We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #48 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location, Amazing Service”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I love the location and stay here whenever in Vancouver. I cannot say enough about the wonderful service. Everyone was cheerful and enthusiastic. If I had an issue, they dealt with it efficiently and with a smile.

I too had an issue with the construction. Some mornings it was an 8 a.m. start time, others, a 7:30 a.m. start time was more likely. I had no idea the law was 8, I would agree that guests should be alerted to this when booking. I would request a room at the back if you want to avoid the brunt of the noise. The view is not as great, but out the front door is the beach!

The room doors could be more insulated as could the walls, but the staff were quick to move me when a very loud family with screaming, wall pounding children moved in next door to me.

This is an amazing price for a hotel in this location. The rooms are clean, the restaurant has decent food-great breakfasts- and the service, as I said, was outstanding.

Room Tip: As long as there is construction in front on Davies St, get a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNPrairieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your review and staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    618
    211
    81
    25
See reviews for
323
598
111
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Sands 4 times, and it is one of my favorite places to stay. Love the location, the decor of the rooms are upscale, nice to have a balcony also robes & slippers a plus.
My last stay was March 2nd, for 2 nights on a business trip. The front desk staff were great, housekeepers very friendly and accommodating, excellent breakfasts and good value.
A safe area to walk on my own, I recommend the Sands for location,great property, lots of great restaurants, and the atmosphere..

Room Tip: I love the rooms with the balcony, as I like the fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DodieKamloops_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I would have given this a 4.5 stars. Great location, reasonable price. The staff was very helpful. We had two rooms, both were upgraded to ocean view. The only issues were that the noise level was high (we were on the 3rd floor) since Davie st is a busy st and the bed could have been better (the mattress was too soft). We will come back again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Davie St are noisier but have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for the review and thank you for seeing the we strive to be a 4.5 star. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

They will not tell you about the 7am jackhammers when you book!!!

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel is you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScubaSteve68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
It is against the law in the city of Vancouver to start construction any time before 8am. Monday to Friday. Not sure what you heard? If any guest do hear sounds from this site before 8am please let us know immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

A friend and I spent four nights here and were impressed, even though we foolishly accepted a room across from the ice machine. The room itself was pleasant and comfortable, well-maintained and odor-free, with a small refrigerator, decent coffee, a large flat-screen TV, robes and slippers, and free Wi-fi.
The front desk personnel were accommodating, efficient, and friendly. They honored a deal we got online for free-parking (even though it was a mistake), and they were kind and patient. The location of the hotel is excellent, with the #5 Robson bus to downtown right there, and a diverse selection of ethnic restaurants within walking distance. And you're right on English Bay, at the entrance to Stanley Park, and in close proximity to the ferry that takes you to Granville Island. (The one drawback is that construction is going on nearby, so do ask to be as far away from that as possible. Fortunately they don't begin until 8 a.m. and stop at around 3:30 pm, and do not work on the weekends.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kindablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank for taking the time to send in this review, you have highlighted the advantages of our location and one thing to remember for next time is that we have direct bus loops near the hotel doorsteps that can take you beyond the Westend. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is centrally located in Vancouver with very friendly and quick service personel.
It is dog friendly and very clean. The restaurant at the lobby has good food but the service is slooooowwwww! Even when the place is nearly empty, and there are 3-4 waiters around the service is still deadly slooooowwwwww!!!!!
I like the location for strolling the English Bay beaches, to Stanley Park and visit the many-many food places on Denman street. This is the most "gay" area of the city of Vancouver so excpect to see many boy and girl couples in the cafes and bench parks. The area and the city is wonderfully (mostly) free of biggots and everyone minds their own. This is a great part of this great city and the hotel fits in nicely. It has good internet service, excellent security and lots of parking even though it costs about 12 extra dollars to park. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and even lend you an umbrella when it rains (often in the winter, but very mild weather) and give directions a plenty. The city buses to Robson Strasse (shop till you drop), Stanley Park and just about everywhere you want to go leave from outside the door of this hotel!! See you there.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrechinBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. I will address the slow service in the restaurant, however I ask that you send me your last name and departure date so that I may speak to the staff involved. Please direct you email to sands@rpbhotels.com
Speaking of the restaurant we going to be doing a full renovation mid April and we are all very excited with the changes coming to "The Park"
Guest will not be affected during this renovation, full service of all meals will be available in our Bayside Lounge.
Please come back and see again soon.
Michael Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I reserved via "priceline.com" as two adults, the first time, Jan., I stayed twin queen with one of my colleagues, but, this time, they charged $15 per day.
I cannot understand their policy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Your upgrade in January was a courtesy upgrade as the room you had reserved was not available due to a stay over. When you contacted the hotel the night before you mentioned to the agent that you might have 3 people traveling with you and that an upgrade to a 2 bedded room would be necessary, along with an upgrade charge. This was also stated to you when you checked in and you were not sure if the 3rd person was coming. I caution you in the future that 2 adults does not mean 2 beds. I hope this clears up our policies on the priceline double bed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 90 in Vancouver
1,402 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 90 in Vancouver
1,391 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing