We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arty, mellow hippy town”
Review of Commercial Drive

Commercial Drive
Ranked #47 of 352 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Trendy neighborhood lined with ethnic cafes and fashionably bohemian boutiques.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Arty, mellow hippy town”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We visited various areas of Vancouver before settling on a place to live, but I think it's safe to say Commercial Drive stole our hearts from the get-go.

I have SO much love for this place! Something we noticed travelling around was how each area of the city has a particular feel. If the bohemian hippy lifestyle resonates with you, Commercial Drive is definitely the place to be.

A particularly good place to come if you want to relax, unwind, and just take time out to appreciate life (...man), and home to a fantastic range of restaurants, not to mention some beautiful parks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhiarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    90
    32
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Why bother”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

If I were on a tight schedule, I would have been regretful for the time I spent visiting places such as commercial drive, Gastown, Granville Island and Chinatown. I enjoy nature the best and I don't care to see small independent shops. I was tempted to visit those places as they were high rated attractions and I had enough time. I thought I might find something interesting and special about them. That didn't happen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve2TravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Funky central”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Commercial Drive is the place to go for great food (especially italian and organic vegetarian) and for it's unique ambiance. Take an outside table at The Havana restaurant to watch the passing parade.

Helpful?
3 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Commerical Drive No Car Day”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Not worth the trip; to many store up their prices.......heard to many complaints from locals on the prices....so I left....got to sky train heard the same from many people that prices are inflated....to bad would of been nice...use to be a nice place to go but not anymore....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never-ending street of joy”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I absolutely LOVE the drive. There is such a charm about this neighbour. I love the food, little boutiques and the grocery shops. This is the perfect venture for someone with ADD because there is just so much to check out.

The food is also amazing because there is such a great variety. From $2 pizza joints to authenic pho to Caribbean food at the Reef. If anything, do a little food sampling when you are at the drive. You'll be amazed how much culture and variety there is.

Make sure to check out the Fratelli Bakery and pick up a little treat for yourself. The best italian bakery in the city!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TamalePepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Commercial Drive also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Commercial Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing