We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in all Respects!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
“Outstanding in all Respects!”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I would have to say that in all my travels over the years (and I've done my share both for business and pleasure), the Sutton Place Hotel has exceeded every one of my expectations! From the bellmen, to the front desk staff, the concierge, banquet manager, restaurant staff, the service was outstanding. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I did not encounter one staff member who was anything but genuinely pleasant. For a historic hotel, it was tastefully modernized with wonderful amenities. The rooms, common areas, restaurant were all very clean. The location is conveniently located in downtown Vancouver within walking distance to almost everything you could possibly want to see and do. My only regret is that I had to actually get out of bed in the morning. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced! Our meeting went flawlessly and lunch served promptly without disrupting the meeting! There was little that we had to take care of as it was taken care of very efficiently and effectively by the banquet staff. A hotel definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmeiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    941
    316
    106
    50
See reviews for
549
1,295
178
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Saw the reviews from people who had booked on Hotwire and felt rudely treated.
I didn't experience that at all-all of the staff from front desk, concierge, housekeeping, bar staff- all friendly, professional. The rooms are a little dated, and the maids, while nice, didn't always do a thorough job of repleshing toiletries etc. But this is nit picking compared to the ideal location and the general pleasantness of the staff. Would be hard to find better price/value accomodations.

Room Tip: join their frequent traveler program
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallasite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This hotel is far too dated to be considered a four star hotel. Examples: The furniture looks, smells 30 years old. The TV is not plasma. The bathroom is uncomfortably old fashioned. Ventilation ducts in the room were so noisy I actually found it difficult to sleep!
On the plus side, the concierge was quite helpful and the Hotel is in a good location. The Hotel really slaps you in the wallet with internet and parking charges, however.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesCAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We were lucky enough to spend a few days in Vancouver, and loved the Sutton- the location was perfect for us and our room was one of the "residences" with two bedrooms, kitchen, family room- room for the whole family!! But, the absolute best part was the staff- in particular the concierge staff!! They were SO friendly ( always remembered my kids' names), gave great recommendations and really made the difference in the quality of our stay. We showed up without any confirmed plans, and left with a whole batch of wonderful memories! thanks to the awesome concierge staff!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frananddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This is by far the best Hotel in the Vancouver area. They are miles ahead in service and the elegance of their rooms without over charging their guests. For elegance, service, reliability & value there is no other Hotel in Vancouver that can even compete. This is the only place we will stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyboily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The service at Sutton Place is second to none from the staff at the front desk, to staff in the restaurants and the concierge. Nothing is too much trouble. I have travelled alone many times, but this hotel didn't put me in a lousy room next to the elevator. They booked restaurants and trips and all were fantastic. Really made my holiday special. I will definitely be going back to the Sutton Place and recommending it to anyone heading for Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitigirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sutton Place Vancouver on the weekend. We decided on last minute to escape our daily routine to be tourists in our own city. We chose Sutton Place because it was elegant and not overpriced. It was an excellent place to stay, they treated us like gold. Our rooms were clean and quiet, we slept great. The breakfast at Fleuri's in the morning was even better.

Great service!
The concierge called three restaurants before being able to find us a table at the Sand Bar on Granville Island. Asking for reservations at 6:45pm on a Friday night to a nice restaurant is challenging at the best of times. But Christopher made it happen! When we arrived 15 minutes later they had the nicest table waiting.

I would give the Sutton Place Vancouver a 9.9. It's not just about the hotel but the overall experience they provide. We will come back in the next few months and hope for something similar.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#31 of 92 in Vancouver
3,041 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,246 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,575 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing