We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined European luxury, very comfortable and very well kept.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Excellent property, great location. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. My only isuue is that depending on your room rate you have to pay for Wi-Fi service. In 2010 in a luxury property Wi-Fi should be complimentary for all, this policy should be changed. When I mentioned to the front desk that low end hotel chains offer free Wi-Fi his response was that it's how they attract people to stay with them. Hardly an acceptable or even sensible answer. They will remove the charges from your bill if you ask but it seems like a lot to go through, just offer the free Wi-Fi to begin with and cut out the cat and mouse games. All-in-all, great property and very highly recommended. Would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveKay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,797 - 2,803 of 3,224 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2010

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. I usually stay in 4star or better, and this did not disappoint. Our suite had two separate bedrooms, two bathrooms, living and dining room, it was like a modern apartment, very homey. Great walking distance to local attractions. Restaurant was very good too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMOESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We purchased a flight hotel package, fairly last minute, and were very happy with the results. The rooms were very nice, opulent, and clean. This location was right in the middle of the shopping dining mecca. There was a restaurant and bar on site which is always convenient. Overall the service from check-in to check out was very good. There was a snooty vibe throughout, but I think that it is part of the image they are promoting. Not my scene, but I think it would appeal to someone that might consider themselves a jet setter. They have a chocolate bar, that was just too much for us, but the wait staff only charged us 1/2 price, without us even asking or complaining. Very nice. The only 2 things that I found slightly irritating was the mention of charges from the mini bar, that we did not partake in. They did not push it when we said that we did not even drink the bottled water, but it made me feel like they should inventory better, or not try to rip me off. Another incident occurred in the onsite bar called "Girard's". I went down for a Dirty Gin Martini. A red headed female bartender made the drink, and later asked me how I liked it. I would not have mentioned it had she not asked, but I said "Good, but just a little too dirty". The real truth was that it was like adding a teaspoon of gin to a shot glass of salt. I was very gracious about it. She responded with "Really? Well, I can make you another, and put the dirty on the side, but seriously, I hardly put any in there." Hmmmm. I have only imbibed in about 200 of these babies through out my life, usually paying at least a couple of dollars less, and I think my perception as a paying customer is valuable. I hate it when I am on vacation, spending a boat load of money, relaxed and loving life, and then, like a brick in the face, I have to apologize for not liking a crappy drink. Needless to say, everyday after, I peeked into the bar, left if she was there, and spent my hard earned loonies somewhere else. I would recommend this Hotel. I would even recommend the bar when Walter is working. He makes a fantastic dirty, and makes you feel like a valued customer!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leprechauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuttonDOSM, Director of Sales at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2010

Hello Leprechauna - I was very disappointed to read your review and see that you were not satisfied with our version of a 'dirty martini'. While I have not imbibed hundreds of dirty martini's like you (although my brother probably has, that's his drink of choice) I am going to forward this review on to our Director of Food & Beverage and I am going to suggest we line up a few samples of the martini so that we can get it right, and consistent. And if you are ever in Vancouver again, please contact me and you and I can sity down to a martini together, and hopefully you will give it your approval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We booked this hotel through Hotwire for 199.00 which for downtown Vancouver is a good deal. Hotels.com, etc. were booking like hotels downtown for 269.00 and up for a weekday stay. Hotwire advertises this hotel as a 5 star but it's really more 4 star with a possible plus. The hotel has a lovely facade, elegant lobby, and 24hr concierge service which is unusual.
The service was very good. We were only there for one night so we didn't have a chance to check out the fitness facilities or pool.
We had a standard room with a king bed and our window faced a residential street facing the balcony side of several condos but it was very quiet. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with a free standing tub and separate shower stall with a LOT of counter space. I felt like the amenities were fine (Gilchrist and Soames) and in line with a 4 star hotel. The decor could use a face-lift but really wasn't as bad as I thought it would be having read some of the previous reviews. I will agree however, the bed was old, low to the ground (it almost looks like the box spring is missing!) and hard. In this era of 'pillow menus' etc, even at Hampton Inns, it's strange to just have two standard pillows on the bed. If the bed and bedding had been more plush I would have then said this was a 5 star. The air-conditioning is a bit noisy but my husband likes white noise to sleep so it wasn't really an issue for us.
The real reason to stay here is for the location which is Fabulous. Right on the corner of Burard and Robson which has some of the best shopping and restaruants in the area and Gas Town is just a short walk down the hill toward the water.
Some reviews complained of being nickled and dimed in regards to valet, etc. Staying at a 4+ hotel involves tipping, taxes, sometimes a 'facility fee' (not here however) and valet parking so just know going in that you're getting a good rate on the room but the hotel stay is still going to cost you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I am not a fan of the decor but the professional & efficient service of the hotel makes up for the lack of personality of the hotel. The rooms tend to be a bit small but very well maintained. The fitness centre needs a major facelift. The location is great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuttonDOSM, Director of Sales at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2010

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our hotel. You mentioned that you are not a fan of the decor of the hotel, and I thought I would give you a little background as to how our look and feel came about. We were built in 1985 to coincide with Expo '86 in Vancouver, and were originally part of the Le Meridien chain of hotels. As such, the original decor was very much classical French European, with a warm and 'old world' charm throughout. While we no longer maintain the affiliation with Le Meridien (we are an independent chain with properties in Chicago, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver) we have kept the look and feel, partly as a way to differentiate ourselves from other hotels in the city, but also to maintain our sense of identity. We are all very proud of how we present ourselves, and this is what you obviously picked up in the sense of professionalism you witnessed among our people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This is a nice hotel, but would not say it is a 5 star. The staff service is excellent, no doubt. However, the amenities of the rooms are mediocre - the bathrooms are quite dated. You also hear noises through the walls (water/pipes/AC). And the windows are quite thin, preventing us from a good night's sleep as you hear all ambulances and cops, honking through the night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Stayed here for two nights on business. Very comfortable and elegant rooms. Excellent room service and housekeeping. Very knowledgeable staff. One of the few pricey hotels with free Wi-Fi. Can't beat that. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevelling_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,859 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,069 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,697 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £138 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing