We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coast Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Coast Plaza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This grand old hotel has location, location, location. A 10 minute slow walk to English Bay, Stanley Park, and the seawall. As a previous reviewer said the rooms are dated but they are updating the rooms gradually.
Customer service is excellent. Fast, courteous and helpful.
The restaurant on site is OK. 10% off of one meal while you are a guest. Don't bother with the breakfast buffet, it isn't worth it.
The underground parking is wonderful and at times you can get it thrown in with a package. That is a real deal in Vancouver.
The attached mall and small supermarket are very convenient.
We have stayed there for a number of years and we are always pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of English Bay. The view is fantastic,
See more room tips
Green Features: Unfortunately there was no recycling basket in room. They do support keeping your towels for an extra day if you choose.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissESL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    489
    235
    104
    44
See reviews for
361
348
95
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. :) We loved how attentive the housekeeping was in making sure, our room was made every day. :) The staff was friendly and helpful, printing out directions for us and helping us get cabs. We had a room on the 31st floor and the view BEAUTIFUL!!! Only thing we would like improvement on is the wifi. It was slow and unreliable and signal was weak from our room.

We didn't try any of the food in the hotel as the hotel itself is located perfectly among highly rated restaurants. :) Would definitely visit and stay again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper levels because the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Msfrancep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We had the good fortune to be upgraded to a suite (28th floor) with spectacular views all around and more room than a couple could use. The shower didn't work but was repaired quite quickly. Biggest drawback is the very slow and unreliable internet. Biggest plus is the location - lots of good food and attractions nearby.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

For our first time in Vancouver we spent a few more bucks than we normally would on a place to put your head at night and take a shower. We didn't get in until around 7pm. The place on hotelstonight app had shown that it was available for $200 a night but didn't allow us to show how many people we had with us. We get here and find out that for 4 people we can get a suite that is on the 33rd floor and that the parking garage that is attached to the place will be an extra $25 for a total price of $260 the night. The parking garage you are allowed to stay in the following day until 6pm not check out time, which worked for us since we had a ton of place to see the following day on foot. To use the elevators you need your room key to choose what floor you need to go to. The elevators were a bit slow but at least they worked unlike the ones we had in Mexico last year. We get in our room to find the view to be spectacular. The bathroom was one small room and there was a vent in there but no place to turn it on. The vent was caked with dust and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. There was large bottles of body wash, shampoo, conditioner and a jar full of q-tips and makeup sponges to use. The full kitchen consist of a mini fridge, microwave and a bar area on top of the fridge. Ideally it would had been wise to had put a light in the small space for this area and a mirror on the back wall. The private balcony was nice, but scary due to how high we were and the railing used looked a bit rusty. We then found the AC unit was some small in room unit that sat on the floor and was on a timer of some kind. It truly was a joke it wasn't cooling the room any we did better by opening up the small windows in our room and balcony door. The double beds were big and softy as were the pillows that normally are on the small side in hotels but these were big plush pillows. Our daughter went to sleep in the sofa bed to only find that the sheets hadn't been changed in no telling how long. They were dingy and smelled horrible. We ended up stripping the bed and giving her one of the closet blankets to use. Once outside of the hotel we did find it was prime location for everything from the English Bay, to the bus that will take you to the sky train, to restaurants and 7-11 across the street. The next day we did visit the pool for a quick 45 minute swim. To get in the pool area there is a women's side and men's side that require your room key. Once you go through those doors you walk into a big dressing room with a sauna. Then you go out through another door to the pool, that was a small indoor pool that is located on P2 floor. Our daughter enjoyed the pool. The next day we left the cough bed sheets out next to our bed sheets and saw how gray they were next to the bleach white sheets on our bed and left them there in hopes the maid would get the hing they need to be cleaned for the next guest. The free WIFI was a joke it never worked for very long before it would ask for the password again. We just used our data plan instead. The view was what really paid for this room and the location. With a few renovations and a better AC this place would totally be worth the money they charge to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Loved the view, loved the access to the basement mall. Did not like having to stand and wait for 15 minutes for the elevator. We were pretty tired on arriving at the hotel after walking from the sky train with backpacks. This broken elevator business seems to be a theme with the Coast Hotel chain, as we had an experience with the Coast in Nanaimo in December that was similar. Great view from our 33rd floor suite, but just a fan in bedroom and a small air conditioner unit in living room. The décor is dated and the bathroom too small with inadequate counter space and poor lighting. All staff we interacted with were wonderful, polite and helpful. Location of this hotel will bring us back for English Bay,Stanley Park and all the great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. It is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July with family and enjoyed very much at this Coast property. Check-in was efficiency and got the 1 bedroom suite at the higher floor with nice Lion's gate bridge and English Bay view. Room is spacious with full kitchen, although the decor is a bit dated but very clean.

Concierge, Randy answered most of our questions on the next day and we did spend a very enjoyable time riding bicycle in Stanley Park.

Overall, we liked it being a well-kept building, friendly staff and working distance to so many nice restaurants on Denman street. Will certainly consider to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazda626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

33rd floor facing Stanley Park and English Bay, what a view! Big suite, lots of storage, kitchen was large and useful and bathroom too small for this size of suite (counter-top storage only, 1 person at best). Pricey at about $350-$370/night (excl. taxes) - was their during first August weekend for English Bay Fireworks and Gay Pride with: parking not included ($25/day or 500 of their points/day - underground parking) and nor do you get a complimentary breakfast (even Best Western Plus provides this). A rip-off that way. Hotel has not really been modernized in the suites, old style furniture etc. A major annoyance is the elevator, all 4 of them, for a 35 story hotel, takes forever to get up and down. On check-in during the peak 3-4 PM time, they had only 2 staff for this, cheap if you ask me and, I have finalized home deals that take less time than their check-in procedure. Their room service/cleaning people are excellent. What this hotel banks on is its location and views which is/are SUPERB (e.g., small mall downstairs with pharmacy, grocery store etc. with easy access from hotel). I usually stay at the Sandman on Davie Street, much cheaper with similar views, room sizes, kitchens etc. and more people at peak check-in (faster elevators, 4 of them, since only a 20 story hotel), just farther away from English Bay but still well located. Would I stay again, probably but they will have to lower their price a lot more than this stay. If same price next year, I will book ahead at the Sandman instead (Ocean facing suite).

Room Tip: View: ask for a Stanley Park/English Bay facing suite, you will probably have to get a Premium or be...
See more room tips
Green Features: Same as all other hotels I have stayed at over the past few years (usually Hilton or Best Western plus).
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,508 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing