We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip with lovely people”

The Rocky Mountaineer
Ranked #32 of 175 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Rockies by rail! Rocky Mountaineer offers five luxury rail routes to discover the beautiful Pacific Northwest!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We very much enjoyed our journey from Vancouver to Lake Louise in Silver Leaf. The food/drinks were generous and the staff - Kirsten and Chase together with Michael and Jasmine - were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. When my friend felt ill on arriving at Lake Louise the staff, led by Barry, really went above and beyond in looking after her and arriving a private transfer for us and our luggage to the hotel. The only downside was Kamloops and the absolutely awful Thompson Hotel.

1  Thank Bigister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Bigsister,

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your Vancouver to Lake Louise Journey. The whole team in SilverLeaf Service will be pleased with your kind comments. It was a pleasure to assist your friend and we hope that she is still able to keep fond memories of the beautiful Canadian Rockies. It was our pleasure having you both onboard. Your feedback is truly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gold leaf"
in 1,111 reviews
"lake louise"
in 411 reviews
"train trip"
in 294 reviews
"canadian rockies"
in 265 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 236 reviews
"silver service"
in 90 reviews
"goldleaf service"
in 88 reviews
"dining car"
in 199 reviews
"day trip"
in 426 reviews
"dome car"
in 103 reviews
"overnight stop in kamloops"
in 78 reviews
"freight train"
in 71 reviews
"bucket list"
in 255 reviews
"silver class"
in 67 reviews
"red carpet"
in 64 reviews
"train manager"
in 60 reviews
"spiral tunnels"
in 50 reviews
Filter

114 - 118 of 5,051 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable boarding. there is a glass dome in the middle you can see outside. its beautiful nature .the food and reception is very good . is a five course meal. very clean and meant to be luxury train experiences with comfortable cabins and beds and washrooms.

1  Thank Sepidehahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Sepidehahmad,

Thank you so much for this five-star review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the glass dome coach in GoldLeaf Service. I hope that you were able to capture some great photographs and lasting memories of the unique wildlife and beautiful scenery throughout the Canadian Rockies. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just done the four days loop on Silver Leaf, the food is not cooked on the train and is reheated/ kept warm and served from foil trays by an attendant and another person dressed in a Chefs uniform. So much like air flight food.Just got a reply to my complaint and they are trying to fob me off. That's not going to happen. More to follow, the true/ full story with photos

2  Thank Steveandkaren299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Steveandkaren299,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that you have contacted our Guest Experience Team, i am confident that they will be able to assist you. We hope that you are able to keep fond memories of the Canadian Rockies.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our trip on the Rocky Mountaineer was a memorable and fun experience. We were lucky enough to do the two main legs of the journey. Vancouver to Banff and then Jasper to Vancouver. The accomodation along the way was always comfortable with the stay in Banff and Lake Louise being world class. We saw many and varied wildlife such as bears, elk, deer, moose, beaver as well as many forms of bird life. The commentary by the cabin hosts was informative and their attention to all on board was most appreciated. My one piece of advice is do your research and work out what you want to see and then pick the time you want to visit this most scenic part of the world. We picked late April for the trip because we wanted to see the snow capped mountains and hope to see bears and we did both. The town of Banff and its scenery we stay with me forever especially the view from the top of the gondola.

3  Thank bryan_omeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello bryan_omeara,

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your journey with us. Each season does offer something completely unique, and I am so happy that you were able to join us in April to spot the stunning snow-capped mountains and majestic wildlife. Your review, recommendation and feedback are greatly appreciated. As a team, it was our pleasure having you onboard and we hope that you keep lasting memories of the beautiful Canadian Rockies.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was one of the best trips ever, service was exceptional, the food was amazing, I would highly recommend this trip, I have no complaints whatsoever, it was great from start finish I have nothing negative to report
Our team of John, Natasha, Alex, Scott and Victoria were superb, these are definitely people who love their jobs and love looking after their travellers. Not to mention the views were stunning and awesome. It was our first trip out west and the best way to do it
We did the Goldleaf service for the train ride and it is well worth the money spent

1  Thank juliannepw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello juliannepw2016,

Thank you so much for reviewing your GoldLeaf Service journey, your recommendation is greatly appreciated. John, Natasha, Alex, Scott, Victoria and our whole team will be thrilled to hear that your expectations were exceeded. It was our pleasure to have you onboard and we thank you for choosing Rocky Mountaineer as your first vacation out West.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocky Mountaineer also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Rocky Mountaineer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing