We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for one night and were really impressed with the staff - everyone was very friendly and knowledgable and were able to give good recommendations for the area - they are definitely in the 5 star category . The hotel itself is billed as 5 star and I disagree. It has a very dated bathroom and the decor in the rooms is nice but also looks a little tired and dated. The walls are paper thin with that 'I can hear the guy in the bathroom' nasty effect. It is also on quite a busy street so street noise comes into play. The location is close to shopping, dining and all things 'downtown' is great with an easy walk to everything. For the price we paid we were happy but if not for Hotwire pricing I'm not sure that we would have been.

Room Tip: A room that does not face onto Burrard Street would give you a quieter room. Also away from the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate to learn that you were impressed with our staff. Please be advised that we are in the process of renovating our guestrooms.Thank you for your business and we look forward toward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 3,178 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Absolutely impressed with the Sutton. A beautiful property in an ideal location
Room was well appointed and paid out with a business traveller in mind. Desk space and outlets were great
Service was outstanding from the front of staff to the concierge. Service at the check in was less than ideal. Pretentious to say the least, the person who checked me in was curt and disengaged.
The workout facilities were fantastic.
Will he returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perciva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Sutton Place has always been my go-to-hotel in Vancouver. Lived in Seattle and have stayed here since 1995. My recent visit this summer on business was my first in many years. Ambiance is still very nice in the common areas, staff professional & courteous, breakfast bar had great variety and prepared well. My two observations are 1) The exercise room has machines from the 1970's 2) The guest rooms need to be updated. Still have the 1990's look and obviously need to be refreshed. Wishing the best for Sutton Place because they have a great little concept. Still my place to go just want an update on exercise and guest rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyal patronage of The Sutton Place Hotel. We are pleased to advise that we have recently upgraded all the gym equipment and we have a program to upkeep our guestrooms. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I only stay in Vancouver about 6 nights per year. I am a particularly demanding guest. Not as in a 'complainer'. I'm unlikely to ever complain about anything, unless it is glaringly offensive.
I only stay at Sutton Place for the following reasons:

Staff treat me like a VIP, despite only staying a few days/nights per year.
Location is perfect. Right in the heart of the best parts of the city.
Rooms are traditionally elegant, perfectly clean, excellent beds and linens.
Gerard's ( lounge ) is the perfect refuge for the affluent or the splurgers, alike.
Food in the restaurant or room service, is always excellent.
I am born/raised in Vancouver, but live on V.Island. I try to book a Grand Suite, when available, for just a few dollars more than a regular room.
I wont stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDRCABO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,
It is so wonderful to hear that you have been enjoying your stays. We can’t thank you enough for your compliments for the service and amenities at the hotel. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you many more times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We really loved this cozy little hotel. Especially liked the gathering/lounge area off the lobby and heard GREAT live music one night. Cozy fireplace and comfortable and inviting nooks.
The rooms were comfortable - great linens. It is definately an older hotel but extremely charming.
I would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamegirl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have stayed at Sutton place 3 times in the past 3 years and the service has gone steadily down hill. We booked a stay in a one bedroom suite, and on arrival we were told we had been "upgraded" to a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was dirty, as in dust buildup behind the furniture, and very dated. The cupboards smelled like an old camper van. I understand that these suites are not the same as the more traditional rooms on the other side,but this was possibly the worst room in the building. When we talked to the front desk staff about changing rooms we were told that a movie shoot had gone longer than expected and all the one bedroom suites were taken. Therefore the room we had originally booked was not available. We were given no other option. We cancelled the rest of our nights and changed hotels without a single attempt by any of the Sutton Place staff to rectify the situation or apologize. Needless to say, we will have to find a new favourite place to stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I've stayed at the Sutton Hotel twice. The first time was Christmas Eve several years ago and it was very nice. The small gifts were a very nice touch. But the last time we had someone enter our room in the middle of the night. There are no security chains on the door. When I phoned the front desk, the explanation was that it was a security guard escorting a woman to her room - she had left her keys inside. The explanation seemed odd as keys can be provided by the front desk. I mentioned it again when we left, the man at the front desk laughed! I mentioned it in the survey from the hotel and there was no follow-up. It made for an uncomfortable sleep and we won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank damgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,339 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,790 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £132 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing