We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this Best Western.

I paid extra for the king size bed as I wanted a balcony, and it was a pleasure to sit on the balcony with a drink at the end of the day overlooking English Bay and watching the world go by.

I loved the location, especially given that the weather was beautiful and I could spend time wondering around English Bay and Stanley Park in the sun. There were plenty of amenities close by and I really didn’t feel I needed to go more central in the evening. Supermarket one block up, plenty of bars, relaxing area.

Great room, really comfy bed. Coffee machine with capsules. My only SLIGHT disappointment was that the air con wasn’t very effective and the room did get hot. Didn’t ruin my stay in any way.

I originally booked a room in a different, cheaper hotel downtown and I’m very glad I decided to upgrade myself pretty last-minute! I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for sending in the review of our hotel and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    602
    209
    81
    26
See reviews for
312
583
111
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I'm a budget traveller but fussy about hotels. The sheets need to be good quality, and the place must be spotless and a bit attractive. The BW Sands fills the bill, and is a little home away from home for us. We always stay here when we visit Vancouver. They welcome our dog, Stanley Park is outside the front door as is the beach. The busses stop right out front if you don't drive but want to get around town. Lots of really good eating places in the neighbourhood. The rooms are small, but what the heck - we're not having a party in there. They supply a little fridge which is handy for us with our dog as she eats fresh food. The beds are comfortable. Parking is safe. Staff pleasant and helpful. Local papers are provided free of charge. This place is proof that you can stay in a nice hotel in Vancouver without sending your credit card into meltdown

Room Tip: The rooms on the back may be quieter, but the view of interesting Vancouver street life, the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank for your business and it will also be a pleasure to welcome you again soon back to the hotel. I also want to thank you for taking the time to send in the review of our property, our area is a destination that can't be missed in the city of Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a very good location just a few steps from English beach and many restaurants and cafes.The rooms are clean and nice with a big window with a sea view and a comfy bed.For its rate it's certainly good choice for a stay in Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. It is very true that our location can't be beaten. There so much to do literally on our door step.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The location might be the biggest asset of the hotel. It's literally a 30-second walk to the beach! Very convenient to walk to shopping as well. The staff is super friendly and very helpful (even took our picture for us). The rooms were clean, neat and modern. Not much more that you could ask for!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a great spot to stay. It is nice to be able to walk out the door and be so close to the beach. Lots of great places to eat, the hotel staff is friendly, efficient and make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynG178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for sending in the kind review. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked on Hotels.com, got an excellent rate for the room on a Monday night, they upgraded us to king size room with balcony for only 15.00, the staff were very pleasant. This hotel is right across the street from English Bay, down the street from Stanley Park, the restaurant was accomodating and had an excellent steak and lobster special for 14.99, where do you find that kind of deal, it was excellent! Free wi-fi and beautiful view of the bay from the balcony. Yes, it is a busy intersection, but where in Vancouver is there not one? Loved this hotel and have recommended it to my travelling friends on FB.

Room Tip: Definately ask for an upgrade if you haven't booked a king room, the view of the bay is gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you felt the upgrade charge was worth it and that you enjoyed our 2 week special of Steak and Lobster. We also have just launched our new spring summer menu and would love for you to experience it on your next stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing