We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good for short stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked this with hotwire and were pleased with the location, the room and the price. the room as most people have stated is clean but a bit dated, however we found the beds to be very comfortable, the spa amenities were above average. Bathroom was small but clean with lots of hot water. We ate at the restaurant and it was very good!! We received a coupon for 20.00 off dinner so we chose to eat there because we were tired from a long day travelling and it turned out to be one of our best meals. The staff were very accommodating, our friends whose travel agent made a mistake with the booking and booked the wrong date, the hotel initially said they had to charge them but then reversed it and did not and were able to get them a room for the night. Not a fancy place but I would stay again.

Room Tip: the higher floors have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleighgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    519
    250
    107
    50
See reviews for
388
371
97
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami fl
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

the room was spacious and quiet and on 11 floor had a decent view and working wifi and it was adequate for me
the furnishings were a bit dated but I suspect that guests who book via priceline name your own price like I did likely get the rooms that have yet to be upgraded
bottom line though the savings I got versus had i booked at website /rack rate more than offset any concern about décor
all in all would be pleased to win this hotel again

Room Tip: ask for as high a floor as possible for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank biggerduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Yes the decor is a bit dated and the kitchens are a throw back to a previous decade. But everything was clean and functional, small coffee pot and electric kettle worked great. There was no microwave which was a surprise yet had a oven and stove.
I actually didn't realize that there was going to be a kitchen in our room so it was a big plus.

Wifi was spotty at best and it took a while to get the hot water to run, but once it got there it was hot and stayed that way.

25th floor suite had great view of English Bay. Easy walk to many highly rated restaurants, sea planes, convention center and Stanley Park.
Friendly staff, easy parking in the garage for $25 daily rate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuartnative63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here for one night. Overall the place could use some updating but the room was clean and very spacious. I didn't try any of the attached bars/restaurants because they looked a bit dodgy. The front desk staff was very personable. Amazing view from the room (#2604). The pillows were too stiff for my liking. It's about a 20-25 minute walk up to the downtown area. If you're in Vancouver for one night, I think it's fine but if you are staying for several days, I'd book something closer to the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while at a conference. The hotel is quite dated and needs a major refresh throughout, including the rooms. Still, the suites were spacious and had a decent kitchen space which was well equipped. Staff were friendly and it is reasonably located near English bay, not the best part of town, but pleasant enough. Near lots of cheap food places.
Two major issues were firstly that the water in our room was never warm, and when the shower was switched on it was moderately warm for about a minute or two and then went cold. This was clearly a major pain. Secondly, all of the suites back on to the elevator shafts, which means they can be very noisy.
Pillows were also very thick and it made sleeping difficult. Should be a range of soft and hard ones available on the bed

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

During the checkin process i had an issue with my card. I was on the phone with Visa and handed staff my debit card to pay. The front desk staff stated, this card probably won't work either look at how she is dressed. I was angered by this and threw my stuff in the room and left. Returned late and noticed dirty water backing up into the bathtub as I was washing up. Was not able to change rooms until the next day. When we did get into our new room we were finally able to shower. 8:30pm that night we noticed we will not have towels for the next day so I called and asked for some more. I was told someone will be right up with the towels-No one came.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Liidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Superb 35 story hotel on a residential street a short walk from everything. Friendly and efficient staff who checked us in at 9:30AM. Great view of Stanley Park and waterfront. Very quiet. Large room with plenty of closet space. Easy parking. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohican33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,375 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing