We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, excellent service - VPR will be the only hotel I stay at in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay, excellent service - VPR will be the only hotel I stay at in Vancouver”
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My wife and I visited the Fairmont Pacific Rim for 2 nights in April 2010. We were celebrating a recent achievement in her studies and had let the hotel know in advance. We had a wonderful stay from the moment we checked-in to the when we left Vancouver. The service was personal – staff did many little things to acknowledge our travel preferences – and rooms were extremely comfortable. This will become the only hotel I stay at in Vancouver when I visit as I believe they have something special going here.

Service (5/5):
*Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived at 8am but the staff gladly stored our bags and the agent who checked us in said she’d call me when the room was ready (which she did a few hours later). I ran into the same agent the following afternoon and she asked me how my stay was going and referred to me by my name. A small touch but made me feel like a personal guest at the hotel.
*Concierge at the hotel was EXCEPTIONAL. I worked with one person in particular before the trip, who asked great questions and followed-up on a timely basis and exceeded our expectations on every level. This concierge added various personal touches throughout our stay. For his service alone, I would rate VPR as 5/5.
*The availability of the courtesy vehicles was inconsistent. Of the 4 times I requested the vehicle, I was able to secure a ride 2 times. I’m not sure if they only have 1 car or if there is a shortage of drivers.

Rooms (5/5):
*We stayed in one of the ‘signature suites’ which was extremely comfortable and spacious. Room was warm which was great considering we had two blustery days while in Vancouver. As noted above, my wife has allergies to certain scents and cleaners so the staff prepared the room accordingly. Staff cleaned room on both days and also turned down the room in the evening. Overall very clean and well-maintained throughout our stay.
*The common area was huge, and included both a sitting area with large flat screen TV, a dining area and two large closets. The balcony had great view of the harbour, Convention Centre, Olympic Cauldron, and the eastern side of Stanley Park. Also very interesting is the Chairman’s Suite which is still being built. It has two levels of floor-to-ceiling windows and I was told the roof of the suite would become an entertaining area for the suite.
*The main bathroom had a TV in the mirror which was a great feature that you could use while in the shower or in the tub. Shower had one of those rainfall showerheads which I love. Second bathroom was very large and also had a shower.
*Bedroom had a view of the habour and Stanley Park and was very comfortable. Room also has a large flat screen TV, a ‘Nespresso’ machine that makes decent espresso.
*All of the lights were activated by touch pad and had preprogrammed themes although I’m not sure if they were functioning appropriately as the ‘relax’ and ‘entertain’ theme seemed to either dim the lights so low you couldn’t see anything or made the room really bright.

Restaurants (4/5):
*Giovane (Café) – Enjoyed their fresh pastries, savory scones and well-made coffees. Really nice area to sit in with lots of windows. A bit pricier than local cafes which is typical for hotel cafes.
*Oru (Pan-Asian) – Overall thought it was an authentic Asian restaurant with excellent service. They had a tasting menu with various land animals but they were able to accommodate all of our dietary restrictions. Our favorite dish was the Sake Kasu Sablefish (perfectly cooked) which had a miso glaze (not salty and comforting). Their homemade tofu with mushroom truffle sauce was earthy and light although a bit difficult to eat with a plate and chopsticks – I’d recommend they serve it with a serving spoon and small bowls so you can ‘shovel’ the tofu out with your chopsticks. The steamed rainbow trout with ginger/scallions tasted great and was a very generous portion that could easily have fed 4-5 adults. My wife particularly liked the ‘tanryoku’ cocktail with chili infused vodka, saké, giffard ginger, lime, fresh cilantro.
*Lobby area – Did not have drinks or food here although I’d point out the Fazioli piano that played in the evenings – what a beautiful looking and sounding piano!

Location (5/5):
*Ideal location downtown and just a few blocks from the Canada Line and Skytrain stations
*Across the street from Canada Place and the Convention Centre (where the Olympic Cauldron stood and where you can see the Olympic rings that turned gold when Canada won a gold medal during the Olympics)
*Short walk to water and a few minutes by bike to Stanley Park

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,601
    316
    56
    26
    20
See reviews for
664
1,126
132
746
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The Fairmont Pacific Rim is the best hotel I've had the pleasure of staying at in North America, especially for the value. When I travel it's mostly for business and I usually try to keep the hotel rates reasonable (i.e. <$200/night). I managed to get a grand opening special rate and stayed for 4 nights during the tail end of the para-Olympics.

The hotel is new (opened during the Olympics) - the cabbie I had had not heard of the hotel (there's 2 other Fairmonts nearby) so be ready to have the address handy as a precaution. It's downtown on the waterfront - good location. Also, the entrance is off to the side a bit. I travel to China quite a bit and this hotel reminds me a lot of the hotels in China - at a reasonable price. They definitely transferred that model to this hotel.

The lobby is very impressive. Very grand, chic and modern. Great fireplace and sleek design. Very nice staff.

The room is very spacious. Big flat screen tv. Complimentary internet, water and shoe shine service. Very cool/funky bathroom - separate room for the toilet. Separate shower and tub AND a tv built into the mirror but stands as part of the mirror when it's not on. The decor is modern and very nice. Sliding barn doors were a nice touch too I thought. Safety deposit box in the room but it didn't seem to work (not a deal breaker). Room service is good but they do automatically add a gratuity but that makes it easier, in my opinion.

Other amenities: Gym is nice - lots of modern cardio equipment. Ok free weights and machinery. Free bottles of water, free fruit and muffins - again, stuff you'd only see in China it seems. There's a nice bakery/brunch place in the hotel and the main restaurant is supposed to be really good but I didn't have the pleasure of trying it (other than room service).

Too often I'm resigned to the fact that I'm spoiled in China and slumming it in N.A. but alas, I finally found a hotel here that offers a true hotel experience. Of course, once the rates go up, it'll probably be out of my league but until then, try to book a stay and enjoy your stay while you can!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gung_ho_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetwynd, BC Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Pacific Rim from April 2nd - 6th. From the moment we arrived the service was awesome. When we got out of the taxi the bellman asked for our last name and said that we did not have to go to check-in, he had our keys. He handed us off to another gentleman who took us to our room and showed us how everything worked and where the buttons were (remote lights, curtains, coffee maker, TV in the mirror......)

The location of the hotel is great. The 2010 Olympic Caldron as directly across the street to the left and Canada Place was directly across the street to the right. The elevators are the fastest that we have ever had in a hotel. The longest we had to wait was approximately 2 seconds, they seemed to anticipate us needing to use them. The rooms are large and comfortable.

The hotel just opened in January 2010, so the pool area is not finished yet (it's due to open in June 2010). You may want to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel until the pool is finished, as the workers seemed to start working outside between 7:00 and 7:30 am. I went to the spa and it was great. I decided at the last minute to get a massage, that was around 4:00 pm. I called down and they said that they were all booked up, I said that was fine. About 10 minutes later I received a call from the spa saying that a masseuse said that she would stay to give me my massage. I went directly down and had an awesome 60 minutes massage.

If you want to be pampered and have great service, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel is a top notch hotel with excellent harbour & mountain views in the rooms. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious, clean and modern. Although our room was located next to the elevators we were never bothered by any hallway noises. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and we were greeted with smiles every time we walked thru the lobby. Another nice unexpected bonus was that we were able to web check-in and print our boarding passes for free in the Business Centre on the day of our departing flight which allowed us more time to spend in the city. The hotel is also closely situated to the Canada Line Sky train, about a 3 minute walk eastward. The hotel is also within walking distance to Gastown, Chinatown and Robson Street. Also try the Giovane Cafe located in the hotel, very delicious breakfast pastries (try the sugar bun)! The only downside was the rooftop cabana pool was not open yet when we were there but I'm sure it will be amazing!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chen5930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The hotel is very modern, the room is big, with nice and comfortable furniture, and of course, beautiful views. All the lighting and window curtain in room are controlled electronically. It took us a while to figure out how to use the espresso machine, but coffee comes out of it is way better than other coffee machines I used at other hotels (including other Fairmont hotels). Bathroom has shower and bath tub, TV build in the mirror. Service are great, everyone is polite and try to offer the best service to their guest. This is one of the best hotel I ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picturejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Although our room view was described as Harbour View, what we could actually see from our room was the roof of the conference centre. When we requested another room, we had to wait a very long time, and were shown a room in front of an ice machine and close to the elevator, even although we have a preference stated for a quiet room away from elevators and ice machines (both in our President's Club profile and on our reservation).

In such circumstances, good hotels normally offer one or two upgrades at little or no charge, just to compensate the guest for the inconvenience. This hotel did offer a minor upgrade, but to another totally unsuitable room. When we asked for a higher upgrade, for which we were willing to partially pay for, we were asked for the full amount of the upgrade.

Ultimately, we had to cancel our reservation and move to another hotel. However, it was not until we informed this hotel of our decision that the Assistant Reception Manager came to speak to us, even although he was close by during the previous discussion.

Also, we highly recommend that anyone looking for an enjoyable and relaxing stay in a 4 star hotel atmosphere should avoid this hotel, because it certainly does not have a 4 star hotel atmosphere, but rather appears, sounds and feels like a typical business hotel full of convention delegates, with the associated high level of noise and constant bustle and delays in service. Due to this hotel’s extreme proximity the convention centre, the choice of rooms is very limited for individual travellers, due to the common block-booking for conventions.

The only slightly redeeming part of this experience was that the hotel provided us with free transportation to our new hotel.

I should also mention that I have been satisfied with my stays at many Fairmont hotels over the years, but this experience has now unfavourably changed my opinion of the Fairmont brand.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ValerioRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Fabulous suite… eager-to-please staff... stunning views… delightful experience!

Pet friendly notes – our dog enjoyed happy greetings, a quiet room, and exploring the waterfront neighborhood. The bustling lobby could be overwhelming at times, and it felt like a long walk to a good “doing his business” spot — but never a problem. The cat and dog room service menu was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peace-L4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,290 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,823 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pacific Rim

Property: Fairmont Pacific Rim
Address: 1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Pacific Rim 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Pacific Rim – Vancouver's definitive luxury hotel – rated the World’s Best Business Hotel by Condé Nast Traveler readers and the #1 City hotel in Canada by Travel + Leisure. This ultramodern downtown hotel offers unobstructed mountain and harbour views, combining the best of the Pacific Rim in its architecture and décor. The hotel features three eclectic dining destinations, resort-style Willow Stream Spa, rooftop pool deck, and lavish guestrooms; while art, music and fashion take centre stage at the city’s most exclusive reservation. Experience a variety of the city’s most luxurious suites including the newest addition, The Fairmont Gold Owner’s Suite Collection: stylish mid-century modern designed suites inspired by what makes a city feel alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing