We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

A touch of class in Downtown Vancouver. Charming, small hotel with friendly, efficient staff in very convenient location. Sit by the firesides in the lobby or breakfast room. Good sized rooms with comfy beds and well-appointed bathroom suites. Traditional decor and quiet ambiance gives hotel an English feel. Room upgrades not impossible! Car valet service prompt. On 2nd visit staff knew our names and we were greeted like old friends. Now we won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors facing Burrard - nice and quiet. Always check if upgrades possible and whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djangoGibsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly porter, who I think was called Corey (So sorry if I got your name wrong) and a very helpful receptionist, Sue (Likewise). We were informed we had been given an upgrade and shown to our room on the 11th floor with lovely city views. The room had a bath in the actual bedroom, which I think is really weird but maybe North Americans go in for that sort of thing. We had free wifi and a lovely little balcony to go out onto and enjoy the view. We were there in January and the room was nice and cosy even though it was quite cold outside with night frosts. We went down to the spa for a look and the fitness room was well equipped but we were a bit disappointed to find out there was no pool but you can't have everything. The Hotel is 2 minutes walk from Granville Street, the main shopping street and about a 20 minute walk to the tourist area of Gastown. It is not far about 5 mins walk from Davie Village either which is cool and trendy and really popular with us gays.
The breakfast was ok. It was served rather than buffet in the adjoining Bacchus Bar. To be honest it was really sugary and unhealthy but so much food is in North America anyway. Danish pastries, croissants, that kind of thing. Tasted nice but didnt go back the next day. The staff were really nice and friendly and cheerful, maybe a bit too much so for first thing in the morning or is that me just being a grump?
We tried to get a late checkout as our flight was not until 8pm but the hotel was full. In spite of this Sue still gave us an extra hour, which was very nice of her. The bed was mega-comfy slept like a log and the TV had hundreds of channels on it but they were nearly all adverts so we gave up on that. The wifi is included which is great. The Wedgewood staff are brilliant and the hotel lives up to its five stars. I would definitely go there again if ever I was in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This boutique gem in the heart of downtown delivers on it all: value, quality and proximity. As a business traveller, I stay all over the world - and this is one of the best. My priorities are superfast, reliable and free internet (this hotels was THE best and gratis), good beds and soundproofing, great onsite restaurant and being close to the action. The Wedgewood delivers on all these but so much more.... The staff are exemplary - courteous, but friendly and thoughtful too. I could get checked in at 8am before my meetings, received chocolates on my first night and they called me by name throughout my stay.

In choosing the Wedgewood over the many nearby huge upscale 'name' chain-hotels, you compromise nothing and get a whole lot more. Kudos to the staff of the Wedgewood - who know exactly what their business customers want but also what they need when away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amc48c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We went for New Years Eve with another couple. Had a fabulous time. The rooms are well appointed and all the staff we encountered really want to provide the best possible service. The value for the rooms is amazing. The spa was so good my wife went twice.

Room Tip: Get a Wedgewood Suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at the hotel for New year's Eve. What a lovely experience. The staff is the friendliest in the business and we travel a lot!
Bacchus bar is such a wonderful spot.
This hotel is a delight.

Chris and Thea Upchurch

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa is situated in the center of town and is convenient to wherever you want to go. The staff are outstanding and the rooms are attractive in a very English way and are very comfortable. We love the home baked cookies every evening. We can't say enough good things about the staff. They are very professional, capable and nice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zyzyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I go to Vancouver quite often on business, the last hotel I stayed at which I am not even going to waste my time in a review (it was that bad) The Sheraton Wall Center Vancouver if you must know. After a cold and miserable experience at the Sheraton I decided to change hotels in the same area, did a googlemaps search and found the Wedgewood. From my arriving at 2 a.m from the airport they had everything ready for me to just head on to my room and be comfy, the room was super warm and cozy, beautiful bathtub in the room with separated shower and toilet. They have really thought out every single detail that makes your stay away from home a wonderful one! They leave you warm cookies with a note every night, the towels where soft and nice to the touch (hotels usually have crappy sand paper like towels), they thought of every little thing like a dimmer light right in your bedside in case you want to read, to iPod dock radio alarm, you can control the TV with an iphone App if you so wish to do that. They have a balcony with nice chairs and ashtrays in case you smoke and don't want to feel like a criminal cold person standing out in the rain. The view at night was very beautiful with all the lit trees, then at breakfast throughout the week I had pistachio danishes, mmmm small and perfect! I also had a berry yogurt very nice. But my favorite one was the Canadian Salmon scrambled eggs with a latte and fresh squeezed orange juice, the salmon was just unreal, super fresh and delicious, it melted in my mouth.. Plus having the breakfast in front of the fire place just made things even better. Everyone in the staff was polite, gracious, ready to come to your needs at any given moment... And going back on the details of the room, you have lots of space to put your clothes, you can iron, you can use their ropes and slippers (super comfy), lots of light, you also have a mini kitchen where you can keep perishables in the fridge, microwave things and make yourself some hot coffee or tea. It is walking distance to a lot of good restaurants and shops, plus super close to bars in the downtown area. I am actually thinking of bringing my mom and son here since I know they will love it. I didn't use any of the Spa options though I wished I had because it looked so nice! But I did try out the fitness center, it is spacious, lots of machines, they have water and towels, and I had a really good workout. Oh yeah! They also have really neat umbrellas for you to use in your room closet since it rains quite a lot in Vancouver. Overall it was a great experience, I will stay here in all my upcoming business trips to Vancouver for sure! Hope my review helps your decision.

Room Tip: I think any room is great, but depends are you traveling alone or with Family? Are you a smoker or n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,040 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,212 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
2,820 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £138 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa is one of the city's leading luxury downtown hotels. Located amidst the gardens and waterfalls of the fashionable Robson Square in the heart of Vancouver's thriving cosmopolitan core, the Wedgewood has become a true landmark. It is the only member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux Group in Vancouver, a collection of the finest hotels and restaurants around the world. Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Châteaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing