We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful - but small - room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful - but small - room”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel is a very posh, boutiquey, city, elegant type hotel but the staff at the hotel was super friendly and welcoming. We had a suite reserved and they put us in a corner suite, very nice, and gave us free wifi - they were just super friendly and generous! Everything was beautiful in the room. The only reason I gave four stars not five was because the room was so tiny. There were four of us in a corner suite and it was crowded. Had a nice view of the busy city outside and were right in the thick of things. Once the bed in the living room was opened up, we really had to stash things away to have room just to walk from one room to another and to get to the desk etc. So it was an elegant, cozy hideout in the middle of the city. Made for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTinamucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    406
    83
    27
    16
See reviews for
279
633
79
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is about the 3rd time we've spent Christmas in Vancouver and stayed in Hotel Le Soleil for our stay. It has lots of the plush amenities of a luxury hotel yet small and tucked away to one side of downtown so as to be a quiet getaway from downtown away from the crazies and the traffic. We like to call it our little boutique hotel getaway.

My wife has back issues so we are picky about our hotel and the beds. My wife needs the bed to be on the firmer side yet I love the soft pillow top. Love their soft linen. And the separate temperature control for the bedroom and the living room area. The rooms comes with everything you'd need, and more (for a price of course for the "more"). The "more" includes everything from snacks to wine to thoughtful little items like sewing kit in case you lose a button. Love the Aveda products for the bath. And the sliding doors so as to not have to waste room for the swing of a normal door (for both the bath and bedroom) We have a child so we love being able to put our baby to sleep in the bedroom while we watch TV on the sofa. Even the heating and cooling is super quiet (we have had issues in other hotels with noisy units which gave us restless nights) Everything is always so cozy and comfortable from the bath towels to the sofa for TV viewing. Decor is fabulous and everything feels luxurious.

It's a smallish boutique hotel so not too many rooms per floor. Which also means a very quiet hotel and guaranteed restful night sleep. Of all the times we've stayed here, we have never heard our neighbors. Not from above nor from the sides. And the elevators are always readily available. Service is top notch and I tip them accordingly. Super friendly and informative even though I know my way around Vancouver by now. Never had an issue with the valet or my car. Because it's smallish, I get super fast response. And I often call down for my car before heading down, so the valet would already have my car pulled around by the time I arrive.

I also love the location too since it's "downtown" but it's really on the northern edge, off to one side. Which means Robson is only a walk away, and we've walked to the Vancouver Christmas Market 2 years in a row now. Perfect for getting your buzz on for a good time yet won't need to drive back to the hotel. A Skytrain station is a block away so you could get to most parts of Greater Vancouver and beyond without even getting your car. There is a Starbucks across the street for our morning Mocha and a couple of drugstores 2-3 blocks away for any misc items you need. Plenty of restaurants around too. But I love that it's a block away from Pender St. I can drive in and out of downtown without having to deal with downtown traffic. And Pender is a direct drive to Stanley Park or Chinatown going the other way. And actually through Chinatown is the route we often took to get out of downtown in a jiffy since we have to have our dim sum for our daily brunch since Vancouver is famous for chinese food right?

The only thing negative is that it is a luxury hotel so it is pricey compared to other non-luxury hotel. But you get what you pay for. Le Soleil is cheaper than other luxury downtown hotels and well worth it too. That and I always wait for deal online then go with one of the hotel packages since I'm on their mailing list. Otherwise, I have nothing but positive things to say about Hotel Le Soleil and will probably see you again next Christmas!

Room Tip: As with any hotel, the higher up you go the better your view. I love the corner suites due to their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tykwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I grew up in the Vancouver area but have been gone for a number of years. We decided to spend a little 'touristy' time in Vancouver to catch up with all of the changes there and my husband found this 'little' hotel. It was beautiful from the moment we walked in. They upgraded us to a corner suite which was elegant, cozy, quiet and perfect! The staff was very helpful and polite and the suite was fantastic and fit the bill perfectly. While it was a bit small, it was great for two of us and very romantic. The bed was so comfortable! My husband and I don't sleep well and are very picky with our beds but we hadn't slept that good in a long time. We didn't want to get out of bed in the morning. Great location too. We walked to many things so once you park the car you can leave it for the most part. I highly recommend this little boutique hotel if you want a little romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the less you will hear street noise. A corner room has lots of windows which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsawwassengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I spent a weekend at this hotel in July. It was in a great location for walking around the lower half of downtown Vancouver. The room was typically European - small but adequate and nicely laid out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a small restaurant and bar attached to the hotel and we tried it one evening. The food was very good with reasonable, for the area, prices. Again, the big draw was the location.

My only minor complaint was the poor quality of the wifi service. Not exactly a must for all travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron7953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I had no idea what to expect in this hotel before we arrived...Wow! What a great experience..From the doorman waiting for us, helping with our luggage to the front desk people who could advise us on where to go for great food and shopping..Whenever i asked for something they bent over backwards to satisfy all our needs...It's so incredibly quiet, even for being downtown....This is the palce to stay while in Vancouver.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This is a top choice high-end hotel in downtown Vancouver. Most rooms are suites, though there are a few traditional style hotel rooms. We loved everything about it except for the noisy HVAC unit. After we went to bed, every so often when the heater kicked-in, the noise from the HVAC activating woke us. Oh well; we’ll stay here again in a heartbeat.

For a long (hour or so) culturally colourful walk head up Hornby to Robson, turn right and cruise by the eclectic mix of high rent stores, stroll on down to Denman. Hang a left up Denman past the richly flowered corner stores and ice cream shops. When you reach Davie St, turn left and walk past the numerous apartments, shops, coffee houses, resturants and bars to Hornby. You’ll be back at L’Soliel in short notice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We went with our friends for a night in Vancouver and a day shopping. Centrally located for shopping restaurants and night life. Were pleasantly pleased, enjoying the Valet Parking. Excellent staff very friendly. Rooms were spacious with sitting area off the bedroom, two TV's one in the sitting room, one in the bedroom. Bedroom had a pocket door for privacy. Comfortable bed with wonderful bedding. Had breakfast in the Copper Chimney Restaurant accessable throught the lobby. Enjoyed sitting in front of the lobby fireplace after walking around town. Strongly recommend Le Soleil

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,966 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,244 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,634 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Le Soleil

Property: Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Address: 567 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to detail have given the Executive Hotel LeSoleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top boutique hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an experience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Executive Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing