We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One nite pre-cruise landing spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One nite pre-cruise landing spot”
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here before our cruise on the Pearl. Check-in was as smooth as could be. The staff was friendly and effecient. Our request for 2 beds instead of the king was done in a wink. The room was on the 9th floor with a beautiful city view. Although I don't live in a metro area, I love the city views at night. The beds were comfortable, although I don't think they would work if you had more than one person per bed. They weren't a twin but they weren't a true full(double) by any means. Somewhere between the two. Everything was clean and in working order. The carpet in the hallways was showing a little age, and could stand to be replaced. But all in all we found nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tutuwahinelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    940
    316
    105
    50
See reviews for
549
1,293
178
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We were on honeymoon and staying in another hotel in Vancouver, which turned out to be awful. We called the Sutton Place at short notice as we wanted to move, and they were very accommodating. We took a suite, which had a balcony with a great view out to the bay.

The room was very spacious, with a living and dining area, separate kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. There was a large television and it was very comfortable. One evening we took room service and watched a film on the couch, and it really was a home away from home. The kitchen was fairly well equipped, and you could have cooked a meal with ease. The bathroom was large and very clean, and the bedroom was peaceful and the bed was very comfortable.

One evening we went for drinks in the Gerard Lounge, and decided to stay in there for dinner. It was so cosy in there, with a real fire crackling away. It was fairly busy, but the staff were still attentive and the food was excellent, as were the cocktails.

The location is great, as you are not too far from the waterfront, and also you have everything on your doorstep. We were able to walk to most places that we wanted to see.

We will definitely return to the Sutton Place when we are back in Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The Sutton Place in Vancouver is an excellent hotel with all the facilites you expect. Decent rooms (though a bit dated in decor), comfortable and good service. The rooms had a safe, minibar, flat TV etc. However, I cant understand what makes this a 5*. To me it had the same sort of facilites as mosyt of the 4* hotels I have visited.

The location is excellent. Perfect for great restaurants and shops. Also a good place to start a nice downtown sightseeing trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisGuyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Booked through Hotwire for pre-cruise night. Honeymoon for son. Called the hotel direct(twice) and told them it was his honeymoon and was assured that this had been notated and that a kingsized bed would be reserved. Upon their arrival, they were treated rudely and told that there would be a large upgrade fee if they did not want a room with two single beds. He paid the fee and they got a very standard room, not at all what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. Breakfast the next morning was expensive and not enjoyed. The post-cruise night was booked through Hotwire also. It was a 4 star, the Metropolitan, and everything about it was much nicer than Sutton Place. The room with a kingsized be was very nice and the people were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowrose52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel September 7 & 8, 2009 for a pre-cruise visit to Vancouver, B.C.
The staff was friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, just a couple blocks from Robson St. and you can easily walk down to Canada Place and back. The Thai restaurant across the street was very good as well.
The restaurant in the hotel itself served an excellent breakfast with attentive and friendly service.
We used the Vancouver Trolley Company "Hop On Hop Off" Trolley which we found expensive and not very accesable. You would wait at the Trolley stop and when it arrived it would be full so you had to wait another 15-20 minutes hoping that the next trolley had room. This wasted a lot of time. A taxi to Stanley Park and/or Grandville Island would have been faster.
The Sutton Place however, is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Best staff of any hotel we've ever been to! The concierge was amazing -- he even chased me down the street to correct some information another person gave me, so I wouldn't be inconvenienced. The bell staff was also fantastic -- friendly and very accommodating! We stayed at 3 Fairmont hotels on this trip (Victoria, Jasper, & Banff), and the staff at the Sutton Place were far better -- friendlier, more helpful, more pleasant, acted like they really wanted us to be comfortable and have a good time! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCCHtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My wife and I stayed one night at the Sutton Place Hotel in Vancouver. We actually had an excellent experience. We booked through the hotel's website and selected an Executive Suite, rather than the regular room, as the price difference was negligible. The suite consisted of 2 rooms, with the bedroom separated from the main area. Each room featured an enormous flatscreen TV, and nice appointments. The bathroom had lots of room, a separate tub and shower.

We were there to meet with friends attending a conference at the hotel. They were staying in the Residence side, in a two bedroom unit. They found that our room was actually nicer than theirs. They had stayed previously at the hotel in a regular room, and pronounced ours to be a substantial step upwards.

The location of the hotel is ideal, we were able to walk anywhere in the downtown area with little effort. We had breakfast there as well, and it was the typical hotel buffet, not bad, though fairly expensive for what we got. The service from the desk and concierge was very good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, provided you can get an upgraded room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,037 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,241 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,568 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing