We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Grand Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin Grand Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was my first time in Vancouver.
My partner had stay there before so we decide to stay there.
Nice hotel, but room could be a little bit uddated but it was still nice.
Free wifi.
I had the mountain view !!! you should ask for this.

Room Tip: ask for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for staying with us Maxime! I'm glad you enjoyed the view!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    560
    146
    59
    21
See reviews for
335
569
100
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here after a cruise & there was no issue with early check in which gave us the opportunity to get changed and freshen up & spend a full day in Vancouver checking out the sites. Conceirge were beyond helpful & accommodating. Great location for sightseeing buses, shops & restaurants. Room was great, separate spaces for bathroom, sitting room and bedroom, just comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was lovely the next morning. We really enjoyed our time here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank May0Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review May0Lass! It sounds like you had a fantastic stay, we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorville, NY
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed 4 days after an Alaskan Cruise in a Queen Suite. Location is great, central to most attractions and transit. Within walking distance to many. The room is nice - separate bedroom, kitchenette, waterfall shower etc. Our biggest problem was the room location. The outside pool area is located on the 3rd floor. Our room was on the 7th floor overlooking the pool and patio area. On both Friday and Saturday there were "pop-up parties" at the pool with DJ. The loud noise and constant beat from the music made the stay unbearable. Hotel was booked solid, no chance to change room. Try to get a room above the 10th floor if possible if you are on the pool side.

The kitchenette has a fridge but it is not turned on. It keeps the contents at room temperature. Not sure why its even there. They did bring up a mini fridge so we could keep milk and other foods cold when we inquired.

There are only 2 elevators, wait times can be long.

Nice restaurant in hotel but did not visit.

Room Tip: Don't stay above pool area due to noise. They rent space for parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhoffmann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear jhoffmann3,

Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that you were disturbed by our "pop up patio" that runs from 5pm to 9pm on Thursday and Friday when the weather permits. This is a fun meeting place for our guests to enjoy some social time and great food & drinks. We do have a DJ playing some music, however we rarely get complaints as the timing is such where most people will be out enjoying the city or dinner. We can certainly accommodate you on a different side of the hotel if you return to us in the future.

I'm glad that there were some areas of the hotel that you enjoyed.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The location of this hotel is quite good. The rooms are fairly nice - small - but nicely appointed. Beyond that, this is one of the most overpriced, over-rated most poorly managed hotels I've ever stayed in.
The elevators are completely unacceptable. After 3 nights, it's all you hear other guests talk about because it's such a bad experience. And everyone at the hotel says 'yes, it's just too bad we don't have another elevator'. For $300+ per night - Westin should be ashamed. Furthermore, this hotel seemed to have a 'culture' of trying to extract as much $$ from guests as possible. Yes, Vancouver is expensive, but this place will gouge you $16 for a continental breakfast that is bread and a bit of fruit. As a Starwood Platinum member I would say avoid this property at all costs, unless they bring their rates down about 50%...yes, Vancouver hotel market is hard to find rooms - but you can do much better in overall customer experience - avoid.

Room Tip: lower the better.....the elevators are so bad, you literally have to wait sometimes 15 mins to get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear MAB430,

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I'm not sure what exactly Westin should be "ashamed" of for the elevators. Westin certainly did not build the building. While there can be some wait times, we ask guests to give themselves an extra five minutes during peak times so that there is not the frustration you experienced.

I do wish your stay was a more pleasant one, we certainly never want a guest to be unhappy after their time with us.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great Location for seeing downtown Vancouver, right on Robson street. Comfortable Westin beds as always- pool is in a cool location. (Its outdoor- so its good for the summer months) Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexbuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks Alexbuddie! I'm glad to see you got to take advantage of the outdoor saltwater pool. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Westin Grand Vancouver and were really impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff, the room, and location. The room we chose was a queen suite, which was well worth the price--it was like having a mini-apartment instead of a standard hotel room. It was very clean and comfortable. There was a sink in the bar area, as well as a full set of glasses, dishes, utensils, etc, microwave and a dishwasher. I liked having the convenience of a mini-fridge but it didn't keep our stuff that cold. The location was great, we could walk or use nearby public transit to everything we wanted to do, including Stanley Park, Gastown, Granville Island, Yaletown, etc. As others have noted, I do wish the elevators were quicker- there are only two so you have to be patient waiting around in the lobby to go up to your room. If/when I return to Vancouver I'll definitely stay at the Westin Grand again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrn1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us lrn1030! I'm glad to see you had such a memorable stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mos Eisley
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Well-located hotel (within walking distance of the Vancouver City Centre Station for the SkyTrain), with nice rooms and good A/C. The room portioning is nice -- allowing guests to minimize any noise at night by shutting the doors separating the bedroom from the remainder of the room -- as is the bathroom's heated floor. The in-room kitchen facilities (microwave, sink, etc.) were also appreciated.

As others have mentioned, the downside to the hotel is the speed of the [two] elevators. It's not just the ascent/descent speed, but the fact that it seems to take 10 seconds or so for the doors to open/close once the floor is reached. Can't Otis fix this for you??

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Longrod,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our location and your suite. The heated floors are indeed a wonderful feature. I do apologize for the elevator delays you experienced. We've looked extensively into possibilities for improving the speed, but unfortunately there are no modifications or replacements possible that would improve the speed of the elevators or the doors. I do understand how this can be frustrating when you're in a hurry, and truly appreciate your patience here.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Grand Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Grand Vancouver

Property: Westin Grand Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Grand Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Grand Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing