We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,938 results
Traveller rating
1,021
649
172
69
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
649
172
69
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heavenly bed public library robson street corner suite living room bc place self parking tim hortons floor to ceiling windows outdoor pool liquor store rogers arena central location few blocks coffee maker the heart of the city mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,938 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The location of this hotel is quite good. The rooms are fairly nice - small - but nicely appointed. Beyond that, this is one of the most overpriced, over-rated most poorly managed hotels I've ever stayed in.
The elevators are completely unacceptable. After 3 nights, it's all you hear other guests talk about because it's such a bad experience. And everyone at the hotel says 'yes, it's just too bad we don't have another elevator'. For $300+ per night - Westin should be ashamed. Furthermore, this hotel seemed to have a 'culture' of trying to extract as much $$ from guests as possible. Yes, Vancouver is expensive, but this place will gouge you $16 for a continental breakfast that is bread and a bit of fruit. As a Starwood Platinum member I would say avoid this property at all costs, unless they bring their rates down about 50%...yes, Vancouver hotel market is hard to find rooms - but you can do much better in overall customer experience - avoid.

Room Tip: lower the better.....the elevators are so bad, you literally have to wait sometimes 15 mins to get one....it's absolutely unbelievable.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear MAB430,

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I'm not sure what exactly Westin should be "ashamed" of for the elevators. Westin certainly did not build the building. While there can be some wait times, we ask guests to give themselves an extra five minutes during peak times so that there is not the frustration you experienced.

I do wish your stay was a more pleasant one, we certainly never want a guest to be unhappy after their time with us.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great Location for seeing downtown Vancouver, right on Robson street. Comfortable Westin beds as always- pool is in a cool location. (Its outdoor- so its good for the summer months) Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexbuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks Alexbuddie! I'm glad to see you got to take advantage of the outdoor saltwater pool. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Westin Grand Vancouver and were really impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff, the room, and location. The room we chose was a queen suite, which was well worth the price--it was like having a mini-apartment instead of a standard hotel room. It was very clean and comfortable. There was a sink in the bar area, as well as a full set of glasses, dishes, utensils, etc, microwave and a dishwasher. I liked having the convenience of a mini-fridge but it didn't keep our stuff that cold. The location was great, we could walk or use nearby public transit to everything we wanted to do, including Stanley Park, Gastown, Granville Island, Yaletown, etc. As others have noted, I do wish the elevators were quicker- there are only two so you have to be patient waiting around in the lobby to go up to your room. If/when I return to Vancouver I'll definitely stay at the Westin Grand again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lrn1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us lrn1030! I'm glad to see you had such a memorable stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Well-located hotel (within walking distance of the Vancouver City Centre Station for the SkyTrain), with nice rooms and good A/C. The room portioning is nice -- allowing guests to minimize any noise at night by shutting the doors separating the bedroom from the remainder of the room -- as is the bathroom's heated floor. The in-room kitchen facilities (microwave, sink, etc.) were also appreciated.

As others have mentioned, the downside to the hotel is the speed of the [two] elevators. It's not just the ascent/descent speed, but the fact that it seems to take 10 seconds or so for the doors to open/close once the floor is reached. Can't Otis fix this for you??

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Longrod,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our location and your suite. The heated floors are indeed a wonderful feature. I do apologize for the elevator delays you experienced. We've looked extensively into possibilities for improving the speed, but unfortunately there are no modifications or replacements possible that would improve the speed of the elevators or the doors. I do understand how this can be frustrating when you're in a hurry, and truly appreciate your patience here.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here in January with friends for a Canucks game.

Purchased the room on Hotwire and paid for a suite upgrade along with WIFI. Staff was very helpful and responded quickly to our requests for a fridge and small items like toothpaste and additional cutlery. The best part was the late check out of 2 PM on Sunday. Nice to be able to sleep in and grab some food before we had to head back over to the Island.

Great location to Rogers Arena, maybe about 8-10 minute away walking distance. IGA Grocery Store is about a block away along with a Tim Hortons.

Looking forward to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to upgrade to a higher level room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karlosdanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear ewales,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to see we provided such a great home base while you visited for a Canucks Game. The 2014/15 season is just around the corner, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews