We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double charging hotel cost and not replying to reverse charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Horrible, horrible experience! Double charged my week's stay and now not responding to requests to reverse charges. After several emails and attempts to contact the hotel and reverse the charges they are now not responding to any emails and charges still stands.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Samantha L:

Thank you for your recent review. I was very troubled to read about the poor experience you have encountered. I am sorry for the distress this has caused you. I hope there is a reasonable explanation for the lack of follow up from my team, but nonetheless I would ask you to email me directly at b.rohl@coasthotels.com so that I can ensure this issue is fully resolved for you.

Sincerely,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was a refugee to the Coast Plaza after my reservation with a nearby hotel held the conference I attended messed up. I was defeated, tired, grumpy, and was not impressed when walking into the Coast Plaza. But the receptionist served me through the check-in process really comforted me -- it was professional, courtesy, and most importantly a sense of understanding what a traveller desire to be taken care but not patronised. I had similar experience when I checked out the next morning, so there must be some kind of consistency in the service.

To be fair, this property has no way to compete with those shining modern waterfront hotels. The deco in the lobby may remind you the era of 1980s, with a relatively modest reception area. This is the same in the elevator hall, though the elevators are actually run quite efficiently as I have never needed to wait for more than a min even in the rush hour. The deco of the room and bathroom is also not new, but the size is utterly spacious. It even has a balcony to allow you to step outside the room to take in the great view of Vancouver. Nothing in the room will tell you it is old (probably apart from the stand-alone air-con unit), and most important to a traveller, it is clean, and carefully maintained.

Moreover, the area where the hotel located hosts uncountable small restaurants -- mainly Asian (Korean, Thai, Chinese, Japanese) and you can tell most of their customers are not tourists. A supermarket, a dollar store, and a bank at the bottom of the hotel and a 7-11, and loads of cafes near by. It if a few blocks walks toward the downtown (c.a. 10-15 mins walk), and similar distance to the waterfront in another direction. The neighbourhood is mainly residential so it is relatively calm, and you do feel there is no wonder why Vancouver has been constantly voted one of the best place to live.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Lost_travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This review is late, we actually stayed here about two years ago. The hotel is located very close to many decent restaurants and shops, also close to Stanley Park and bike rentals. We initially got a room very close to the AC unit (noisy) but on request were moved away and to a higher floor. The higher floors seemed better both for less noise and better views. We had a view of the water from our balcony.
The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was nothing fancy but comfortable. The pool is nice especially if you have kids. We did not eat at the hotel so can't speak for the in-house food, but as I said there are many good places to eat close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a great hotel for anyone on budget--IE familys, long-term stays, seniors.
We were in a bachlor suite with a kitchnette that had a queen bed.
The hotel is very clean.
We booked thru Hotwire--great rate. I think we saved $100 booking thru Hotwire.
It wasn't downtown, but the it was easy to use the transit system.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was very impressed with the Coast. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms have views that are absolutely gorgeous.
It's in the heart of downtown. Walk to the beach, restaurants of all tastes, coffee shops and shopping.
Overall a great experience and I will definitely be staying at the Coast in the future.

Room Tip: Any room is good. The views are incredible. I especially enjoyed the view of the water to one side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Elva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our room at the Coast! I booked the room the day before on Hotwire. Fast, efficient and friendly front desk staff. The room was massive! Helpful to have the kitchenette and Starbucks coffee/maker for the morning. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet..I was amazed not to hear the sounds of downtown Vancouver…no sirens! I will be back again for any stays in Vancouver and for sure would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I use to come here often for work trips in the mid-90's, so I was curious how the Coast Plaza was now. Still great place to stay and good value. Some have mentioned the furniture needs updating and I'll agree but for me that is very minor. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds, balconies with great views of downtown and English Bay, well stocked full kitchens and clean bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. And I love the neighbourhood. Denman and Davie street have many great restaurants from budget to high end. Close to supermarkets and short walks to beach and Stanley Park. Surprisingly quiet too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,469 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £93 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing