We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget option in gastown”
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good budget option in gastown”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 months last year. I was well impressed with the level of room and bathroom cleanliness, common areas are sometimes good sometimes not but a lot of that depends on other guests. The management and staff can be a little rude, especially the owner but if you ca get by their quirks its a great budget hotel in the heart of gastown. It is important to note that for sleep comfort over the weekend you would have to stay on floors 3,4 or 5 to avoid the disco music below. Also no guests are allowed in your room after 8 pm but the rooms are well apoointed and the beds (at least mine) was very comfy.

Room Tip: on floor 3,4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamCosmicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
3
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Every time I come back from Europe I always go to this place. I've stayed two times in this hotel. The first time for 6 months and the second time for 1 month. It has been good for me, very affordable regarding the proximity to downtown, clean, safe and cosy. I recommend this hotel to anyone for a short or long stay.

Jean-Philippe

Room Tip: For sure, upper rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here for 6 months. The first 3 months were OK, but unfortunately, within the last three months, this Columbia Student Residence has had a plague of cockroaches in its kitchens, crawling all over the shared dishes, and most of the rooms are infested with bed bugs. This "hotel" continues to have bedbugs and cockroaches, that you can visibly see, to this day. I don't recommend this hotel until these basic health concerns have been addressed by the hotel's management. Speaking of which, the owner tends to yell at you whenever you tell him that your bed sheets are crawling with bedbugs. He usually claims that you brought them here, and that you should leave. Apart from needing a fumigation, this hotel's owner needs a serious and professional attitude adjustment. He is not professional, understanding or accommodating at all. Personally, I'd skip this place. January 30th, 2014.

P.S. The two floors above the nightclub shake with music every weekend as the hotel's owner has decided to rent out the first floor to a nightclub. No rest here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeonardMcCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here from November 2012 - April 2013 and it was the perfect place to live for 6 months. We paid $1000 a month for a nice big room, double bed and a bathroom but apparently we got a pretty good price because it was during the winter - apparently it goes up during the summer and I'm not to sure if I would be willing to pay more then that in the summer because you can probably get 1 bedroom apartments, that are larger and in nicer areas for around $600 each a month.

The beds are comfortable and the shower is good so you can't really complain.

The area seems very dodgy during the first few weeks of your stay because of all the crazy homeless people that are walking around in the street but they never bother you, they seem to be in there own little world. I had to walk home from work (sometimes 3am and 4am in the morning) and even though you get a little nervous I never had a problem (not even a minor problem).

I gave this place 3 stars which states 'Average' but I would say it is more 'Good'. The staff are also very friendly :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I arrived in Vancouver in April 2011 and stayed til October 2011, during which I had booked month to month acco. here at the Columbia Hotel. I had booked while since in Australia, not having seen anything other then google street view and the hotel's website. Now im not the backpacking type of person, but this place was awesome to stay at. Yes, there is a bar downstairs but stay on the 3 -5 floors and you won't hear a thing, with the windows closed. And it does close at 1am Friday and Saturday nights. Its an inexpensive place to live as its only 2 km's to the other side of downtown Vancouver (walking). Buses and skytrain are only footsteps away from the front door to the hotel. Your room is cleaned each week and wifi is included. The location is in the middle of Gastown and Downtown Eastside, but the homeless do in fact keep to themselves. And the homeless are everywhere in Vancouver, not just in Downtown Eastside. It's a little unknown fact that travel guides and books will not tell you about. But this hotel was great for me, I finished work at 11pm in Yaletown and catch the bus or skytrain home and then walk 4 blocks to hotel, without any problems for my safety. (29 year old female, travelling by myself). The staff are so nice and friendly and to this day still talk to them via facebook. It's an old beautiful building with lots of charm and you'll meet a wide range of different people from all over the world living there all on working holiday visas. Overall it's inexpensive (compared to other rentals in the downtown area), basic quality, awesome service and in a good location (walking distance to everything downtown). Get to know the staff, their very nice people and will look after you.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd to 5th floor for a room. I stayed on the 5th floor, it had less people sharing the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank australiangirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel is too expensive considering the fact that there is a bar downstairs where they play extremely loud music. You would not get any sleep! This is how I experienced this hotel, and the owners didn’t want to do anything about it. I would never recommend Columbia Hotel as long as the bar is downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The facilities here are pretty great - linen, clean rooms, kitchens, room service every week or so, secure premises, free WiFi, laundry facilities. The price for us was perfect - we wanted 'somewhere to live' in Downtown Vancouver for a couple of months. Everywhere else was either out of our price range or located way out of town. Our one-bedroom suite is spacious, clean and well appointed. Sure, it's pretty basic but it's fine, warm and centrally located in Gastown which is cool. If you have issues with homeless then this area isn't for you, but I've been to Vancouver 3 times and never ever felt unsafe or hassled, so although the situation is sad, on a personal level I've never been negatively affected (safety wise etc. ). The area can be a little noisy, but again for the price the hotel is unbeatable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Being that there hasn't been a review on this property since 2010, I felt it was our duty to let people know that this property is not too bad at all - exceeded our expectations. Also, there's supermarkets, coffee shops, gym and downtown facilities all within EASY walk.

Room Tip: Choose a one-bedroom suite - good value for money. Includes fridge, microwave, tv etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
95 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Property: Columbia Hotel
Address: 303 Columbia St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2R7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you a student or young professional and looking for a nice and clean accommodation in downtown Vancouver? We offer private spacious furnished rooms with shared washrooms and shared kitchen. The room has a queen sized bed (linen provided), a sink, a desk with chair as well as cable TV and internet. Weekly room cleaning. Cheap laundry is also available inside the building. It's a safe place (24 hours staff at the front desk) with happy tenants. Walking distance to all the main transits including buses, sea bus and sky train and there are cheap grocery stores nearby. In walking distance schools like VFS, SFU, VCC and various language schools. Long and short term are all possible. Security deposit required. All inclusive rent between $550-$700/month for single occupancy and between $780-$850/month for double occupancy. We also rent suite rooms with microwave, fridge and private washroom on a daily basis for $100 CDN per day for 2 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing