We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value but not quite "Boutique"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great price, great location, secure parking. Room was clean and neat but quite dated. Towels were thin and few in number. The mattress was old school with wire coils that could be felt easily. The walls and floors are thin so bring earplugs. The street noise and people upstairs were easily heard.
If you are just staying a night I'd go for it. For anything longer, keep shopping!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flatlandermanitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was expecting a bit of luxury at this boutique hotel in downtown Vancouver and was disappointed. I really appreciated having a separate bedroom but that was the only room with air conditioning, so my friend had to leave the balcony door open and use the supplied fan (a really good one though) to keep the living room with sofa bed cool. In downtown Vancouver on a Friday and Saturday night that translates into noise. More than I experienced in the bedroom with the a/c on. Minimal supplies, terrible coffee, small economy motel like towels, an empty hotel information folder, a bathroom door that needed to be lifted up before it closed (the screws were stripped), a lumpy sofa bed with only one extra pillow supplied for the second guest (but I had 4 so shared). The good things: free wifi, immediate response to problems with the cable vision (cable company equipment problem), extra coffee supplied by the friendly front desk staff, free parking (not usually available in the summer but I had booked three months in advance so it was honored). Location was GREAT... Vancouver has hills and this hotel was situated to avoid most of them when walking to the waterfront and Convention Center. Kitchen well enough supplied if one wanted to stay and a grocery store is only a block or two away.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room, on the water.north side. The harbor airplanes are a bit noisy but the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmist454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

While Hotel Riviera is centrally located and close to public transportation, this "boutique" hotel leaves much to be desired. Our room which consisted of two queen sized beds plus a kitchen contained furnishings from (what I can only describe as ) the former Soviet Bloc of the early 1950s. One bed was essentially unusable in that it would creak each time someone turned over. The window a.c.unit also began making banging noises on our second of two nights there. Each furniture surface plus the basin and counter in the bathroom were covered with tacky contact paper. The bath towels were both small and scratchy. Rooms in the front of the hotel look out onto busy Robson street; the noise abates around midnight.

But parking was free!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southwest0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel location near whole foods and numerous restaurants, the superb view out the 10th floor towards Stanley park, the fantastic service from Sam, Carlos and Darrel in regards to restaurants, bus lines, early cruise ship boarding, what else could we ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bfhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel was okay but did not meet my expectations. I had originally asked for a view room (option sof city mountain or lake views) which is level 5 and higher. We got stuck with a level 2 room with the balcony staring at a brick wall. I did not complain or ask to change rooms as we had been travelling a very long time and i was exhausted. On their website it also advertises free parking, however we had to pay $15 a day for a car park - false advertising. Apart from that the rooms were fine, with a well equipped kitchen and clean bed / bathrooms. Was in a good location close to lots of things in the city. Recommended if you arent interested in the beautiful views that Vancouver has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a good location and fair priced hotel although the bed wasn't that comfy. The fold out sofa bed my friend stayed on had a thin mattress that wasn't that comfortable and the main bed mattress was ok but bed very squeaky.

The guys on concierge were helpful but I always feel a $15 parking charge is pretty excessive.

Maybe stay here again if the rate is good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I really liked this hotel except for a few serious problems. First and foremost the so called wireless is worthless. Worked weakly 30 percent of the time. Second it was pretty warm in Vancouver and the rooms were hot except for the bedroom that was air conditioned with a tiny wall unit. All we had were verticals for window treatments and they do not work in the bedroom with an air conditioner in a window. In June the sun comes up around five? Goes down around 10pm. The location is wonderful with a Safeway and Whole Foods Market doors away. Stanley Park is nearby within walking distance. The kitchen and close stores really help. The problems are enough to keep me away in the future otherwise it's a decent value. Oh yes they also now charge $15.00 for parking.

Room Tip: Stay low in the building as the elevator is very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,539 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
941 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,783 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver

Address: 1431 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £45 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location :-Centrally Located to in Downtown Vancouver IE 800 m from Stanley Park in Vancouver's West End,1.2 KM to Convention Center.English Bay Beach is 10 minutes' walk away. Burrard SkyTrain Station is 1 km from Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver.(RORSH) Free Wi-Fi is included. The spacious units at RORSH provide Harbour or Robson Street views. This hotel features Apartments/suites/Condo Furnished balconies,Living Room, dinning Area and Full Kitchens Loaded with Pots,Pans,Cutlery and etc .. Desks and cable TV,coffee makers and ironing facilities. A launderette is offered at Downtown Vancouver RORSH For guests convenience, the hotel offers complimentary umbrellas, a 24-hour front desk and a non-smoking environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing