We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bit Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was hoping for better from this hotel. It's a little outdated now. Although the service was friendly and helpful we did wait quite a while for our room to be ready as well. The most irritating thing was the lack of free wi-fi which is not really acceptable anymore in a large city environment. Very inconvenient and not up to current standards of service in my opinion.

Room Tip: This hotel is located on a very busy corner of the city - something away from the road is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apology that your guestroom was not ready due to high occupancy during your recent visit. On your next visit, please visit our official website for the value-added accommodation packages.We value your business and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    937
    312
    103
    50
See reviews for
544
1,290
178
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on July 21, 2014 before leaving for a cruise. It is very well situated within a 5-10 minute walk to Canada Place (cruise port/harbour). The staff was very friendly and the hotel is very clean. There are several restaurants within walking distance, but the restaurant at the hotel is quite nice also. Our room was immaculate and the bed was quite comfortable! We wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second visit to the Sutton Place in Vancouver. The concierge staff are awesome! We called ahead and told them we wished to attend The International Buskers Festival. They took care of all the details! When we arrived tickets, ferry passes all waiting for us!!

We rented bikes on Sunday and they happily stored them while we had lunch and slept overnight!

I love this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days and 1 night while in transit from Whistler Ski resort to the airport. It was a 2 days stop to see Vancouver on the way home. The hotel is in a great location to see all the main tourist attractions of Vancouver. Location is 2 blocks from museums, Pacific Place shopping, Major stores, and more. The staff were friendly and efficient. I was very impressed with the concierge staff who go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived early in the morning (9am) from cruise. The front desk made an effort to get our room ready ASAP (by noon), and the concierge took in our baggage right away. The lobby looks magnificent. Satisfied at that stage.

However the facilities in this hotel are out of date. The smoke detector went on while I was taking shower. We tried to contact the front desk, but found the phone batteries were drained out. That increased difficulty for the engineer to locate us. Then the engineer unplugged the detector and told us it was because of the steam. But there is no fan in the bathroom and the windows cannot be opened. The engineer said the detector would be replaced the next day, but it did not happen.

Bed linens felt wet, probably due to limited time in the laundry dryer or humid stuffy air. Some power plugs are not working. There is no free wifi and the rate is not cheap. There is no coffee maker. Each bottle of water is $6. Running water from the bathroom has a sewage-like smell. The effort put in room cleaning is minimum. The corners around the bathroom basin are dusty. The carpet looks dirty. To our surprise, house-keeping staff did not wash our glass at all! (And we stayed there for 3 days...)

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views of downtown Vancouver. The higher level the better the view is. The prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable comment. We regret to learn of your unpleasant experience. Please rest assured that your comment on room cleanliness and facilities will be shared with the team for rectification. We appreciate your understanding that early check in is limited due to high occupancy. For your future visits, please visit our website for value-added offerings.Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our first room was an "upgrade" to the residence. The balcony was dirty, the curtains were riped and crookedly sewn together. The closet was dirty. There was no bathtub. So we asked to switch rooms. This room has peeling wall paper, Hair all over the shower. No bath mat, the shower head was hanging off the wall and banging when used. At this point my husband didn't want to switch rooms again as we're think all the rooms were like this. I went downstairs & they got rid of our parking charge as there was noting they could do as the room was prepaid. The service was great but the hotel was not clean and very run down. The valet is $40 but took over half an hour to get our car brought around. The restaurant is very nice, spa great. Bed very comfortable but the hotel is in bad need of renos! No idea how they are a 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry about the shortfalls you have encountered and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any disappointments. Your feedback regarding our service and guestrooms is well noted and please rest assured that our team will review for improvement. Please contact us if you are considering staying with us again, I will personally ensure you have a pleasant stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

i stayed here for 3 nights recently and i cannot fault the hotel, i paid for a slightly nicer upgraded room, and it didnt dissapoint, it light and airy with two massive windows overlooking vancouver. The staff were very friendly, the spa was also very enjoyable.. only negatives i would say is wifi comes at a cost, and the pool gets very noisey with children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strobe500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,028 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,625 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing