We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trendy boutique hotel in downtown Vancouver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Soleil
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Nice trendy boutique hotel in downtown Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We are a family of 3 adults visiting Vancouver and we stayed at Soleil’s One Bedroom Twin Bedded Suite at a corner of the building on the 6th floor for 2 nights (on a weekend in mid-May) after driving from the airport. The hotel was a little difficult to get to because it is along the one-way Hornby Street, half a block north of the classic Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Valet parking was available for $26 – this was convenient as parking is expensive (most parking garages charge $20 and up for overnight parking).
Check-in was efficient (with free gift for booking through Soleil’s website). There was loud music from the adjoining The Copper Chimney Bar on the weekend but our room was on the 6th floor and very quiet. The suite looked new, was tastefully furnished, 2 flatscreen TVs – one in each room, although the bedroom was on the small side, with 2 beds and little room for walking. Bathroom was clean and well-stocked with toiletries. A small fridge was available in the room but it had a plastic tag lock on it – but this prevent us from using it to store our perishable stuff (we like to purchase fruits to consume in the mornings).
The room overlooked Hornby Street and was only a 5 min walk to the Vancouver convention and cruise ship centres. Reception was courteous and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Soleil again in future.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    384
    77
    25
    14
See reviews for
250
583
71
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

The suite was a very nice size, with a living room completely separate from the bedroom. Fairly contemporary in design. Bed was comfortable. View was good (of other buildings in the financial district). We heard some street noise even through we were fairly high up. Avoid getting a room near the housekeeping supply closet. There was a steady stream of inventory being moved in there at 6 in the morning. Our door wasn't very sound proof and there was a great deal of unpacking occurring right in the hallway outside our door making it impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Q_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a smaller boutique hotel in Vancouver. It is in a fantastic location for sightseeing, being only minutes from the waterfront at Canada Place, minutes from Robson street and the shops and also only minutes from the Art Gallery.

It is also only a block away from the Skytrain and the public transport.

Room was great with the separate sitting area to the bed and two large plasma screen TV's.

Staff very helpful and polite.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The last few times we've visited downtown Vancouver we've chosen to stay at Hotel Le Soleil. It consistently comes out on top for location, price, and well-appointed rooms. Above and beyond, however, is how we would rate HLS's customer service. The bell and front desk staff are always friendly, prompt, and very professional. Having just enjoyed another night at HLS we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for the Vancouver boutique experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We've stayed here a number of times over the years and really enjoy it. There's valet parking (worth it so you know your vehicle is protected) but it's pricey - taxed heavily - just like any other hotel. You have a bellboy if you want help with luggage. Beautiful interior lobby. Friendly and helpful staff all the way around. Although I did leave a message for Housekeeping that I needed another facecloth and never did hear from them. Next time I'll just call the front desk instead of leaving a message. I'm not sure if all rooms are like this, but every one we've had has had a separate bedroom from the sitting area. You get a TV and a safe. No matter which room we've had, they've all been exceptionally quiet - no outside noise or hallway noise. The rooms are just lovely - like everything else here. Also has their own restaurant/lounge with a great ambiance. The breakfast (especially the pancakes) are to die for. Look forward to coming here every year. Oh, and the location is central so you can walk all over downtown Vancouver and also the seawall, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel. It is located within the centre of the city 1-2 blocks from major shopping, museums and restaurants - all within walking distance. It is close to major bus routes and to roads linking to tourist locations. It is within walking distance of Stanley Park and Gastown.
The rooms are good comprising sitting room (couch/chairs/TV), bathroom (shower only), safe, full fridge-bar, bedroom that is good albeit on slightly smaller size; however, the sitting room is a bonus.
The staff were excellent and most accommodating. Recommendations for restaurants and directions were excellent; valet parking of car was never a problem

Room Tip: Had a room that looked towards Stanley park but in reality one was looking at downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Well let me start by saying we live in Vancouver and spent last Saturday night at Executive Hotel Le Soleil to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, from the time we stopped the car and were greeted with car doors being opened and the warmest welcome by Dave ( I think that's his name) who took care of our bags and car while we were escorted to reception for the checking, this process was painless, smooth and we felt like they were expecting us with huge smiles.

The rooms were extremely clean, spacious and for us, fit for a king and queen. I must say we could have used a bath as well as a shower, however our room only had a large shower. The other thing missing in the hotel was a gym and pool, those are next door.

I asked the concierge (Dave) about the location of a specific steakhouse and he offered to make a reservation for us which we accepted, now I know all he needed to do was reserve the table and that was it, he did not need to inform the steakhouse that is was our anniversary and we were looked after like royalty at the steakhouse with managers greeting us and some free starters, to make our stay a little more special. Well Done Dave, I know you had a hand in that.

I had ordered rose peddles for the room during turn down, and after we returned to the room we saw a trail of rose peddles leading to our bed with a huge heart made of red rose peddles on the bed, the wife almost did not want to sleep in the bed as it was so well done, we were also given a complementary bottle of wine and a few small chocolates to sweeten the night.

We did not try the Copper Chimney, next time.

We have decided that this will become an annual stay for us.

Well done, we are proud to live locally.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Soleil

Property: Hotel Le Soleil
Address: 567 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to details have given the Executive Hotel Le Soleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an experience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing