We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant downtown hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Soleil
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Brilliant downtown hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed in this hotel at the beginning and end of our very long road trip and found it excellent, not just value for money compared to other downtown hotels, but it has such a nice atmosphere and the staff are genuinely friendly, none of the smarmy 'have a nice day' crap you get at some big chains. The rooms were cozy and quiet, in fact we stayed in 10 hotels during our trip and we had the best nights sleep here, so peaceful and the beds are sooo comfy. I must admit the decor was a bit over whelming at first, the rooms are not small at all, theres plenty of room, just a great hotel and I will definately return next time I'm in Vancouver, loved the place!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrapyardnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    387
    78
    25
    15
See reviews for
254
590
73
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed at le Soleil for 3 nights. We chose it because of Tripadvisor reviews. We were somewhat disappointed with the size of the rooms. The separate sitting area was very small and the furniture not very comfortable.
We were not happy having to pay for WiFi. Why do hotels insist on charging for such a basic amentity,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fulstoneflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

I'll preface this review by saying that my family and I have been staying at Hotel Le Soleil for our trips to Vancouver for years now. We usually stay in the corner king bedroom suites, but have also stayed in the one bedroom suites.

The staff is consistently friendly, courteous and helpful. Even though it's usually over a year between times we stay, the staff remembers us. I think it's a testament to the quality of a hotel when so many of the staff continues to work there for years.

The room set up is ideal for us as a family. My two little ones sleep in the main 'living room' area on the sofa bed and we use the seperate bedroom. The bed is ridiculously comfortable and the rooms are quiet. We've never had any issues with noise in any of the rooms we stay in. The towels are thick and luxurious and the room has just about anything we could need. Love the flat-screen tvs!

We couldn't ask more location-wise. It's an easy walk to most downtown Vancouver attractions and shopping and a skytrain station is less than half a block away for easy access to others.

I'd also highly recommend the restaurant next door, 'The Copper Chimney.' Even though it's obviously not a family restaurant, they've been incredibly courteous readily accommodated our off the menu requests for the kiddos....and the food is fantastic! This restaurant is the one that does the room service for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamergirl9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction 21
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Great location within walking distance of most attractions. Clean, comfortable rooms. However, we had booked this hotel partly because it stated in the amenities that it had a fitness room - it turned out this was off site (at the YMCA next door) and would cost 11 dollars per person per day. No way of only paying for an hour or two, 11 dollars was the flat rate. This meant that for the 4 days we stayed it would cost us an extra 88 dollars to use this facility. When we pointed out to the Manager that this should be made clear on their hotel website we were told "it doesn't say that we charge for the Laundry facility but everyone knows that is chargeable"!!!!!! Eventually, when 2 days had already passed, we were offered a complimentary one day pass for just one of us. Not a good result. If you are looking for a hotel with a fitness room don't choose this one unless you want to pay through the nose for it. The Manager could certainly have been more helpful and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldieJunction21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Beautiful and tasteful. Visited with my Mother in Law and really liked having two televisions and especially two thermostats! We loved being so close to the Art Museum and Robson street, and agree with all the positive comments already posted on this site. Front Desk is exceptional. The housekeeping crew is friendly and the room was immaculate however, we did not have soap the first day and then the washcloths gone the next. Minor issues resolved quickly.

Not all corner suites are as nice as the photos posted. Ours only had one window that got light or had a view which made it seem much smaller.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainCityDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We were impressed with the attention to detail and decor of the hotel. This is a boutique hotel in downtown. We were taking an Alaska cruise and it was close enough to walk our bags down to the dock. It was also close to a lot of fun things to do such as Chinatown, Robson St, Stanley Park and Gastown.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsharp1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

This is a wonderful hotel but for the lack wifi. They charge you for slow and unreliable connection. I complained and they took it off the bill and seemed to be rightly embarrassed.
For me, this is a deal breaker.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Soleil

Property: Hotel Le Soleil
Address: 567 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to detail have given the Executive Hotel Le Soleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top boutique hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an experience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing