We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Vancouver
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ajax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was alright”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights before our Alaska cruise.

Great location, room was ordinary, certainly not worth what they charge.

The Pan Pacific really needs to get rid of the telephone in the toilet area and provide a shelf to put a smartphone or tablet. Decor definitely dated, beds comfortable, staff was pleasant enough, but we really didn't need them for much and they never offered, not even a "good morning" or "thank you".

I do not feel that the Pan Pacific is good value for the money spent and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lt1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay.

We were pleased that you found our location desirable, but were disappointed you did not find our service or facilities memorable.

Be assured your review has been passed on to our Management Team. We do apologize that you did not feel acknowledged by our associates throughout your stay. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as this confirms our successes and provides opportunity to review and make changes when required.

Should you be returning to Vancouver, we would welcome the opportunity to redeem our reputation as a first class hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,295
    1,001
    257
    76
    36
See reviews for
786
1,479
116
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Like so many others we stayed one night on 7-3-14 before leaving for an Alaska cruise. We'd been to Vancouver for a week long stay 10 years ago and were happy to see the city again. There are several other hotels very near the cruise terminal but we have no regrets. Pre cruise package is a little pricey but included a beautiful upgraded corner room, late check out, buffet breakfast and delivery of luggage directly from our 19th floor room to the cruise ship. When you wake up in the morning look out the window and see your ship pulling into the harbor. All staff very friendly and helpful. When the bellman came to take our luggage to the ship I tried, repeatedly, to tip him the Canadian money I had left (about $4.50 Canadian). He refused to take anything, saying it was all included in the package. We'll be back to Canada at some point but I didn't feel like carrying the money around so at his suggestion we left it for the room attendant. We took the skytrain from the airport, very simple but we did exit out the wrong end of Waterfront Canada Place, so look at a map before you go and your walk will be a little shorter than ours. In the 24 hours we were in Vancouver there were no less than 3 times people approached us and asked if we needed any help finding where we wanted to go. Fantastic city, even if were did stick out like tourists!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We were delighted to read your review regarding your recent pre-cruise stay at the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

Our location at Canada Place above the cruise ship terminal allows us to provide seamless room to ship luggage transfer for our guests and we are pleased that you found this service convenient and helpful.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our service and accommodation - in particular the views of the harbour from your 19th floor guestroom. We hope you had an opportunity to explore Vancouver prior to embarking.

Should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, we do hope we will have the privilege to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Coming off a 14 days excursion, we wanted only one thing; a place to relax. Taking the recommendation from our travel agent, this Hotel was well within walking distance from where we docked. We were greeted by a porter at the lower level of the hotel (which was right outside of where we docked) who took our luggage and directed us to lobby to sign in. From that point on, it only got better and better. The room had a great view of the harbor, a outdoor salt water pool on the 8th floor, and the service far exceeded our expectations. Vancouver itself is a beautiful place to visit. If you are taking an Alaskan Cruise out of Vancouver, or completing one in that location, you really need to consider staying on or arriving a few days earlier and staying at the Pan Pacific. So much to see and do! We stayed on 2 extra days, and could have spent the week there!! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review regarding your post-cruise stay at the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our services and accommodation - in particular the views of the harbour from your room - and were able to relax by our 8th floor outdoor saltwater pool.

We are fortunate in our location at Canada Place as it provides convenient access to the cruise ship terminals as well as restaurants, services and local attractions. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the many features of our beautiful city.

Should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, we do hope we will have the privilege to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Family of 10 stayed week prior to July 4th prior to an Alaska cruise. Spent a few days in town. What a terrific town, and hotel.. First of all the location is perfect. Second the door men really know what they are doing. Third; the rooms are beautifully appointed, luxurious and clean. Very much up to date. Then the view. Harbor views are terrific. The food was very good especially the buffet breakfast. Now the downs. The lobby areas are a bit outdated but nice. However the lobby areas do not reflect the quality of the rooms. Next the pool area could use an update. But it's still nice and acceptable. Lastly the rooms could use queen size beds vs doubles in rooms for 4. But the linens and quality make up for it. Overall we visited several other hotels in Vancouver our last day just to compare, and I must say Pan Pacific is the true top choice. Great job management. We all enjoyed the stay and wish to return again soon. O forgot one item, being located within the cruise ship terminal, was a tremendous plus. Luggage was sent from room to ship room directly. Again the perfect hotel for the perfect town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
What a privilege to be able to host your family of 10 for your pre-cruise stay in Vancouver and we thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We are very fortunate in our location at the Canada Place as, in addition to easy access to public transit, attractions and services; this allows us the pleasure of providing seamless room to ship luggage transfer for our guests departing from the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal.

We will certainly pass on your kind comments to our Management and associates - in particular to our bell services (doormen) and our restaurant teams. That their efforts to provide first class service and hospitality have not gone unnoticed will mean a great deal to them.

Should your travels bring you and your family back to Vancouver, we do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC UT
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I searched for a easy, exceptional hotel for my family of 15. It had to be very close to Canada Place and kid friendly, with a breakfast option. Wow, I found it here, with views galore. I went to the web site and found a special for families. Buy one room get the second room half off. And it included a free movie, popcorn, cookies and soda for two of the four rooms I reserved. Also included was the buffet breakfast for two of the rooms. I did have to arrange for breakfast for the remaining two rooms and they even gave me a discount on them. It was very much worth the price, even though in room wi-if will cost you. We did find a way to get free wi-fi when we were very close to the bar area, it was not open at that hour of the morning so it worked great! After we all checked in we went to the roof pool and hot tub for relaxing. The pool is fantastic, it is a salt water pool. When you get out of the pool your skin feels great, unlike when you get out of a chlorine pool. This was most refreshing. I would definitely stay there again. The service was great and the room was a nice size. We had a city view. The beds were very comfortable even though they only have double bed size.
The only items I would say they could improve on were the double beds and no free wi-fi. I really did expect those to be included.
Be sure to check it out and look for the specials on the web site for Pan Pacific Vancouver. Very good value.

Room Tip: I guess the rooms higher up have a better view. They also have rooms that look out on the harbor. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slcgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We were pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your pre-cruise stay at the Pan Pacific Vancouver and appreciate you taking the time to post your review.

Our family package is quite popular and we are delighted you all enjoyed the various added amenities included in this package, along with our other services and facilities - in particular, our outdoor saltwater pool.

When booking accommodation, guests have the option to choose a double room with two double beds or a king room with one king sized bed. We hope that your assigned accommodation met your family’s needs throughout your stay and will pass on your comments to our Management.

Should your travels bring you and your family back to Vancouver, we do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Dated and understaffed, not knowledgeable and untrained staff. Expect same level of service as holiday inn instead of a luxury hotel. If you want luxury accommodations and service for price paid, go to fairmont across the street

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pan Pacific Hotels Group

Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It was disappointing to read your review regarding your recent stay.

We were pleased that we were able to personally reach out to you to rectify the issues surrounding your concerns. While we do endeavour to provide our guests with consistent, quality service and amenities; on occasion, we did not meet your expectations and, for this, we sincerely apologize.

We would welcome the opportunity to redeem our reputation and to prove that we can and do provide a first class hospitality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is two stories up from the street level above the convention center. Once you reach the top of the escalators before you is a beautiful, modern and scenic lobby. Huge windows facing the harbor and lots of seating for relaxing and using Wi-Fi. Check in was easy and the staff was so kind. The concierge, Karlo Santos, was so helpful suggesting activities and restaurants just by listening to my preferences. He is perfect at that job. The room was amazing. We were upgraded to the 20th floor with a panoramic view of the harbor! The picture used for the hotel's website is THE same type room we had. Cleaning was efficient and turn down service made the large room seem very cozy. There was generous amounts of coffee and the creamer/milk is kept in the mini-fridge for freshness. Our TV remote didn't work, we called, and another was delivered within 5 mins.! Once outside the hotel's entrance area, it's a bustling city and you're in the middle of whatever activity you may be interested to try or see.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the harbor for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your detailed review regarding your recent stay at the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay, from the panoramic views from your accommodation to the turn down service by our room attendants. We will certainly pass on your kind words to all our associates, in particular, our Concierge, Karlos. That their efforts have made a difference will mean a lot to them, as it does to us.

Should your travels bring you back to the Pacific Northwest, we do hope we will have the opportunity and pleasure to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,954 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,515 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Vancouver

Property: Pan Pacific Vancouver
Address: 300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel is luxuriously appointed with a wide selection of modern hotel amenities, with its waterfront restaurants and lounge providing an award-winning selection of West Coast Cuisine over Vancouver's magnificent Harbour, Coastal Mountains and Stanley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pan Pacific Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing