We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Missing Something”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but Missing Something”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is well run and has a great view. The menu for room service is very healthy. However, the hotel vibe is very boring and sedate. The maids come at 8:30 am which was making me a little stressed. I think they are mainly cleaning rooms of people that have checked out but I am not sure. I decided to put the do not disturb sign up anyway just in case. I stay as a preferred member and the rooms have sliding glass windows that open up. Sound travels well here though and being on the 7th floor I could actually here the conversations downstairs-on the ground. I would probably try something different if i came back but this is definitely a fine place to stay and the showers and water pressure are perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Jason W,

Thank you for the review that you have shared of your recent experiences with us here at the Westin Bayshore hotel. We really value your loyalty and hope that you'll consider returning to us. We really appreciate the feedback that you have shared about the noise that you have encountered and would be happy to assist in a quieter option for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    970
    212
    85
    48
See reviews for
555
795
117
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As the title suggests I came in with higher expectations for this hotel. Its a little run down with stained carpeting in the halls and the room.
The fact that our 300 dollar a night room had no hit water and we needed to have someone working on the plumbing for an hour put me off. Going to check out now and won't come back. I think there are better options at this price point.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear mapleguy,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm truly disappointed to read that you would prefer to explore other options in the future. Certainly the water issue that you noted was a unique situation and I am truly sorry that it occurred during your stay and impacted your time with us. I am excited to share that we are finalizing plans for a refresh of our guest hallways. I hope you might reconsider your plan to look for alternate accommodations. Should you be willing to return please reach out to me directly at heather.guay@westin.com so that I may assist in making your experience ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
246 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We loved this hotel. The rooms, restaurant and staff were all wonderful. If you are a walker, this is a great location at Coal Harbor. Ten minutes along the scenic seawall and you can be in Stanley Park and the Vancouver Aquarium. Ten minutes in the other direction and you are at the Seaplane terminal and Canada Place. It was an easy walk from Chinatown, through Gas Town and back to the hotel. If you are not a walker, there are always cabs in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Nancy-SC,

I'm delighted to see how you were able to enjoy your inspired surroundings. Thank you for sharing your experience and do come back to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level Contributor
450 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is not a great looking hotel from the outside ! But we had a harbour view room which was amazing ! Views to die for
It's location will not be beaten and all the staff we came into contact with were incredibly friendly and very helpful
The only minus for me was despite being on the 12th floor there was a really annoying noise from a massive fan which was below us ! I think from the kitchens ! It sounded like a ship docking most of the night



  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear YogaGirl10,

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We hope you'll have a chance to visit us and other Westin properties in your future travels. Please accept my apologies for the noise that you noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were put into this hotel as part of a package with our cruise. We found this hotel to be perfect and close to where we wanted for our one night stay. the staff were friendly and welcoming. the room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable and plentiful. the reception area was open and spacious. there is a swimming pool which looked quite inviting. All in all a very welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear ken j,

What a delight to have you with us prior to your cruise. I hope your travels will bring you back to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beds are always great in Westins - heavenly in fact and we find the service exemplary. We love the breakfast, too. It is a comfortable place to relax. We have been here twice in the last 2 years and have always been impressed. Will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the harbour, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VPOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for a romantic date with my husband, and could not have been more delighted with this hotel! The Heavenly beds are, in fact, truly HEAVENLY! As is the rainfall shower! I chose a room overlooking Stanley Park and the pretty Coal Harbour Marina, and in the morning I basked in the sunrise view, sitting in a cozy armchair, sipping a delicious cup of in-room tea, and browsing through a few brochures. Blissful! Beautiful! So perfectly indulgent!
My only disappointment was that I could not stay longer.

Room Tip: A room with a view over Stanley Park and the Coal Harbour Marina is especially lovely at sunrise. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Marianne C,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your special getaway with your husband. We truly appreciate the inspired review that you provided to Trip Advisor readers! Come back and enjoy our Westin Heavenly Beds and Heavenly Showers anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,161 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,882 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing