We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
294 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent 6 days here for a conference, had a king bed room in Tower section, and all went well. The bed was great, the room was very good, TV channels could be better (no Golf Channel, no ESPN) but it did have Fox News. The room cost $200+ even at event discount, and what I was most disappointed was the $15/day charge for internet. Even Super 8 gives free internet. I had food at the conference breaks and it was good, but not superior. Staff was very friendly and willing to help. And location was superb! Right on the waterfront. I'd stay again as long as business pays for it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear porkman,

Thank you for your review following your recent conference trip to our hotel. We appreciate the feedback that you've provided and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    900
    201
    80
    46
See reviews for
504
733
110
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed there on my business trip to vancouver. Located just by the running path goin around stanley park. Excellenr choice for active ppl. I had only breakfasts which where ok. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspirynek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Aspirynek,

We were delighted that your travels brought you our way. Thank you for sharing your experience with other trip advisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Anywhere you have to pay a ridiculous price for WIFI in yoru room shoul not be recommended for business. food well below average with the exception of breakfast and serioulsy expensive. i certainly wouldn't recommend it

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear early30_irish_male,

I'm really sorry to read that that you were disappointed in your stay. We are very proud to be a key destination for business travelers and conference to Vancouver and apologize that you did not find your experience to be well suited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located. I was disappointed that there was no free wifi in the rooms. Although the room was well appointed, it was disconcerting to see stained carpets in the hall. The bed was super comfy. The concierge folks were very helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 40404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear 40404,

Thank you for the feedback that you've shared. I'm pleased to share that we have a refresh of our guest corridors scheduled for later this year and I hope you'll have a chance to see our renewed space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a great location~right by Stanley Park. Good place for breakfast. Views of the Marine, Mountain, Spa, Walking and Biking Trails are right there. The hotel shops are good but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. We were put in the 1st tower and upon the elevator doors opening, you are greeted to a hallway that has stained carpets and peeling paint on the trim. We hoped our room was better than the hallway, it was not. The chaise was stained and the mattress was saggy. I am being nice. Our harbor view was of the pool with a lot of noise on top of it. We asked to be moved. Our request was granted (only because we are SPG members) and we were moved to the 2nd tower. Better, newer mattresses, cleaner hallways and quieter but not what I have come to expect from a Westin. My husband ran into a Food and Beverage Manager doing an inspection for the chain and talked to him about the need to remodel and he replied that the hotel was fine but he was staying at the other Westin in Vancouver. Let's just say we LOVED the city and all the attractions but will try another hotel next time. We were glad that we only had 3 nights at this hotel.

Room Tip: There are 2 Buildings. Make sure you are in the 2nd one closest to the Bay, the 1st one has not been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Begonia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked here for the last night of our trip to Canada. We wanted to be near the bay and the Westin seemed a good and reasonably priced option. This is a big and busy hotel. Mix of tourists and business folk. Room was fine and clean but very average - although the view of the harbour was lovely. We walked to Stanley Park from there and it is near the shopping areas and the walk around the harbour - where we saw seals playing. Had breakfast in the restaurant which was fine, but had to wait quite a while for a table, which was disappointing. Service was good though and the food fine. Had to pay for Wifi, which was poor. Difficult to say much more. It was fine, but not particularly memorable, apart from view, location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Tower. This seemed like a nicer and newer bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Rachel011,

Thank you for the feedback that you've shared. I'm sorry that you didn't find your time with us to be exceptional but hope that you'll continue to choose Starwood hotels in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The only less than desirable thing about this hotel were the hallways to get to the rooms. Thankfully the rooms made up for the tired, smelly hall and elevator ride. The rooms were big (we had a one bedroom suite) the view was stellar. Our kids loved watching the float planes whiz by our balcony. I loved that the doors opened to the outside courtyard area. We had dinner and the buffet breakfast and both were very good. Overall it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfuller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear jfuller77,

I'm delighted to share with you our plans for a hallway refreshment later this year. Thank you for the feedback that you have provided. I hope you'll have a chance to return to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#30 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing