We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this B & B for your stay in Vancouver”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Ranked #6 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, Washington
1 review
“Choose this B & B for your stay in Vancouver”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My husband and I came to Vancouver last weekend for two days for a last-minute sightseeing trip. My husband comes to Vancouver often for work and stays in larger hotels in the city, but I wanted something with a little more ambience. We could not have been more pleased with our time at the Bee and Thistle. Everything written in previous reviews about the food is true - amazingly presented and wonderful to eat. Lynn and Michael obviously love to cook and take great pride in the food they present. We stayed in the Ivy room, which was very comfortable and had everything to suit our needs. The Commercial District, where the Inn is located, has several nice restaurants and quaint shops and is an easy 5-10 minute drive from downtown.

Frankly, what makes this place truly worth staying at are Lynn and Michael. They are an absolutely lovely couple. On our last morning, we stayed for over 1 1/2 after we were done eating just chatting with them. Their priority is that people staying with them are comfortable and have everything they need. It is obvious that they love with they are doing and I predict that their business will only increase as word gets around. We had no trouble booking last minute, just because we visited off-season, but I have a feeling that would not be the case during the peak season.

I can honestly say that it is an excellent value, given the quality of the breakfast, etc. I have already recommended this Inn to my friends and family, and we absolutely plan on coming back. Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephbelieres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
204
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2010

The inn keepers were "bend over backwards" accommodating, and the breakfast was generous and delicious. It didn't feel like a hotel or an inn, but instead felt more like visiting our favorite aunt and uncle, but without the nosy questions :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanderMeyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Bee & Thistle for a brief, two night visit to Vancouver. Lynn and Michael were fantastic hosts -- I honestly couldn't imagine a more perfect experience. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was completely appointed and had the most comfortable hotel/b&b bed that we've ever slept on.

The breakfasts really are as magnificent as the photos show. Read the other reviews posted here. At the time of this post, not one review is rated less than "5" for very good reason. We can't wait to return. We travel regularly and there is no other hotel or b&b that we would recommend more.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoatNamedEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Vancouver
It won’t be long before this B&B is rated No. 1 in Vancouver. In a word - outstanding. The room was extremely comfortable, and thoughtfully and tastefully decorated. The bed was probably the best and most comfortable we have ever slept in. However, this was not the difference between this and other B&B’s. The difference is Lynn and Michael who are the most wonderful hosts you could ever wish for. Michael is extremely helpful and goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcome – nothing is too much trouble. Lynn’s breakfasts are absolutely incredible. The presentation is so stunning that guests bring their cameras to breakfast and the discussion around the quality of the breakfast is a great ice breaker. It does not end there though. The food is absolutely delicious and anyone that eats lunch on the same day must have one hell of an appetite! We were fortunate enough to share a bottle of wine (or was it 2 or 3?) with Lynn and Michael, and found them to be extremely warm and open people who anyone would be proud to call friends. In a practical sense, this B&B is in an excellent location no more than 5km from downtown and easy walking distance to public transport and a number of good restaurants in Commercial Drive. One tip – be sure to book well in advance to secure your chance to stay in this gem.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Everything about our three-night stay was exceptional - the room with super comfortable bed, the immaculate bath, the complimentary snacks in our room, the notebook computer for our use, the friendliness and caring of Lynn and Michael - all combined to make it a visit to remember. Of special note were the exquisite breakfasts (so generous that they provided us with our lunches). The food and its presentation were truly outstanding. We long to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Stayed at the bee and thistle for a week in Sept 2010. The owners were on holiday but we were looked after fantastically by their daughter instead

The place is great really nice rooms, lovely bathroom and brilliant shower. It's in a perfect place outside of down town a couple of blocks from commercial drive which for us was one of the highlights of Vancouver! Great atmosphere, great places to eat and plenty to keep you interested.

Overall we had a great stay, breakfast was fantastic as others have said but the main thing was just the great friendly environment that the bee and thistle gives you it just can't be beaten

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyFase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Through 6 weeks of travel, this stop was one that I was looking forward to after all of the great reviews and it did not disappoint. Lynn and Michael are the best hosts - so helpful with tips, ideas, suggestions and really offered the best experience in Vancouver. Lynn is a genius in the kitchen and take my advice and take the muffin to go to save room for the rest of breakfast and enjoy the muffin later in the day. Our room was spotless, incredibly modern amenities for a B&B - the beautifully tiled bathroom, heated marble floors, sunken tub and rain shower - the stay was definitely a highlight of our trip and I wish we could have stayed longer! I def. want to come back to Vancouver and will def. stay with Lynn & Michael again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YankinMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
840 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,718 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,576 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
676 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#30 of 54 in Vancouver
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Property: Bee & Thistle Guest House
Address: 1842 Parker St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Commercial Drive
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1908 heritage house located near downtown Vancouver, Canada, with views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have min. queen beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver
Bee And Thistle Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing