We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shortsighted policy - Spa inadequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shortsighted policy - Spa inadequate”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We booked the Wedgewood for 4 nights at $350+ per night. After the first night in Vancouver, we wanted to cancel the last night to stay overnight in Victoria. They refused to allow the cancellation even though the request was made 36 hours in advance. Their policy is 48 hour cancel notice. This ridgid adhereance to the 48 hour policy even after staying 3 nights put a negative spin on our trip.

The spa is very small and cramped. My wife was told she could not enter the steam room since there were two people already in there and there was no room. Getting a spa appointment was difficult and we had to rearrange our schedule to fit into theirs. There were very limited night appointments. The excersize room can only fit 2 to 3 people at once.

On the one day we were staying around the hotel the maid did not come till 4pm even though I called the front desk at 2:30 and requested the room be cleaned ASAP.

The on-site restaurant/bar is nice but very expensive as are the spa treatments.

The location of the Wedgewood is excellent. You are close to public transportation which is simple and frequent. Do not get exited about the balcony, it overlooks an alley. Definitly use the Skytrain from the airport to downtown, it is no problem even with luggage.

Overall, for the price, there are many alternatives in downtown Vancouver which would provide a better experience than the Wedgewood.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank den4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    187
    45
    23
    9
See reviews for
211
843
83
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights and loved it. Everyone working at the hotel was friendly and happy to help with anything we needed. I've never encountered a hotel where everyone - from the doormen to housekeeping - seemed so pleased to have you as a guest.

Our room was large and had a nice balcony. They have nice touches like daily bottled water, free wi-fi and cookies at turndown service. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the bar was very nice and seemed to be a popular place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My husband and I checked into the hotel late in the evening. We were given a lovely suite, very well appointed on the 8th floor of the front side of the hotel and settled in for a 4 night stay. The first morning was quiet and we enjoyed our day in Vancouver. The hotel is near a nice market, movie theater, Robson street shopping and plenty of good restaurants. Unfortunately, the second morning, I awoke at 7am due to jackhammer noise along with the beep beep beep that construction equipment makes when backing up and general construction noise. There is a large construction project across the street from the hotel so be aware of that. When asked if we could move to something quieter, we were told they get complaints about garbage trucks coming at 5am at the back of the hotel but they would show us another room higher up on the front side. We tried the 11th floor, but the noise was not any better so checked out and went to another hotel down the street. To their credit, they did not penalize us for checking out early due to the problem with the noise. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very nice, but I do wish they had told us about the construction. I would recommend this hotel to anyone once construction is complete so check first. My ratings of value and sleep quality are due entirely on the basis of the construction noise, otherwise they would have been higher.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finickytraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I traveled to Vancouver with four girlfriends and we stayed in a one-bedroom suite at the Wedgewood. They had the nicest hotel staff I have ever experienced! The concierge gave us several good restaurant recommendations (Brix in Yaletown, Go Fish - Granville Island) and made reservations for us. Every time we went to ask the staff anything they seemed to know what we needed before we even asked and had an answer or solution ready. The room was ready for us early when we arrived and after our stay, they let us keep our car at the hotel after we checked out so that we could do extra site-seeing and shopping. The room was exactly as promised, comfortable beds, huge shower, etc. Also, a perfect central location in downtown Vancouver - we walked everywhere. I will stay here again next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Luxury in Downtown Vancouver.
Close to all amenities, without the hassle of the noise.
The best restaurant around.
Their Spa is one of the best in the city.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anamariasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We don't often get to stay in a hotel, and we are picky about where we stay, because of chemical allergies--but we got a good deal at the Wedgewood, and it was great. I love that they have hypoallergenic sheets and bedding. At some hotels you can smell the bleach in the towels, but not here thankfully. Everything about the hotel is well kept and it has a very boutique character, and it was nice to have the soaker tub outside of the bathroom. And of course the spa, restaurant and location also made the stay better. We've stayed twice in the past couple years, and definitely want to go again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinefun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

This hotel would have to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The location was very central to the city, the room was very large with a nice big spa bath, the bed would have to be one of the more comfortable beds we've slept in. There was not one staff member that did not go our of their way to welcome, make us feel at home, answer all of our questions whilst making suggestions also. This truly is a real "gem" of a hotel & it really enhanced our first impressions of Vancouver / Canada. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,715 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,882 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,461 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Property: Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa is one of the city's leading luxury downtown hotels. Located amidst the gardens and waterfalls of the fashionable Robson Square in the heart of Vancouver's thriving cosmopolitan core, the Wedgewood has become a true landmark. It is the only member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux Group in Vancouver, a collection of the finest hotels and restaurants around the world. Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Châteaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing