main courses and each one was divine.

Our room was lovely and as everything is automated we had fun opening and shutting the drapes and turning on an off the lights... we were like a couple of kids giggling. The beds are so comfy and the bathrooms are very well done with a great separate shower. We felt well taken care of and had a great night away.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,479 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,789 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pacific Rim

Address: 1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £210 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Pacific Rim 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Pacific Rim – Vancouver's definitive luxury hotel – rated the World’s Best Business Hotel by Condé Nast Traveler readers and the #1 City hotel in Canada by Travel + Leisure. This ultramodern downtown hotel offers unobstructed mountain and harbour views, combining the best of the Pacific Rim in its architecture and décor. The hotel features three eclectic dining destinations, resort-style Willow Stream Spa, rooftop pool deck, and lavish guestrooms; while art, music and fashion take centre stage at the city’s most exclusive reservation. Experience a variety of the city’s most luxurious suites including the newest addition, The Fairmont Gold Owner’s Suite Collection: stylish mid-century modern designed suites inspired by what makes a city feel alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing