We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, sloooow elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Grand Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Mos Eisley
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, sloooow elevators”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Well-located hotel (within walking distance of the Vancouver City Centre Station for the SkyTrain), with nice rooms and good A/C. The room portioning is nice -- allowing guests to minimize any noise at night by shutting the doors separating the bedroom from the remainder of the room -- as is the bathroom's heated floor. The in-room kitchen facilities (microwave, sink, etc.) were also appreciated.

As others have mentioned, the downside to the hotel is the speed of the [two] elevators. It's not just the ascent/descent speed, but the fact that it seems to take 10 seconds or so for the doors to open/close once the floor is reached. Can't Otis fix this for you??

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Longrod,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our location and your suite. The heated floors are indeed a wonderful feature. I do apologize for the elevator delays you experienced. We've looked extensively into possibilities for improving the speed, but unfortunately there are no modifications or replacements possible that would improve the speed of the elevators or the doors. I do understand how this can be frustrating when you're in a hurry, and truly appreciate your patience here.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    574
    148
    59
    22
See reviews for
339
581
103
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here in January with friends for a Canucks game.

Purchased the room on Hotwire and paid for a suite upgrade along with WIFI. Staff was very helpful and responded quickly to our requests for a fridge and small items like toothpaste and additional cutlery. The best part was the late check out of 2 PM on Sunday. Nice to be able to sleep in and grab some food before we had to head back over to the Island.

Great location to Rogers Arena, maybe about 8-10 minute away walking distance. IGA Grocery Store is about a block away along with a Tim Hortons.

Looking forward to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to upgrade to a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlosdanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ewales,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to see we provided such a great home base while you visited for a Canucks Game. The 2014/15 season is just around the corner, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, friendly & helpful staff, 25th floor accommodation worthwhile. We could walk to most things - bars, coffee shops, small supermarket, bottle shop, shopping malls. Stanley park a decent walk but worthwhile & water edge walk the other direction

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Reg,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our walkable location to see all the great sights of Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Four night stay at the end of an Alaskan cruise so we arrived about 8:00 am. The front desk staff and bell staff were so welcoming, helpful, and informative. While we had our ideas, they gave suggestions for visits and dining and told us the details of light rail. It was Pride weekend so they were extra busy but we were not bothered by noise. Suite was lovely, view of city.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! I'm pleased that we made such a positive impression during your short post-cruise stay. I hope we can welcome you back for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was truly excellent. The room, staff, concierge, dining room (we only had breakfast, but it was excellent every day), hot tub - everything was just great! It is located in the downtown area and easily accessible to most of the city. We could walk to Yaletown in minutes, and even the walk to Stanley Park only took about 20 minutes. Our only complaint was about the dinner room service menu. It seemed kind of skimpy. But all else was wonderful!

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor, and we didn't hear any sounds from outside the room or the hotel. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenaG_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear GenaG_NYC,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay, and got to see so many of Vancouver's best neighbourhoods. I appreciate your comments about our room service menu as well, and look forward to sharing those with the team.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The good: The hotel staff are great - the problems that exist are not their fault. Breakfast looked good, Wi-Fi was decent, and the pool deck was nice. The room was large and quiet with a comfortable bed, and the a/c worked well. The hotels location is within walking distance of everything.

The Bad: Why do you have to stay 50 (yes, fifty) nights a year with Starwood to get a free breakfast and Wi-Fi when the boutique hotels down the street ranks higher, charges less, and includes it automatically. Parking is insane at 30 USD per day, and room service coffee - which took 30min to get to the room - was over 20 USD. Not surprisingly, the iron was long past its useful life. The shower is very small - while the bathtub took up 25% of the restroom. The curtains and sheers need to be replaced - they were disgusting. In fact, they were just as disgusting as the last visit - covered in stains, dirt, and dust. And since they were this way the last time, I won't believe any response along the lines of "it's on the horizion...".

The Ugly: The elevators. The hotel is 31 stories tall, but serviced by only two elevators. You will wait, and wait, and wait, and wait for the elevators. It's too bad, because while the other stuff can be easily fixed, there is no way to fix that.

Needless to say, I find little to justify a stay here again.

Room Tip: a low, low floor. The 03's have the wrap around windows with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEGSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear DEGseattle,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry that there were aspects of the stay you did not enjoy. I'm not sure I understand your comment regarding "on the horizon", however I am happy to tell you that we will have a mock up suite complete in October that I will open to guests to visit and then renovations will begin in January for all the rooms (including the drapes) and the restaurants. In fact we are just completing our meeting room refurbishment.

Perhaps next time you are in town you can come and speak to me, I would be happy to show you the mock up suite (after October 15th) and discuss the other items you had issue with.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent location. Close to everything with a hop-on tour bus stop very close. Lots of restaurants, shopping nearby. Rooms are exceptional and very clean. Staff are warm, welcoming and helpful. Service is excellent on all levels. Great value. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sworrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear sworrels,

Thank you for giving us a perfect 5-star review! I'm delighted to see that your stay was perfect. We look forward to many more visits in the future!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Grand Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Grand Vancouver

Property: Westin Grand Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Grand Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Grand Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing