We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The staff is wonderful, very helpful, check-in was great and they upgraded us to a suite for our anniversary. The rooms was absolutely beautiful. It was close to Robson for shopping, and a 15 minute walk down to the water ferry to go to Granville Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbrleedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    940
    316
    105
    50
See reviews for
549
1,293
178
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

the Sutton is a great hotel. the location is probably the best in the city...restaurants , shopping on robson st , movie theatres across the street etc. the staff are friendly ,rooms are good . it is a short 5 min walk to Granville st entertainment district and 5-10 more to yaletown the 'trendy' area. we have stayed at various hotels in downtown Vancouver... 3-5 star and find the Sutton the best overall when looking at all the different features offered. on a different subject... I agree with another posting about the internet. why do the top hotels charge for internet when motel 6's offer it for free ? anyway...can't go wrong

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canucksurfdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is definitely not a 5 Star property. It is old and the rooms need updates. Also, who charges $15 for internet nowadays...even motels provide complimentary wifi (if not in the rooms, then at the looby/reception). The only thing going for this hotel is the location. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthere2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Sutton needs updating. The carpet in our room was very dirty. The sheets didn't smell fresh. The soap in the bathroom smelt of cats.The air conditioing noisy. The elevator felt rickerty. The self parking a maze of numbers and levels to get lost in so use the valet. Restaurant well spaced and buffet breakfast great for those who like most foods cold, except porridge. Front desk helpful and attentive and listened to complaints. Pool smelt of clorine but looked clean and had natural daylight. Overall for one night it offers a good location for all ages. Next to a cocktail bar and shopping. The money they were spending on the many Christmas trees could be spent on accommodation. Trump is moving into Vancouver, the local hotels better be ready.

Room Tip: Higher the room, better the view. Ask for a clean quiet room with fresh sheets facing the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanspray726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at Sutton Place for 4 nights while we visited Vancouver and Whistler. The hotel is in an excellent location, convenient enough to walk to all the major districts including the waterfront, beginning of Stanley Park, Granville Island (15 min or so), Robson St, and good restaurants. Usually we rented bikes and rode around the city, so having a central location was very nice. Additionally, it is a 5 block walk from the metro train from the airport, making commuting in later at night easy (plus, it only took 25 minutes on the train with no train line changes). When we took a taxi to the airport on the way out, it only took 20 minutes with no traffic. The staff at the hotel were wonderful and gave some good restaurant recommendations when we were looking for something nearby. Additionally, they even let us borrow their personal umbrellas when it was raining outside and the hotel umbrella stash was empty. The rooms were spacious enough but a little outdated for our taste, though everything in the room was well cleaned and cared for. The small refrigerator was helpful for storing leftovers and a bottle or two of white wine we had purchased. We would definitely consider staying here again when we return to Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights here prior to catching a cruise. Checked in around midnight after late flight. Checkin was hassle-free & efficient, we booked and paid for a suite and were upgraded to a two bedroom corner suite.

Our suite was clean, spacious, well equipped, nicely decorated & furnished.

There is nothing we could suggest as an improvement to the accommodation as it had everything. Having three suitcases of cruise clothes can sometimes be problematic but there was an abundance of hanging space in several wardrobes. The kitchen was fully equipped and had two coffee makers with good coffee supplies. Even though we didn't cook anything it was nice to have the option.

The hotel is within walking distance to good shopping, restaurants, etc.

We had buffet breakfast each morning which had a good selection of hot and cold food choices.

Only downside to our stay was dinner one night which was awful. The entree was good but main meals were devoid of all taste. I couldn't eat mine as it was so bland and unappetising. I can't remember now what it was but think it was a pasta of some sort. It's not very often that I leave a plateful of food virtually untouched.

The reception area is very nicely presented and reception staff efficient & courteous. I have read somewhere that the staff can be a little supercilious to those 'not dressed up to the nines' and I do know what they mean. After a very long flight with long stopover in Hong Kong one can arrive looking a little crumpled and worse for wear, particularly at midnight, and being looked up and down with only slightly disguised scrutiny can only add to the jet-lagged confusion and discomfort. Our producing a prestige Amex credit card did assist us in receiving a warmer welcome. No guest should feel this way.

We had some issues debating what should and should not be charged at checkout. After some time it all got resolved but left us with a $10 extra cab-waiting charge as the concierge had already loaded our cab with luggage, oblivious to the somewhat inefficiency of the checkout procedure. It was only a short drive to the cruise terminal.

Although there were minor problems we would not hesitate to stay here again and will definitely return in the future but have dinner in one of the many restaurants near the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I had been referred to this hotel by a close friend and I finally had the opportunity to stay here. Wow, was I ever impressed. The location is so close to transit, shopping, restaurants, boutique shops, Robson Street, etc. This hotel has a great room service menu, spa, coffee by the lobby and the staff was fantastic. Checking in and out was done so quickly with no fuss. I didn't hear any noise from neighbours but if anyone wants complete quiet from outside, then don't stay in a hotel in the thick of Vancouver. Every once in a while you will hear an ambulance go by as this hotel is a couple of blocks from a hospital. I wasn't disturbed by the street noise. I did however go an have a massage.....loved loved loved it!!! Would definitely stay here again and look forward to that visit!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 726 which is at the end of the hallway....quite a long way from the elevators. I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,034 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,243 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,568 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing