We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on English Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #47 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location on English Bay”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had mid-week meetings in Vancouver and hotel was great for accessing downtown and getting out along English Bay for exercise. Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable, clean rooms. Close to good restaurants on Denman. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSHull_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello

Thank You for your review. I am glad you found our hotel so convenient for your meetings. The location is excellent for morning runs or bike rides along English Bay and the Sea Wall. The food along Denman and Davie is very diverse and good. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    614
    208
    81
    25
See reviews for
319
594
111
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We'd never been to this hotel before and chose it for its proximity to the beach in Downtown Vancouver. It was a half block from English Bay and easy to find. The check in process was simple and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was nice and we had a slice of a view to the ocean down Davie St. The area offered great walking and sightseeing. We didn't make reservations, but got snuck into the restaurant at the hotel for their New Year's Eve special, steak and lobster. (VERY yummy!) The servers seemed genuinely happy to be there and were very helpful with appetizer suggestions. The crab cakes were an experience on their own. Even with the New Year's festivities in the area, our room on the top floor was fairly quiet, facing Davie St. The amenities in the room were exactly what we needed and expected.

My only concern for our visit was the parking at the back of the hotel having public lane access. Otherwise - we would absolutely go there again if we had the occasion.

Room Tip: The hotel is angled East/West, so you have only a slice of a view to the ocean to the West from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Nikkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello

Thank You for the review of our property. I am glad you had such a Good New Years Eve at our hotel. The steak and lobster feature that night was a big hit. On a side note although our lot is not fully enclosed and has lane access but we do have security cameras through out our lot. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Best Western Plus Sands is a nice boutique hotel located in the beautiful English Bay area. It is in walking distance from some great restaurants, coffee shops and of course the English Bay beach. We booked this hotel for its location and it turned out to be of great value for that very reason. Our rooms were on the second floor (220 & 222 with the partial beach view). Rooms are nice & clean. The beds are very comfortable. There's a small fridge, coffee maker and flat screen TV in the room.
There's a restaurant (The Park at English Bay) on premises that provides room service. The food is good and reasonably priced. We liked their breakfast menu. The hotel and the restaurant staff is very courteous.

I would have given this hotel 4 stars but here are certain things that I didn't like about my stay....
1. Poor sleep quality.
I didn't sleep well. On the first night (25 January 2014), there was some sort of party going on
downstairs and the music was so loud that I couldn't sleep until 2:30 AM.
2. There's no exhaust fan in the bathroom and there's no ventilation in the rooms. I had to keep a
small window open all night for fresh air. The traffic on the road was very noisy (city buses in
particular). This too, lead to poor sleep quality.
3. The hotel charges $15 per night for their own parking lot. No complimentary breakfast (not a
big deal though).
4. Not very attentive to customer needs.
I had booked two rooms for two nights. I specifically booked one room with two queen beds
for my friend, his wife and a 2 year old baby and the other room with ONE QUEEN BED for my
wife and myself. The idea was to make use of the bigger sitting area in the standard queen
room (with one queen bed) to hang out.
The hotel gave us both the rooms with two queen beds each. There was basically not enough
sitting area for four of us in either rooms so the whole purpose of booking different type of
rooms was defeated. Its not a big deal but I think a good hotel is supposed be aware of the
customers needs.

I do recommend this hotel to budget travelers because of its location, affordability, staff and cleanliness.

Room Tip: pick rooms on higher floors to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Preet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello

I am very sorry that you struggled to sleep at our Hotel. There is street noise than can be an issue. I will also have the Bar Manager monitor the volume of the music better moving forward. I do apologize once again that we did provide, service up to our level or yours. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just recently stayed for only one night, but i must say it was a great stay. There was covered Parking, eays location to find, right by the beach, central to everything. The staff were kind and courteous. The room was spacious and very clean! Not to mention the view of English Bay was amazing! I will be coming back again!!!

You must go to Bayside Lounge directly on the corner of the hotel Amazing Drinks and food !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing English Bay or ask for a balcony beauitful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank You very much for your kind review! I hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver. You are correct as well the Bayside Lounge is Vancouver's hidden gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nice downtown hotel in walking distance of entertainment, food and drinking...staff was very friendly and helpful with directions..I got a good deal online for hotel room so if the price is still right, I will stay there again next time I'm there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dejachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello and Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found the front desk so helpful and enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Vancouver and we hope the price is right to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Spent 4 nights in the Sands - a great location and a great value. Friendly, helpful staff and a well maintained property. This is a great option if you're planning a trip to Vancouver for either business or pleasure. Close to many attractions and business sites - also great access to Stanley Park and the English Bay shoreline. Really had a good experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Aloha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank You for the review of our property. I am very pleased you found everything to fit your needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel years ago and on the return in January it was extremely nice to see they have upgraded so much. This hotel is located in English Bay and is right in the mix of everything. The restaurant "Checkers" has the best hamburger that I have had in many years.
The rooms are spacious, the only down fall is the first floor if you want to sleep because the pub and entertainment both inside the pub and outside the hotel will definitely keep you awake.
Ask for a room above the second floor and you are off to the races.

Room Tip: Do not pick the bottom floor. And get up early to enjoy the selection on hot water with your showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCFireConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank You for the fantastic review of our property. The hamburgers are great they are handmade in our kitchen and I am glad you rank them so highly. The hotel is always trying to find ways to keep modern and upgrade where possible. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,400 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 90 in Vancouver
1,388 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing