We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, nice accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Orchard Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Super location, nice accommodations”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our family stayed in a room with a queen bed with a pull out sofa bed. The mattress on the sofa bed was not very 'heavenly' as we were told when we made the reservation. It was nice to have a separate bedroom and living room. Room was clean and our corner room offered great views and lots of light. The location allowed us to walk to most places of interest. Overall we would stay there again bit would opt for two queen beds.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    582
    149
    59
    22
See reviews for
342
588
103
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

In a nutshell, great downtown location, easy to walk around. We had a 1 bedroom corner suite which was nice for the extra space and small walk out balcony. Being on a low floor, however, we had no view whatsoever. World's slowest elevators - at one point, guests from four rooms on our floor were all waiting to go down. The elevators also had a card swipe to access the guest floors. Good security measure but no one could ever get it to work. We would cram in the elevator on the ground floor, then one by one, guests would try swiping to no avail. When someone finally gets it blinking, a small cheer goes up and it's a mad dash to hit your floor number before the blinking stops. Regarding the concierge, she's great if you're the one she's helping. If not, well, she won't even so much as look up and acknowledge your existence. I stood there for five minutes, twice. Now, I do appear to look like a teenager but that's absolutely no excuse to ignore a customer. I've never been completely ignored by a concierge. Hugely disappointing. Another strange thing - I called to ask if there were luggage racks and whoever I talked to said the hotel has no such thing. I later found one in the closet. Weird. And as a Gold member, I thought I'd get 4pm checkout. Nope - they said 1pm was the latest they could do. No other Gold perks. Disappointing there too. On the other hand, I found the bellmen to be especially attentive and helpful. Maybe management should promote one of them to be the concierge.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Sanchang,

Thank you for sharing your review, though we are sorry to see that you encountered so many problems during your stay. We would specifically like to offer our apologies for your experience with our concierge. This is far from the warm and welcoming environment we strive to create, and we will be certain to follow up on your comments. We truly value your business as an SPG Gold member, though regretfully our availability must not have permitted us to grant you a full 4pm late check out at that time. Thank you as well for the kind comments about our bellmen, we will be sure to share those with the team.

Best regards,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Some months ago we booked two rooms - one should have three beds as we are a family of five (2 adults/3 kids). We arrived to the hotel on the 22.7 for one night. Everything was perfect. We had two rooms - one with a double bed + a single bed and one with a double bed. The rooms were not in the same floor. As we had to come back for three nights after our cruise I asked the reception to try to give us two rooms in the same floor during our next stay. She said she would try her best. When we came back, there was chaos. The male receptionist looked surprise when we asked him for two rooms in the same floor (no note has been taken of our previous request). He managed to gave us two floors in the same floor - 1107 (3 beds) and 1102 (2 beds). We asked if it was possible to get two rooms side by side and he told us that it was impossible. Ok. We left to the samll lobby while my parents checked in. As it was very early in the morning and the rooms were not ready we decided to explore Vancouver. When we came back to the hotel the receptionist gave us the keys to 1108 and 1102. We told her that we had room 1107. Then she realized that she has given our keys to my parents. That meant that we had to take all the clothes from my parents room (they are over 80 and well installed by then) and change rooms. We ended of course with rooms 1707 and 1708 and my parents in room 1702. What I do not understand is what they did not give us these two rooms when we checked in the morning. They told us that it was impossible to give us rooms side by side and then they give one of them to my parents, who checked in after us (!). Then the room with three beds had a double bed and a sofa(could be opened). When we asked why we did not get three beds as booked and requested (and as we did get in our first visit) they told us that other guests have arrived before and got the rooms with three beds. My sister had the same problem but at least she got a 50 USD compensation (I never was offered a compensation). Of course all this matter is not a big issue, but is just to show you that there is a complete desorganization at reception, something you could not expect of a 4 star hotel.
Besides that (and the elevators) the hotel is fine - good location, a very nice concierge in the ground floor and good rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oslextor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Oslextor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We understand how important it is to keep your family close together when traveling. We do our best to manage our inventory of suites, though occasionally challenges occur. Please accept apologies for the difficulties you experienced. Please feel free to contact us at guestexperienceteam@westingrandvancouver.com if your travels bring you back to Vancouver, as we would be delighted to personally assist you with your arrangements.

Best regards,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Westin Grand in Vancouver. This is a beautiful hotel with as always excellent decor in the rooms, great beds, and gigantic windows. The food in the dining room was excellent with fantastic service. The waiters are so polite and helpful. The concierge and all the staff are extremely polite. I would stay here again no question. Location is fantastic. This hotel is well managed for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear marciaLosAngeles,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us! We appreciate you and your family choosing us for your vacation and are delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Nice hotel. Was ok. But expensive for what you get. I never understand these hotel management people. They charge you internet ($15) and parking ($26) as extra. Why not just build it into the price of the room? Most people who stay at these places are upper income people anyways and would not deter them from staying there, but charging as extra does leave a bad taste in one's mouth. Only 2 small elevators for all the floors. So if you're in a hurry, get ready to get frustrated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjhkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear jjhkim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate your thoughts on our Internet and parking prices. Although we have taken care to ensure our prices are competitive among Vancouver hotels, feedback from our guests is always taken into consideration. We’re looking at your suggestion in the form of an optional packaged room rate which would ensure guests who don’t utilize parking or Internet won’t absorb additional charges. More importantly we regret that your stay was just okay; we strive to ensure each guest has an experience that stands out. We truly hope we can welcome you back, and invite you to contact us at guestexperienceteam@westingrandvancouver.com so that we can personally ensure that your stay is special and memorable.

Best Regards,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed here on business for 5 days and the customer service was excellent, the breakfast was great, the room was well decorated and equipped and the hotel had a great location. I couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed here twice with my family during my holiday. Both bookings were simply for a room for 2 adults and a child, and on both occasions we were given a suite with a separate bedroom, my daughter having the double sofa bed in the living area. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower cubicle. Two large flat screen TVs, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and sink.

The outdoor pool area is accessed via the 3rd floor, overlooking Robson street. There are only a few (maybe 10) sun loungers which is too few - 20 would be enough though based on the number of guests using it. Be aware that the pool area seemed to be constantly used for corporate events, so we would be lying by the pool whilst the event was going on. On our last day of our holiday (the only day that we had planned to stay by the pool all day), the hotel closed the pool to hotel guests and made it available for a private party. Whilst I was initially very annoyed at this, especially as we had no advance notice, the hotel response was excellent. I went to the reception who had already made plans for anyone who wanted to use the pool to be transferred by free taxi to the Westin Bayshore pool, and a return taxi as well later in the day. The Bayshore pool was better and by the sea, so we were happy with that. Only thing i would say, is it would have been nice to know this alternative was available beforehand, saving the initial annoyance.

So, my impression of the service is that it is very good, and the room standard was excellent. The lifts/elevators however, will drive you crazy! There are only 2 of them to the 30 floors of rooms and they are painfully slow. A 10 minute wait is not uncommon. All the guests were moaning about them. I think that the hotel must realise this as they have installed a tv on each floor next to the elevator, presumably to amuse the guests whilst they wait.

The location is central for the stadium, shopping, Yaletown, and most other downtown locations. We managed to lug 3 suitcases from the City Centre Sky Train station in about 10 minutes, though there are always taxis outside the hotel.

For food, there are lots of places immediately outside the hotel, including a grocery store. Yaletown is excellent for restaurants.

By the way, wireless internet is $14.95 + tax per day ! Another hotel ripping guests off. STOP DOING IT PLEASE! It should be free, in the same way the gym, pool etc are free.

Room Tip: If there are 3 or more of you and you get a basic room, simply ask for something bigger. Worked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkraving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Starkraving,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed experience. Though you encountered some challenges during your stay, we are happy to see we were able to help resolve them. We truly appreciate the comments and suggestions that you’ve shared with us, and we will be reviewing them in detail with our management team. Thanks again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Best regards,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,520 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,490 reviews
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing