We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmth and comfort at the Wedgewood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Warmth and comfort at the Wedgewood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

LOCATION: Couldn’t be better. A couple of blocks to the great shops and restaurants of Robson Street. Walkable to Gastown, the waterfront, Roger’s Arena, Queen Elizabeth Theatre and BC Place.

There was a Starbucks just a couple of doors down, making an easy and affordable option for breakfast (although the hotel’s Bacchus lounge/restaurant looked utterly charming.)

ROOMS: Not huge, but lovely and with everything you need. There were only eight rooms on our 9th floor. The wi-fi was free, but sometimes slow. Hall noise occasionally a problem.

My sister, our two daughters and I reserved a room with two double beds. We would have preferred two queen beds but that wasn’t an option. Fortunately, we got a free upgrade to a one-bedroom suite. My daughter slept on the comfortable pull-out couch in the living room and the rest of us shared the two double beds in the bedroom. The beds were pushed together almost like one enormous king-sized bed. This worked fine for us, but the four of us in the two doubles would have been tight!

The bathroom was spacious with a large shower and a big soaking tub. They had generous portions of soaps, shampoos and other toiletries. We had four cozy bathrobes and disposable slippers, too.

A nice-sized box of chocolates awaited us in our room at check-in. This complimentary gift made our female quartet exceptionally happy.

We had a huge outdoor patio with two chairs and a small table, making a nice place for breakfast.

We enjoyed the efficient housekeeping and evening turn-down service with cookies and bottled water. Need a couple extra pillows or somebody to make up your pull-out couch? Our call instantly delivered a staff member.

VALET: Such fun to be greeted by the smiling valets out front! One even wore a top hat. We stayed only two nights, but everyone seemed to know us at the door and the front desk right away. The staff seemed exceptionally friendly and eager to please.

PARKING: No problem--they grabbed our bags and whisked our car away before we knew it. The parking fee was $19 per night. (With tax and fees, our room totaled about $300 per night for the four of us, not counting the parking.)

AMENITIES: We checked out the spacious gym with plenty of modern equipment. Off the gym we found a large, leafy terrace with several outdoor tables.

Down the hall there was a small but efficient business office with computer and fax machine. We didn’t use the spa, but it smelled and looked inviting.

OVERALL: The Wedgewood has all the advantages and class of any big high-end hotel, but with the charm and warmth of a smaller place. I’ve stayed at Vancouver’s Hyatt for business many times. This trip was for pleasure and we picked the Wedgewood. I preferred the Wedgewood, hands-down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArtistJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    181
    45
    23
    7
See reviews for
201
794
80
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is warm, welcoming and excellent in every regard. We checked in late but there was still a full desk staff on duty and a doorman. Suite was lovely, beautifully appointed. Every detail was perfect. The complimentary breakfast served in the lounge was excellent. We had cappucinos, granola parfait, juice and a pastry choice. Service staff was extraordinary...friendly, polite and prompt. We highly reommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Forget the Fairmont which is a block away & stay here instead. Great rooms, all with balconies and every amenity. Service here is extraordinary. Bar, restaurant & room service all excellent. Great location.

Room Tip: Rooms in front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vallery Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
459 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

stayed in april 2013 for three nights. everything was great. room had small balcony. clean. older, but very well kept. charming. great restaurant and bar in lobby. service excellent. comfy bed. good central location to walk to everything in downtown. would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent 2 nights in early Spring. The room was very comfortable, we had a balcony overlooking Robson Square which was great. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect to experience all that downtown Vancouver has to offer. Just a few minutes walk to Yaletown, the West End, Robson Street and the Harbour. All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Everything about the hotel is magnificent from the Bell Staff to Front Desk staff, suite, meals and location! Dinner and Breakfast in the Bacchus were superb.

Regretfully, we were very very disappointed in the Dual Massage treatment. The RMT's were unengaging and the massages were very so-so. We told the receptionist that it fell below our expectations and her response was barely apologetic.

Stay for location, stay for the ambiance and food. Stay away from the SPA!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I recently spent one night at the Wedgewood and it was an amazing experience from the valet parking on arrival to the hassle-free express checkout at the end. This hotel obviously places a very high priority on customer service and guest comfort. Each member of the staff was warm and courteous, the service was impeccable in every way, and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The complimentary luxury chocolates and the fresh cookies and bottled water at turndown were wonderful too! Bacchus lounge in the hotel is a beautiful spot for a cocktail or a celebratory glass of bubbly. Stay at the Wedgewood! You will feel like royalty!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Property: Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa is one of the city's leading luxury downtown hotels. Located amidst the gardens and waterfalls of the fashionable Robson Square in the heart of Vancouver's thriving cosmopolitan core, the Wedgewood has become a true landmark. It is the only member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux Group in Vancouver, a collection of the finest hotels and restaurants around the world. Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Châteaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing