We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Listel Hotel - great location, great hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
mamanna
1 review
“Listel Hotel - great location, great hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We have stayed twice at the Listel Hotel on Robson St. and will stay there every time we go to Vancouver. It's lovely, has great art, a wonderful staff, nice sized rooms with great amenities and a good restaurant bar. The prices are very reasonable for the locale.
We've recommended the Listel to friends who've come back raving about the place.
It's wonderfully located for biking and walking around Stanley Park, the restaurants nearby are diverse and the shopping is, of course, quite good.
Love the Listel!

Helpful?
Thank mamanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    778
    180
    55
    22
See reviews for
349
875
124
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at the Listel Hotel in Vancouver in early August. It was a joy to stay there. The art gallery theme extended to the bedrooms which were well appointed. The staff were helpful. Free internet access and telephone calls to the US and Canada were provided for three hours a day. The O'Doul's Restaurant and Bar downstairs served excellent food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The location was convenient and we would certainly recommend this small hotel to anyone visiting Vancouver.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank GwennyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srqtraveler_8
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We checked in late and were given a simple room on the second floor of the building. The location is excellent, as there is shopping and even a whole foods market nearby. The bed was not comfortable and was extremely hard. We called the front desk at 8:00 AM and inquired about having some laundry done. They instructed us to place the laundry bag outside our door and they would retrieve it withing a half hour, send it out and it would be ready by 5PM. We checked and the bag was picked up in short order. At 5PM we checked with the front desk to see the status of our order. The gentleman said he had just delivered all the laundry that came back that day. He went back behind the desk and found the laundry bag sitting in a closet. Was given directions for a laundry 3 blocks away if I wanted to take it myself. We were there to take a cruise and had to check out the next day, so we had to take our dirty laundry with us. I expected better service at a hotel in this price range. Another beef: the elevator carpets looked as if they had weeks of lint and dirt and were never cleaned. Not a first rate hotel. I like to stay somewhere that gives great service and is clean and comfortable. The rest of the family stayed at the Comfort Inn and they seemed to receive much better value for their money.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank srqtraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We have just arrived back from a holiday in Canada that included a stay at the Listel. I must admit I thought the decor was dated for what is billed as a trendy boutique hotel, however the location is great & the rooms are clean & quiet. The front service especially from Anita was excellent. She took on a problem we had with a double booking and persued it where we had failed. She has conatcted us when promised and even though we are back home she is still working to resolve it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We paid £545 for 4 nights at The Listel and had a great stay. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff were very friendly, Sebastian was particularly helpful. We used the whirlpool in the small gym pool area which was empty, great after a day of walking! The lobby area was quite small. We found there to be a lot of homeless people in Vancouver which was quite upsetting but we didn't feel threatened by any of them. The Listel is in a great location although we weren't keen on Robson Street, too commercialised, a bit like Oxford Street in London! Easy to walk everywhere and the transfer bus from the airport drops you right outside the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No view from room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katkat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

The Listel Hotel is in a convenient location for tourists who love to walk. It is central to just about anywhere in the West End and an easy walk to Stanley Park, English Bay, shopping on Robson, the movie theatre and a host of wonderful restaurants.

The Listel does, however, advertise to be a little more special than it actually is. The art in the lobby and in the hallways in front of the elevators is interesting, but I'd say our Gallery Room was nothing special. We did enjoy the french press coffee brought to the room each morning, but other than that, I don't think this more expensive room was much different than the lower-priced rooms.

The staff tries hard but is pretty inexperienced. However, they are all incredibly friendly and nice, creating a welcoming and friendly atmosphere.

On reflection, the room was quite comfortable and we did enjoy the reading chair and the window seat. The bathrooms are quite dated and worn (cracked sink and peeling bathtub finish) which might bother some people. However, everything was in fine working condition and we have no complaints. The bed was a bit harder than I prefer but at least it didn't sag. I think a thicker mattress cover might help, as the plastic waterproof lining was a bit too noticeable.

The Listel is across the street from a fantastic, authentic Chinese restaurant called Hon's and it also shares the building with O'Doul's. O'Doul's serves outstanding breakfasts and the service is great.

We will definitely return to The Listel but probably won't spend the extra for a Gallery Room. If you go, just recognize that you will be comfortable, safe, and welcomed --- but don't look for 4-star service or a luxury feel to the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The plastic mattress cover
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elnap29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Excellent location - right on Robson Street. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking at the hotel + taxes priced this hotel at just under CAD$300. A little bit expensive for what it was. Would i stay there again? Not at that price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ZachariahBullfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing