We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Aboard!!”

The Rocky Mountaineer Train
Ranked #7 of 160 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Rockies by rail! Rocky Mountaineer offers five luxury rail routes to discover the beautiful Pacific Northwest!
pitt meadows
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All Aboard!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Large windows through which to view some of the world's most beautiful scenery, the Rocky Mountaineer has spectacular views of the mountains, lakes and wilderness. Destinations include Vancouver, Victoria, Whistler, Lake Louise, Jasper, Calgary, Banff and Kamloops. You can choose from three levels of service (I have been on the train 3 times and experienced the Red and Gold Leaf) Red to Silver to Gold Leaf, and you will enjoy top quality food and wine, outstanding service and onboard commentaries. Rocky Mountaineer trips include overnight accomodations and the option to include additional excursions such as city tours and helicopter rides. If you love train travel as much as I do - this is the train to take - you will enjoy every minute and especially the fresh baked cookies you get in the Gold Leaf section.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank summerPittMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,135
    467
    242
    147
    150
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive but the views are worth it”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very expensive but you'll see canyons, mountains, waterfalls and views that aren't accessible by the Sea to Sky highway. Non-alcoholic beverages and 2 light meals are included. There are pick ups from most of the major hotels downtown so it's pretty convenient and a different way to visit Whistler for the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank xerexes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go for Gold”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Rocky Mountaineer should be on everyones bucket list
Its one of the Most enjoyable trips ever,
The service on board is amazing the staff cant do enough for you,
The views from the Dome Car in Gold leaf are brilliant and also the large viewing platform at the end of the Car is great,
I cant fault the staff they are so good at what they do and are very friendly and efficient,
Yes when the Freight Trains go by the Rocky Train goes to the side, just sit back and relax where the hurry to get anywhere
Food is very good and also good quality and some nice wines to enjoy also,
The hotels in Kamloops are not the most luxurious but do offer clean and comfortable nights stay,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank holtmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
312 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Absolutely must do !”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Rocky mountaineer is an experience every traveller will love. The train itself is an amazing attraction with large glass windows for simply fantastic views throughout the journey. The food is made to order and the restaurant on the lower deck is like something out of a book, The service is fabulous ! And if you couple this experience with stays at the Fairmont hotels, it is a trip that you will want to go on again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Lall888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERRY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rocky Mountaineer put on your Bucket List”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My daughter and I had just spent a week on an Alaskan Cruise and we didn't think any other trip could surpass that experience but our 2 day journey through the Rocky Mountains was unforgettable.
After reading reviews we decided as this was an one off trip we would travel in Goldleaf status and really it is worth the extra money
Plus Factors Luggage collected from Hotel and transferred to overnight hotel and then transferred to hotel at the end of your journey
Magnificant views from large windows and glass dome ceiling
Comfortable seats which rotated
Hostesses who were passionate about their job gave us very knowledable commentaries throughout the 2 days
Separate dining carriage where breakfast and lunch off the highest cuisine was served
Served free tea coffee drinks and snacks all day whenever they were requested
Friendly mixed nationality co fellow passengers with whom it was a pleasure to talk too
We were treated like Royalty and nothing was too much trouble to ensure we enjoyed our trip
Downside the overnight hotel at Kamploops was a very basic standard and dinner wasn't included small gripe I know for just one night
Our journey ended in Banff where we stayed 2 nights before flying home from Calgary to Dublin
Two nights was really not long enough I would suggest 3 to 4 nights to enjoy Banff and see the wonderful sights We did the tour to Banff National Park Lake Louise and Lake Moraine which is a trip not to be missed We passed bears grazing at roadside and the bus stopped for photos, had we had more time we would have taken the cable car into the mountains.
The whole experience was unforgettable and everyone should have it on their bucket list of things to do.
We went late May early June the weather was very pleasant no need for thermals

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
19 Thank nianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocky Mountaineer Train also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Rocky Mountaineer Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing