We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel overall, but room selection key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A great hotel overall, will definitely stay again. Great room, bed, and clean. Room service was great food (we had breakfast), and the location is wonderful. Very close to both the waterfront (a few blocks north), and right across the street from a Starbucks, the mall, and Robson Street (shopping) was 2 blocks south. The only comment we'd have was that it took 4 tries before we finally got a quiet room. The first room that we'd been given was directly in front of the elevators. The next room we were given was an adjoining room, that we could hear the couple next door. The third room we were given was directly behind the housekeeping room, so you could hear the banging of trolleys against our bed wall, and the employees chatting as they came and went. Finally, the 4th room was great. It was at the north-west corner, a 1 bedroom queen suite, and was so quiet. It was a little frustrating that, even though we specifically stated that our purpose was to just have a relaxing, quiet stay in a quiet room, it took so many tries to get a quiet room for us. Especially since we found out that they were only 30% full that weekend, so it should have been pretty easy to get it right, at least by the second time! But I think this hotel is mostly for business travel, so is vacant on weekends, and perhaps they don't put their most experienced staff at the front desk. Everyone else was lovely and on the ball (concierge, valet, housekeeping, room service, etc).

Room Tip: Choose a 1 bedroom queen suite at the north-west corner if you want quiet. It's got an alley on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marga88ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLS567, General Manager at Executive Hotel Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Marga88ca,

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with the TA community, I wanted respond to your comments regarding your guest room; not knowing what room type your initially booked, some rooms are more susceptible to noise than others, two of which you experienced.

The room that you describe as a queen in the NW corner is one bedroom corner queen suite which is one of our premier rooms. I have passed along your feedback to our Housekeeping Team to be always conscience of the related noise that can occur when they access the pantry on the guest floor.

We hope you will visit us again.

Barbara Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Le Seleil to see the Pens take on the Canucks. Which by the way was an awesome game. That aside, we arrived rather late in the evening and the check in process was a breeze. The valet arrived quickly and helped us unload, though it wasn't really necessary, and was extremely friendly. The following day, clad in our Pens gear, we left the hotel and received pleasantries even though we were for the rival team. The entire staff was polite and courteous every time we encountered them. The room was clean and stocked. Check out the following day was quick as well. The valet had a line, so it took a little while, but he helped us carry our luggage out and the poor man stood in the pouring rain, which I felt was completely unnecessary. We were also given really easy to follow instructions to get back to 99. Also, it's located just around the corner from Barrard (sp?) station and just a few minutes walk in the other direction is Granville station. Starbucks on the corner, if that's your thing and a Tim Horton's a few minutes walk away. The only reason for a 4/5 is that our bed was quite possibly the hardest bed I've ever slept on and my husband felt the same way. Other than that, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife & I stayed at Le Soleil for the first time in November, 2013 for 5 nights. We found the Executive One Bedroom Queen Suite perfect and very quiet. Bathroom was a good size and well appointed. Free WiFi was great. We valet parked the car and it was always ready when we asked for it. Staff was very helpful when we had a question. We found the restaurant good, but a bit over-priced for breakfast, so we either ate at the Starbucks across the street or Caffe Artigiano just up the street on Hornby. The great thing about this hotel is the location: restaurants are all around (try Joey's on Burrard or Cactus Club), you can walk to hockey games (maybe 20 minutes) and run down to the water for a run on the seawall. I'm booking another trip in March, 2014 and will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoCouple763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of December to early January. The rooms are big and cozy. The bed was soooo comfortable. If I had to pick on 1 thing .. it would be the water pressure in the shower. But, I'm very picky .. and my wife didn't mind at all.

Just like any good hotel, there is a lot to point out and say was good ... but as we get older, it's the small things that begin to stand out and garner your attention. For Hotel le Soleil, it's their staff. They are all wonderful. Case in point, one of the cleaning staff noticed us returing to our room in the afternoon (siesta time) with our 4 year old and she popped over to offer some chocolates. What makes a kid happier than that? As well, the valets are very helpful and friendly. A special note to Max ... you were great!

You won't be disappointed by staying here. It's definitely in our top 3 for Vancouver.

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to be quieter. We had the 15th and it was silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverAzzurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a conference. I would say this is the best hotel I have stayed in to date.

I loved how we paid Sydney hotel prices but got a suite! We loved our little lounge room with the pretty decor and chairs. The only downside was having to pay for wifi.

The concierge were also really helpful when we asked for directions to a university they printed a map for us, they recommended a really nice japanese restaurant and when we were worried our luggage would be too heavy, they provided scales!

Both my friend and I still rave about this hotel! I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s2vl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My family stayed at Hotel Le Soleil just before Christmas, in two adjoining rooms. We were thrilled to discover our location in downtown Vancouver - we were close to everything, including a fantastic coffee shop one easy block's walk away.
Our rooms were without fault. There was no outside room noise. Everyone was very comfortable - five people in two rooms without a problem. Bathrooms were clean, modern and very pleasant. We loved having a TV in the bedroom and one in the small living room. No arguing between the kids. The staff were very attentive, polite and a word of praise for the lovely French doorman - a more polite, friendly and interested doorman you will not find.
We also ordered room service - two Asian dishes - from a restaurant connected to the hotel and were most surprised by the quality of the food. We are constant travelers and have rarely had room service meals of such a high standard.
Well done, Hotel Le Soleil. We will be staying with you again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaramutJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLS567, General Manager at Executive Hotel Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear CaramutJane

Thank you for your kind comments, I was thrilled to hear that your room accommodations suited your party of 5 with two connecting rooms and that the room amenities appealed to all.
The Copper Chimney Restaurant is part of the hotel where we serve breakfast, lunch & dinner as well as provide in room dining options.

Glad you enjoyed your time in Vancouver, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Barbara Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Myself, my husband and two daughters just returned from a 2-day family stay at Hotel Le Soleil and really enjoyed our time there. We had a package deal which included valet parking and American breakfast for two - with all that, we felt the price was very reasonable considering the quality of the room.
Some of the positives:
- hotel staff very friendly and accommodating
- had separate bedroom (with door) so could put the kids to bed and my husband and I could still stay up and watch tv. Kids slept on sofa bed in living area. Had tv in both bedroom and living area so didn't have to fight over the tv with the kids
- beautiful lobby / room
- had keurig coffee machine with complimentary coffee / tea
- were able to use mini-bar fridge to store our own items
- enjoyed a great breakfast at the hotel restaurant (again, staff was wonderful and food excellent)
- getting car through valet was quick
- very close to Pacific Centre shopping mall (2-3 blocks away)
- reasonable walk to Roger's Place (10-15 mins)

There were only a few areas for improvement:
- room, in general, was a bit on the small side for a suite
- occasionally found we had to wait for elevators a bit

We would definitely recommend Hotel Le Soleil for anyone looking to stay in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Le Soleil

Address: 567 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £117 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to detail have given the Executive Hotel LeSoleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top boutique hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an experience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Executive Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing