We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious old fashioned stayover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“luxurious old fashioned stayover”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

we stayed overnight on a Saturday for dinner at the Copper Chimney for our office annual dinner at this hotel and really enjoyed the small intimate luxury feel of the room. We had a one bedroom suite and brought our 2 kids. It was very comfortable, one of the best beds I have slept in and the Keurig coffeemaker was a big plus for the next morning. Staff were exceptionally friendly and the place was super clean. The little sitting area off the reception with a nice warm fireplace was very cosy for a chat after dinner. The hotel is situated off the busier streets of Vancouver so it is quieter unless you get some rowdy people coming off from Brandy's next door. All in all, its a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugberni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    395
    80
    26
    16
See reviews for
264
616
76
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Pros: The place is beautiful! From the time you walk through the doors until you get to your room. Cons: Everything costs!! You can step around the corner and get something way cheaper! Don't get me wrong while it was nice, I don't feel the ammenities were what they claimed to be. The room was on the small side. There is NO GYM...it's at the YWCA in the next building (not connected) which costs as well! There is a hotel in the building that specializes in Indian cuisine. I was not impressed but the basmati rice was pretty good. I wouldn't stay there again. It's pretty but I don't feel that it was worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Rona_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

A boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver. I found it thru Hotels.com.

The room price was much lower than I expected for such a great location in the city.

The room was comfortable, large, clean and very beautifully decorated (which isn't that important to me, but it was nice). Great king bed. Very quiet. Plenty of amenities for the tired business traveler, including Wi-Fi and mini-bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

If you can get the trip advisor special rate, this is a very good deal, as the rate (currently) includes valet parking. Yes, the bed has a coverlet, but you pull that back then the white sheeted duvet is underneath. If you get turn down, they remove the coverlet for you. Extra pillows may be found in the closet; the a/c did kick on and off with a 'pop' that was on the louder side. Huge plus: there was an off odor when we checked in, and I quickly realized it was the shower curtain. We called down and someone replaced the curtain and liner in under five minutes from the call. Wow!
We would definitely come back for the same rate. Very conveniently located and in a very good part of town.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kellsjells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, BC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

What a great place to stay. Small hotel, great service. I did like a new safety feature : you need your room key to use the elevator.
We were going to a concert at the Rogers arena. Easy walk from that hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sookeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
416 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I booked this on a vacation package and chose this instead of the Four Seasons (which was the same rate). Upon check in, me and my traveling companion were thrilled to be there. The lobby was pretty and the smell in the air was lovely (always smells like fresh cookies or something). I had corresponded with the hotel when I booked this in April and they assured me (in an email) they would provide me with a complimentary upgrade if it was available. Adele (the manager on duty stated she saw the letters in the correspondence section by the way).

When we checked in, we were told by Adele the hotel was sold out and given our suite as there were no upgrades available. It was fine but it did not have a tub (my traveling companion has a muscular disorder and she really needed a tub to soak in).

I called the front desk and asked if there was a room with a tub due to my companion's muscular disorder and was informed I had to pay for an "upgrade" even though I was advised the hotel was sold out. I was called back and they offered the room - played musical luggage again, not fun and not a good welcome.

The hotel suites have old covers on the beds (very icky) and Parisian style furniture - extremely outdated. The walls are paper thin. Our suite (808) was across from the service closet and we were woken up every morning with staff members making REALLY LOUD noises across the hall with complete disregard for guests. If you are a light sleeper or like a quiet room - this is NOT the hotel for you. All in all the stay was really great except for the service.

There was one notable exception and that was David in the lobby. David always offered great advice and was extremely friendly, even when we bumped into him on the town - he was a saving grace and was the only reason I did not rate this hotel as a one or two star hotel. Also the concierge gentleman was kind and professional.

I decided not to take photos of the room as it was ordinary and many are already highlighted on this site.

Upon check out, the front desk clerk was very curt - did not even ask how the stay was.

All in all - it is an ORDINARY place to stay (3/4 star realistically) but certainly NOT 5 star service. I was crazy to stay at this place and should have considered the Four Seasons or others that were in the same price category. This hotel would have earned a GREAT review from me if the service was better but it TRULY left a terrible taste in my mouth as well as my traveling companion. It is a lesson to be learned. Some boutique hotels are fabulous and some are like this one. It is hit or miss with non chains who claim to be 5 star hotels. I would most definitely not stay at this hotel again. NO WAY!

Room Tip: No gym, no pool and no spa facilities. How is this rated a 5 star hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeSoleil, General Manager at Executive Hotel Le Soleil, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Contributor,
Thank you for your candid comments regarding your recent stay at our property, I am sorry that we didn't not meet all of your expectations as it relates to the service you received or the complimentary upgrade you were expecting. We do offer complimentary upgrades based on availablity (as we only have a limited number of each room type) and if we are running to close to 100% occupancy we typically charge the additional amount due to the demand.
As it pertains to guestroom decor and amenities there is a fact sheet avaialble on our website which describes in great detail our guest room types, furnishings and additional services we provide; however I can appreciate that design and style is a very personal thing. We do pride our selves on provided excellent guest service and I apologize that you were disturbed by our room attendants accessing the linen closet, which is probably a little more often than most hotels as we do not not use maid carts. We are AAA four diamond hotel and have obtained this rating because of our high level of service and unique surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
700 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days while visiting the city. I found the hotel based on price. It was one of the better priced hotels among those that were rated well.

I was pleasantly surprised by the apartment style rooms. For the price of a generic room at a major brand hotel, the room at Le Soleil was much more spacious. I enjoyed having a separate living room space from the bedroom. The room was clean and comfortable.

The service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone from the valet, to the front desk, to the housekeeper was friendly and professional. The restaurant and sightseeing recommendations I received at the hotel were spot on.

I also liked the location. It was an easy walk to major downtown shopping, and only about a ten minute stroll to the shops, nightlife, and restaurants of Gastown.

The lobby was beautiful and everything was in excellent order. I liked the local charm of this hotel.

For those looking for lots of extras such as health centers, pools, and free breakfast buffets, I am not sure that Le Soleil is that place. However, if you simply appreciate a larger quality room with service to match, this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel has 16 floors (with 3 numbers left out - the less lucky 4, 13, and 14). The higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,718 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,576 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,171 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,382 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Le Soleil

Property: Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Address: 567 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to detail have given the Executive Hotel LeSoleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top boutique hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an experience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing