We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedgewood is marvelous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, WA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Wedgewood is marvelous”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We have been staying at the Wedgewood every few years since around 1990, and it has delighted us every time. The location is excellent, with Robson St right around the corner, and the Bill Reid Foundation's gallery and the Vancouver Art Gallery (don't miss the special exhibit on Surrealist Art and its connections to the art of NW coast peoples) right down the street. Taxis in Vancouver are a bargain and easy to find, so it's simple to get to and from restaurants and more distant shops.

The staff at the front desk are superb, cheerfully fulfilling special requests, giving excellent recommendations on touristic activities, and handling suggestions and reservations for restaurants with complete accuracy. They also adjust their information depending on how much the guest already knows about a subject - so much nicer than being recited a standard "script".

The junior suites with balcony are spacious, well-decorated and functional. The box of Daniel chocolates and the nightly fresh cookies were delicious! Although our bathroom was not large, it had a fine soaking tub.

We ate breakfast each morning at Bacchus and had exceptional service from the waitstaff. Eggs Benedict with crab cakes really can't be improved upon! It is also really pleasant to sit at the table in the front corner on a sunny summer Saturday when the floor-to-ceiling windows are open. For a completely different experience, have Christmas dinner there - we did that in 2006, and it was wonderful!

I can't imagine staying anywhere other than the Wedgewood while in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    195
    47
    23
    9
See reviews for
230
898
88
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at the Wedgewood after a two week vacation to Alaska. We had one night in Vancouver before our flight east VERY early the next day. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room available well before 12 noon, Stanley Park within walking distance and a wonderful exhibit at the Vancouver Art Gallery. The bonus was dinner at the Bacchus Restaurant and Lounge. The salmon was the best we had on our trip!
Our departure at 3:30 am (to catch a 6am flight) was flawless, as the cab driver arrived 5 minutes early. Although we did not have time to enjoy any of the spa amenities, we look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCHoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed in March 2010 but not an option on menu bar above for a review that old - Just revisiting old pics so thought I should review hotel - great location - great staff - great food - not cheap

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Very nice hotel. Good sized room, which seemed to have been recently refurbished. Bathroom looked new. Good location, close to the main shopping area and walkable to everything. Good restaurant recommendations from the staff. Nice bar and restaurant in the hotel, too. Seemed more intimate and friendly than the other top-end hotels in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is an excellent European-style hotel in Vancouver. It was a repeat visit and the positive views we formed on our previous visits were enhanced. Front desk staff were more than helpful, especially when we left some clothing behind which was found and sent to us very efficiently. The location is excellent, sufficiently away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk everywhere in the centre.
The room, a junior suite, was large and very comfortable with separate living and sleeping areas. The biscuits at turndown are a small sign of the delicate touches that the hotel provides. All-in-all another good visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I discovered the Wedgewood here on TripAdvisor around three months ago and have since stayed there four times for a variety of reasons and with a different mix of rooms. This hotel has quickly become my preferred Hotel when I visit Vancouver, knocking Sutton Place, The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and Hyatt out of my top preferred Hotels in the area.

The location is perfect! With some of my favourite restaurants all around (The Bellagio or Cactus club for casual and quick, Don Francesco's for a Risotto, Starbucks or Tim's for Coffee...the list goes on!) and Pacific Centre, chapters, and other Robson street shopping just a block away. The Skytrain is your link to everything entertainment and is just a block in either direction.

The staff is exceptional. Friendly, bright, chatty, helpful, and genuinely pleasant to talk to. Above all the staff at the Wedgewood is what makes this hotel so very different from others in the area. Most hotels you just want to get through the lobby and to your room with maybe the odd exception to the rule; here at the Wedgewood we find ourselves linger in the lobby to chat with the Valet, Concierge, or desk staff for a moment or two. When you return from an outing they want to know how it was? What did you find at the shops or how was the hockey game?

With the Wedgewood I always feel like I'm visiting family, and the box of chocolates at check-in and nightly turn down service with a bottle of water and some cookies sure does help that along!

If I could change one thing about the Wedgewood I would take two of their fabulous beds and make a two bedroom suite!

Room Tip: I find that the wegewood hotel website has the best prices generally
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JannaG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Downtown hotel - but quaint and boutique like. Great staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaidrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,018 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,819 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,554 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Property: Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa is one of the city's leading luxury downtown hotels. Located amidst the gardens and waterfalls of the fashionable Robson Square in the heart of Vancouver's thriving cosmopolitan core, the Wedgewood has become a true landmark. It is the only member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux Group in Vancouver, a collection of the finest hotels and restaurants around the world. Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Châteaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing