We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best...do NOT recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best...do NOT recommend”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The location of this hotel is quite good. The rooms are fairly nice - small - but nicely appointed. Beyond that, this is one of the most overpriced, over-rated most poorly managed hotels I've ever stayed in.
The elevators are completely unacceptable. After 3 nights, it's all you hear other guests talk about because it's such a bad experience. And everyone at the hotel says 'yes, it's just too bad we don't have another elevator'. For $300+ per night - Westin should be ashamed. Furthermore, this hotel seemed to have a 'culture' of trying to extract as much $$ from guests as possible. Yes, Vancouver is expensive, but this place will gouge you $16 for a continental breakfast that is bread and a bit of fruit. As a Starwood Platinum member I would say avoid this property at all costs, unless they bring their rates down about 50%...yes, Vancouver hotel market is hard to find rooms - but you can do much better in overall customer experience - avoid.

Room Tip: lower the better.....the elevators are so bad, you literally have to wait sometimes 15 mins to get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear MAB430,

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I'm not sure what exactly Westin should be "ashamed" of for the elevators. Westin certainly did not build the building. While there can be some wait times, we ask guests to give themselves an extra five minutes during peak times so that there is not the frustration you experienced.

I do wish your stay was a more pleasant one, we certainly never want a guest to be unhappy after their time with us.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    594
    153
    64
    23
See reviews for
352
600
106
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great Location for seeing downtown Vancouver, right on Robson street. Comfortable Westin beds as always- pool is in a cool location. (Its outdoor- so its good for the summer months) Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexbuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks Alexbuddie! I'm glad to see you got to take advantage of the outdoor saltwater pool. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Westin Grand Vancouver and were really impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff, the room, and location. The room we chose was a queen suite, which was well worth the price--it was like having a mini-apartment instead of a standard hotel room. It was very clean and comfortable. There was a sink in the bar area, as well as a full set of glasses, dishes, utensils, etc, microwave and a dishwasher. I liked having the convenience of a mini-fridge but it didn't keep our stuff that cold. The location was great, we could walk or use nearby public transit to everything we wanted to do, including Stanley Park, Gastown, Granville Island, Yaletown, etc. As others have noted, I do wish the elevators were quicker- there are only two so you have to be patient waiting around in the lobby to go up to your room. If/when I return to Vancouver I'll definitely stay at the Westin Grand again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrn1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us lrn1030! I'm glad to see you had such a memorable stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mos Eisley
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Well-located hotel (within walking distance of the Vancouver City Centre Station for the SkyTrain), with nice rooms and good A/C. The room portioning is nice -- allowing guests to minimize any noise at night by shutting the doors separating the bedroom from the remainder of the room -- as is the bathroom's heated floor. The in-room kitchen facilities (microwave, sink, etc.) were also appreciated.

As others have mentioned, the downside to the hotel is the speed of the [two] elevators. It's not just the ascent/descent speed, but the fact that it seems to take 10 seconds or so for the doors to open/close once the floor is reached. Can't Otis fix this for you??

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Longrod,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our location and your suite. The heated floors are indeed a wonderful feature. I do apologize for the elevator delays you experienced. We've looked extensively into possibilities for improving the speed, but unfortunately there are no modifications or replacements possible that would improve the speed of the elevators or the doors. I do understand how this can be frustrating when you're in a hurry, and truly appreciate your patience here.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here in January with friends for a Canucks game.

Purchased the room on Hotwire and paid for a suite upgrade along with WIFI. Staff was very helpful and responded quickly to our requests for a fridge and small items like toothpaste and additional cutlery. The best part was the late check out of 2 PM on Sunday. Nice to be able to sleep in and grab some food before we had to head back over to the Island.

Great location to Rogers Arena, maybe about 8-10 minute away walking distance. IGA Grocery Store is about a block away along with a Tim Hortons.

Looking forward to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to upgrade to a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlosdanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ewales,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to see we provided such a great home base while you visited for a Canucks Game. The 2014/15 season is just around the corner, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, friendly & helpful staff, 25th floor accommodation worthwhile. We could walk to most things - bars, coffee shops, small supermarket, bottle shop, shopping malls. Stanley park a decent walk but worthwhile & water edge walk the other direction

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Reg,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our walkable location to see all the great sights of Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MN
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Four night stay at the end of an Alaskan cruise so we arrived about 8:00 am. The front desk staff and bell staff were so welcoming, helpful, and informative. While we had our ideas, they gave suggestions for visits and dining and told us the details of light rail. It was Pride weekend so they were extra busy but we were not bothered by noise. Suite was lovely, view of city.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! I'm pleased that we made such a positive impression during your short post-cruise stay. I hope we can welcome you back for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,609 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing