We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NEVER go again”
Review of Cafe One

Cafe One
Ranked #498 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$26
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Granville Street
Description: For that sublime dining experience, Café One is a showcase of the designs of contemporary Canadian glass artist "Martha Sturdy." Her elliptical chandeliers hang overhead, lighting the stage for a memorable meal.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will NEVER go again”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had reservations for 7pm on a saturday night. When the hostess finally came to greet us, she said she'd be back in a minute. There was a line up of 5 other couples and a 3/4 empty restaurant. Our hostess looked lost and confused - took her 10 minutes to seat us. Took another 15 minutes to bring us menus. We had to ask for water and to place our order. We asked if there was something wrong and she said they were not expecting so many customers. Really 5 couples is a lot of people?? Most of us had reservations. After half and hour and zero service, we left the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service but poor selection”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

I ate here twice in October 2012 on both occasions the service was first class. Sadly the menu is not that extensive.

What I did eat was fine but very expensive for what it was.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troyzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
627 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
“Poor Experience. Average Food”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If I rated this hotel restaurant purely on my own experience it would have gotten a "poor". But since my buddy Mike ate there several times and had no complaints I bumped it up to average bsed on the larger sample. We went there for lunch. They were impossibly understaffed. The wait for a table was endless and the woman seating us was hapless. A woman in front of us on line just wanted a tomato soup to go and when the maitre d' finally stopped looking through her she was told that she couldn't take out soup because they had "no containers". So she sat down with us though she really needed to rush back to the conference. Our orginal table of 3 swelled to 5 including the tomato soup lady and another colleague who joined us because he was tired of waiting in line. At least this gave us a wide variety of food to sample...typical fare...salads, soups seafood, meat, burgers (Wow: $18 dollars Canadian for a cheeseburger)....all average. They won't give you a burger medium or even medium well (Some kind of health rule) so you have to be content with an overcooked average, humungously expensive cheeseburger.The waiter was nice, but he forgot to bring whole items that were ordered, yet they showed up on the bill. At least he didn't scowl when he had to remove then from the check. Again, I wouldn't get on the waiter too much as they were just so understaffed for a busy Friday afternoon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel restaurant - Cafe One - is in the main hotel building. We had breakfast there twice, and were impressed both times. The french toast is fantastic! Very good service and great food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel bar”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Excellent food, decent assortment of beers and good service makes this place one to return to. But, it is stil a hotel bar, albeit a good one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viskari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe One also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing