We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Granville Island

Granville Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$161.36*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Wine Tasting
Ranked #4 of 349 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Former industrial site has been transformed into an artsy, posh neighborhood with quaint shops, cafes and bookstores.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The market on the island has to be one of the most unique ones in North America. Lots of food available to be eaten there with great seating inside and out. Take the mini ferry from False Creek for the full experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,014
    4,512
    1,245
    208
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“CROWDED!!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were so excited to see the area after reading reviews on it, but it was so crowded, we could hardly enjoy it. The market area was packed and difficult see the restaurant offerings, couldn't find a table to eat at. We left after a short time and chose not to go back to avoid the crowds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snus95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little bit for everyone”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited Granville Island on our first day going around Vancouver and we fell in love. The food market is amazing, not only they offer everything from fresh seafood to homemade chocholate, but you get to eat food from all around the world. After that you take a stroll around little shops and art studios, try different beers in a brewery or later in the evening have a nice dinner in Bridges restaurant while having a marvelous view over downtown lights. Loved it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank meena6084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pleasant Unexpected Surprise”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Granville Island was a stop on the little water ferry to take us to another destination. When we disembarked we decided to have lunch at the Bridges Restaurant . After lunch we by chance thought to look around a bit and were surprised by the indoor market with all sorts of delectable foods and unique gifts. Wished we'd had more time to explore. I would definitely come back in a future visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Traffic?”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Overall this market would have received a 5/5 but there is one issue that is so severe that it dragged it down 3 stars and that is traffic. Granville Island is a very small area of land filled with old style buildings and mouthwatering restaurants and shops that is a nice break from the malls and big box stores we have come to expect. But I have no idea why they allow thousands of cars to file into this tiny area bothering pedestrians and filling all the restaurant and shops with smog. There is no clear separation between cars and pedestrians so you will see people walking among cars that are honking and trying to find parking. I will not go here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Jessy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granville Island also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Granville Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing