We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 24 September 2013

When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite on the 33rd floor don't know why but hey whose going to complain. Excellent room big Jacuzzi over looking the city clean,tidy well presented. Staff friendly, helpful even had a complimentary breakfast. Superb position for exploring Vancouver one of the best cities we have visited and we have seen a few. Can't think of anything to complain about except maybe parking charges which at $25 a day if you are there for a week or so would work out expensive. If we ever visit Vancouver again which is a distinct possibility then would not hesitate to stop at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room high up to enjoy views of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Newinn:

Thank you for your recent review. It always brings great joy for me to hear that a surprise upgrade is appreciated. It also great that you were able to enjoy our excellent West End location. Definitely a treasure for all of our guests. I am so glad that you would not hesitate to come back again. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Good location. Big and spacious room with a balcony, small kitchen, and sofa sitting area. Really run down and aged. One of the worst bathrooms I've been in ever in a hotel, not acceptable. This is a 2 star hotel and even at a hotwire price of $120+ tax ($150 total) is not very good value. The only saving grace is the great location near stanley park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joda35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Joda35:

Thank you for your recent review. I was disappointed to read that you did not find value in your stay with us. Thankfully you were able to recognize our excellent location and spacious guestrooms.

Sincerely,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I liked the location, staff and layout of the room, but the facilities need to be maintained. The carpet is very old, dirty looking and desperately needs to be replaced. There is plenty to do within walking distance whether you are on business or pleasure. The room was quiet and if it wasn't for the state of the carpet, lack of properly made bed when linens were requested to be changed and dirt on the bathroom floor which was there prior to and after I checked out, I would have rated very good. I would give up the location and stay in a cleaner facility next time.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow, so you may not want to stay on a higher floor. It is an older buiding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Lyleth:

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you were “liked the location, staff and layout of the room” and our fabulous West End location. I was disappointed to read about the condition of your room, so if you could reach out to me via email at b.rohl@coasthotels.com to let me know what room you were in, I would appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Coast Plaza Hotel and Suites during the week of September 15 to 22nd. The central location on Denman Street is great with easy access to many wonderful street restaurants, the transit system and within easy walking distance to English Bay. It is also very close to Robson, Coal Harbour and Stanley Park. Would have liked a higher room but the west facing 14th floor one we had was ok. I would defiantly return!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Spacebison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Spacebison:

Thank you for your recent review. It was a pleasure to read that you would definitely return to our hotel. It is great that you were able to enjoy our excellent location with superb access to many local restaurants and Vancouver’s excellent transit system. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and the end of our mobilhome-trip. We had bookings for a bedroom-suite. Fortunately, at the beginning we received an upgrade to an outstanding suite at 33rd. floor. The staff at the reception (e.g. Jonathan), at the restaurant (e.g. Buzzy) and the concierge is very friendly and top professional. Free Wi-Fi (WLAN) and free use of pc/ printer is available. Bedroom-suites near the elevator can cause some noise at night. Location is excellent, because it´s in short walking distance to Stanley Park, to the beach, to Robson Street. Denman street just in front the hotel offers international cuisine, bike rental, ...

Room Tip: higher floor leads to better view. near the elevator can cause noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogger-MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Jogger-MUC:

Thank you for your recent review. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the service provided by Jonathan and Buzzy. They are true service heroes and we are so lucky to have them. It is also great to see you were upgraded to a 33rd floor suite and I am glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked this hotel for its location. It is surrounded by fabulous things to see within walking distance for my family. The decor was a little dated and we wish they had provided us cream and sugar for our coffee and water for more than one person (these are suites after all). The staff were amazing....very friendly and welcoming and that made a huge difference for our stay. Kudos to the staff...they brought our rating to a 4...cannot say enough about them. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank TnT8116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear TnT8116:

Thank you for your recent review. Very glad to read that you’ll be back. I will definitely pass on your excellent feedback about our staff. Your kudos will be warmly welcomed and appreciated. Their direct role in raising your review rating is powerful. Please come back to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our last stop on our two weeks tour. The Victoria Clipper booked us here. I thought we were booked at the Coast Coal Harbour, but they do not do Victoria Clipper bookings. This hotel is in English Bay and little off the beaten path for us. I did pay extra for a view of the water. We were given a room on the 26th floor next to the guest laundry facility. The room did have a nice view, but the room was worn looking. There were two stiff backed chairs that were not a great place to sit and see the view. All in all it was not a hotel nor a location I would have booked on my own. The staff was nice and there are some excellent restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugTampaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear TravelBugTampaFL:

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the great water view, our nice staff and some of the great area restaurants.

Best Regards,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#43 of 92 in Vancouver
1,524 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,539 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#39 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £72 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing