We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetly Go Gold”

The Rocky Mountaineer Train
Ranked #6 of 165 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Rockies by rail! Rocky Mountaineer offers five luxury rail routes to discover the beautiful Pacific Northwest!
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definetly Go Gold”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We travelled as part of a group in the gold leaf carriage . Staff were superb - nothing to much trouble, very knowledgable and entertaining. The food was excellent, the drink flowed. A wonderful two day journey from Vancouver to Jasper. Would thoroughly recommend paying the extra for the Gold Leaf service if only for te wonderful panaramic views. Even going downstairs to eat gave you excellent views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,415
    508
    265
    154
    157
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Rocky Mountaineer”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We went from Bamff to Vancouver, It is best to travel Gold Leaf, as you can stand on the foot plate of the train ,we also saw a small Avalanche while on the train,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Calgary to a Vancouver - trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We travelled gold leaf on the train because everyone we ask said it was worth every penny and you should stretch to find the extra money. For once people were right. We boarded our glass domed car at Calgary the crew were utterly jolly and attentive throughout the whole of our journey. The other travellers were a mix of nationalities and and the atmosphere was very condusive to mixing and chatting. Seating utterly comfortable. Observation platform for those wanting fresh air. Our journey had a number of elderly travellers with disabilities and these were dealt with efficiently and unobtrusively by the crew. Scenery was of course breathtaking and running commentary from crew on points of interest. Saw many bald eagles but no bears on that particular journey as wildlife a bit scarce. Constant supply of drinks and food. We had 2 meals a day on our journey. Absolutely first class quality and something the company should be very proud of. No problems with gluten free. Best salmon I've ever had produced from a moving train galley - just incredible. In fact the journey was an incredible experience and we are going to try other routes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank TheFamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy a rest first night on banff to Vancouver trip.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We loved our train ride and the staff were amazing with facts all throughout the day. The food was delicious and nothing was a problem in catering to our needs. Only negative was the dinner show that was advertised, we got in late and had to go straight to the show without freshening up it was an armature production but they were very talented. There were only two from our carriage and we spent the long night wishing we had an early night to be refreshed for our next amazing day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It has to be Gold.”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

As a young man starting work train travel was how I got to and from work, not my favourite way to travel. But The Rocky Mountaineer has given me a whole new view of how it should be. The whole trip from go to wow was just fantastic. The train itself is amazing, my wife and I went Gold Class and I can only wholeheartedly suggest you do the same, it is worth it. The bubble roof gives a view unlike anything you can imagine. The service, the staff with their constant jokes make it a fun filled way to travel along with delicious food and amazing scenery only seen from the train it's a journey everyone should try to do at least once.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocky Mountaineer Train also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Rocky Mountaineer Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing