We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy as!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Booked through TripAdvisor and did experience a degree of trepidation about what we would find, wow what a great Surprise! We did pay for the sea views and I can say that it would be hard to find a more magnificent veiw anywhere 180 degree panorama, balcony to enjoy the sights smells and full experience of the area. Perfect close to the beach restaurants downtown and Stanley park. The rooms are older but clean and really comfortable. Couldn't recommend this hotel more..unless you want to swim the pool is truly awful..Windows people windows..not a dank awful place in the basement..blee

Thank Cathystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This grand old hotel has location, location, location. A 10 minute slow walk to English Bay, Stanley Park, and the seawall. As a previous reviewer said the rooms are dated but they are updating the rooms gradually.
Customer service is excellent. Fast, courteous and helpful.
The restaurant on site is OK. 10% off of one meal while you are a guest. Don't bother with the breakfast buffet, it isn't worth it.
The underground parking is wonderful and at times you can get it thrown in with a package. That is a real deal in Vancouver.
The attached mall and small supermarket are very convenient.
We have stayed there for a number of years and we are always pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of English Bay. The view is fantastic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissESL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. :) We loved how attentive the housekeeping was in making sure, our room was made every day. :) The staff was friendly and helpful, printing out directions for us and helping us get cabs. We had a room on the 31st floor and the view BEAUTIFUL!!! Only thing we would like improvement on is the wifi. It was slow and unreliable and signal was weak from our room.

We didn't try any of the food in the hotel as the hotel itself is located perfectly among highly rated restaurants. :) Would definitely visit and stay again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper levels because the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Msfrancep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had the good fortune to be upgraded to a suite (28th floor) with spectacular views all around and more room than a couple could use. The shower didn't work but was repaired quite quickly. Biggest drawback is the very slow and unreliable internet. Biggest plus is the location - lots of good food and attractions nearby.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

For our first time in Vancouver we spent a few more bucks than we normally would on a place to put your head at night and take a shower. We didn't get in until around 7pm. The place on hotelstonight app had shown that it was available for $200 a night but didn't allow us to show how many people we had with us. We get here and find out that for 4 people we can get a suite that is on the 33rd floor and that the parking garage that is attached to the place will be an extra $25 for a total price of $260 the night. The parking garage you are allowed to stay in the following day until 6pm not check out time, which worked for us since we had a ton of place to see the following day on foot. To use the elevators you need your room key to choose what floor you need to go to. The elevators were a bit slow but at least they worked unlike the ones we had in Mexico last year. We get in our room to find the view to be spectacular. The bathroom was one small room and there was a vent in there but no place to turn it on. The vent was caked with dust and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. There was large bottles of body wash, shampoo, conditioner and a jar full of q-tips and makeup sponges to use. The full kitchen consist of a mini fridge, microwave and a bar area on top of the fridge. Ideally it would had been wise to had put a light in the small space for this area and a mirror on the back wall. The private balcony was nice, but scary due to how high we were and the railing used looked a bit rusty. We then found the AC unit was some small in room unit that sat on the floor and was on a timer of some kind. It truly was a joke it wasn't cooling the room any we did better by opening up the small windows in our room and balcony door. The double beds were big and softy as were the pillows that normally are on the small side in hotels but these were big plush pillows. Our daughter went to sleep in the sofa bed to only find that the sheets hadn't been changed in no telling how long. They were dingy and smelled horrible. We ended up stripping the bed and giving her one of the closet blankets to use. Once outside of the hotel we did find it was prime location for everything from the English Bay, to the bus that will take you to the sky train, to restaurants and 7-11 across the street. The next day we did visit the pool for a quick 45 minute swim. To get in the pool area there is a women's side and men's side that require your room key. Once you go through those doors you walk into a big dressing room with a sauna. Then you go out through another door to the pool, that was a small indoor pool that is located on P2 floor. Our daughter enjoyed the pool. The next day we left the cough bed sheets out next to our bed sheets and saw how gray they were next to the bleach white sheets on our bed and left them there in hopes the maid would get the hing they need to be cleaned for the next guest. The free WIFI was a joke it never worked for very long before it would ask for the password again. We just used our data plan instead. The view was what really paid for this room and the location. With a few renovations and a better AC this place would totally be worth the money they charge to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AMR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Loved the view, loved the access to the basement mall. Did not like having to stand and wait for 15 minutes for the elevator. We were pretty tired on arriving at the hotel after walking from the sky train with backpacks. This broken elevator business seems to be a theme with the Coast Hotel chain, as we had an experience with the Coast in Nanaimo in December that was similar. Great view from our 33rd floor suite, but just a fan in bedroom and a small air conditioner unit in living room. The décor is dated and the bathroom too small with inadequate counter space and poor lighting. All staff we interacted with were wonderful, polite and helpful. Location of this hotel will bring us back for English Bay,Stanley Park and all the great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. It is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July with family and enjoyed very much at this Coast property. Check-in was efficiency and got the 1 bedroom suite at the higher floor with nice Lion's gate bridge and English Bay view. Room is spacious with full kitchen, although the decor is a bit dated but very clean.

Concierge, Randy answered most of our questions on the next day and we did spend a very enjoyable time riding bicycle in Stanley Park.

Overall, we liked it being a well-kept building, friendly staff and working distance to so many nice restaurants on Denman street. Will certainly consider to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazda626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#43 of 92 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
2,347 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#39 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing