We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good hotel but room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Pros: great location, staff pleasant and helpful, nice clean room and overall hotel decor, left us some goodies in our car as we checked out, free internet (although you are charged a small "facilities fee" on the bill).

Cons: valet parking is expensive (CAD$26 - but upon checking in, we were told there was a 26% tax on top of that), housekeeping woke us up at 8:45am to ask if they could clean, insufficient amenities (shower cap, international adapter plugs, slippers).

Overall this is a good hotel to stay at, but what seems to be missing is the fine touches that one would normally expect from a high-end boutique hotel (and considering it is not a cheap hotel).

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    759
    179
    53
    21
See reviews for
340
855
122
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faulkland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Listel for 2 nights at the start of our trip to Canada. A friend collected us from Vancouver airport and drove us straight to the hotel. Traffic was a bit busy and there are some road closures on Robson Street which delayed us slightly but were still there in little over 30 minutes.

The hotel is located in the Downtown area of Vancouver. As locations go you cant complain. Bars, restaurants, shops, the waterfront and Stanley Park are all within a couple of minutes walk.

The hotel staff at check in were very pleasant and polite and the check in process only took a matter of minutes. A free safety deposit box is provided.

Our room was situated on the fifth floor and was one of the rooms that is themed with artwork (which is avaliable to buy!). The whole hotel is actually filled with paintings and sculptures which makes it a very pleasant place to be. The bedroom was immaculate as we'd expected and had a very nice 32 inch plasma TV on the wall!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShippyEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimMockford, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words and your endorsement of The Listel Hotel in Vancouver. Just a point of clarification, the room you were in did not have a 32" flat screen on the wall... the Gallery Room that you were in was equipped with a 42" flat screen TV... I only mention it because I believe in the case of TV's, size does indeed matter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Listel was our home for 3 nights during a wedding over Memorial Day. The staff went above and beyond making everyone feel welcome.
We were in a room on the fifth floor right over the lobby. We could see the water and boats. After seeing the rooms on the lower floors, I would insist on one higher. The rooms were large with a wonderful bed. I loved having my complimentary coffee delivered at 8 every morning. We removed most things in the mini bar and put our purchases in there. Very nice.
The Listel is walking distance to just about everything downtown. We walked to the convention center and Stanley Park.
The restaurant is wonderful Great food and service. The breakfasts were so yummy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcrich56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We spent four nights in the Listel. Great location within walking distance of shops,restaurants, Stanley Park. Comfortable, nicely decorated rooms. Relatively low rise; Attractive bar/restaurant with free live music each night. Friendly greetings from all staff and particularly helpful front desk. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Overall the hotel was a good place to stay. Clean rooms, comfy bed with nice sheets. Location is awesome on Robson street (there is a Starbucks across the street and a great restaurant next door called O'Doul's). The art in this "art hotel" is fantastic when I was here. A very interesting photography exhibit.

The downside of this place and why it only gets 4 out of 5 stars (I was tempted to give it a 3) is that is bills itself as a "arty designer" type hotel. You would expect this place to be decked out with fancy, modern decor. Other than the great art on the wall, this place is barely a 3 star hotel.

Room furniture is average at best. The TV is circa 1996. The bathroom is from a mid-range apartment in 1989. The AC hums and the carpet hasn't been changed in some time.

Now I normally wouldn't care about any of this except of how this hotel sells itself and my expectations. The airport Radisson I stayed at the first night in the city looked 10 times better in terms of an interior.

So, do you need a nice clean hotel with great staff in a fantastic location in Vancouver? Then stay here. Don't expect to be blown away with the decor.

NOTES:
Free Internet
Great Staff
Awesome eats next door at O'Doul's
Great Location
Vancouver is awesome

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We had a great time at the Listel in Vancouver. Our suite was on the museum floor and had interesting pieces of art both in the room and in the hallway. The hotel bar/ restaurant has live jazz which was really cool. The hotel is situated on one of the main shopping streets so is handy for shops and bars. Overall, we had a great time and would go back if we're ever back in Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We were staying at another hotel just down the street and having a lousy time. Eating at O'Doul's one night, the wait staff suggested we move to the Listel and could get us the same rate. I went and looked at the rooms they had available, and moved the next day. Saved our holiday big time. I was truly impressed with all the staff from the front desk to the restaurant were we eat on numerous occasions. They truly treat you like family. We also got a welcome gift on arrive, and were called by name each time we came in or went out. As for the art work, my husband is an artist and we loved the paintings. The wine reception was also wonderful.

Great place, great staff, will stay there again!! Thanks, guys!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer31250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing