We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Ranked #48 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Walk to English Bay seawall and Stanley Park. Clean, comfortable accommodations in older hotel. Good value for the area. Great restaurants nearby. Public transportation available steps from the door. Polite staff. Attentive housekeeping. Our room over the parking lot was a bit noisy with guests parking and rolling bags. Tour buses parked in the back alley and exhaust fumes, cooking smells were a bit of a detraction. Could not turn off heating during a warm spring stay and front desk's suggestion was to run AC and leave window open - not environmentally concious option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Margot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank You for the review. I am glad the hotel and the location were very convenient. I am sorry that there was a problem with the thermostat in your room. I will alert our maintenance department about the situation in your room so we can continue our policy of being environmentally friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    586
    204
    80
    25
See reviews for
306
566
109
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I would definitely stay here again. Location was great. Walking distance to everything. Transportation at front door. The only problem I encountered was finding hair in my bath/shower before I even used it. Also couldn't get water to go medium warm. It was either Hot or Cold. But would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank ritahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Sands. It is good to hear you found the hotel so convenient to get everywhere. We do apologize for any issues you had with the water temperature. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. The reception staff here are outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. From the minute we arrived to the time we left they were always available and willing to offer assistance.Their help with advice on how to get to tourist sites is invaluable. The location is great for sightseeing with so much to do in this city and surrounds. The staff in the restaurant are exactly the same - every staff member here greets you with a smile, The food in the restaurant is excellent and very good value for money. The room was spacious and very clean with a view over English Bay. The Wi Fi worked well. The bed was very comfortable. The laundry is excellent with very good machines and dryers. We could not fault a thing. One of the very best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello

Thank You for the tremendous compliment putting us in the top hotels you have ever stayed. It is always great as well to have compliments about our staff. It was great to hear the front desk and restaurant staff were so accommodating and helpful. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We love this hotel because the location is excellent. It's next to Stanley park and all the best restaurants are on Denman street.The interior is a little old but it's clean. The only downside is paid parking but that's anywhere in downtown.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello

Thank You for choosing the Best Western Plus Sands. It is good to hear that you loved our hotel and were able to take in all the location has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is a great location if you want to enjoy English Bay and the SeaWall. Great Restaurants steps away on Denman Street and very convenient to transit.The street side of the hotel can be noisy from street traffic. Hotel parking is very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DAK830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello

Thank You for staying with us on your trip to Vancouver. I am glad you were able to take in all the great restaurants in the area and also were able to enjoy English Bay and the Seawall. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

One of the best hotel stays I've ever had at any price. Excellent value for the money. Clean, in good repair, quiet, convenient to the beach, shopping, buses (the bus took us from across the street all the way to the Amtrak station for cheap, and another one took us to downtown for a mini-tour of the city). Beds very comfortable, large screen tv that worked well and had the normal basic cable channels. Bathroom tiny but functional, clean, and pretty. Fun and interesting area of West End (of downtown Vancouver) with restaurants all the way down Denman Street as you walk to Stanley Park, and pharmacies and even a small medical clinic nearby. Starbucks on the corner practically next door to the hotel, as of this writing anyway. GREAT area for traveling on foot, but also bike rentals further down Denman Street closer to the park and, like I said, buses right outside the hotel doors if you don't feel like walking or biking. Courteous and efficient desk help, they went out of their way to thoroughly answer any questions we had. A busy restaurant/bar in the hotel if you want it. It was noisy and packed in there on a Saturday night so we opted for room service as we didn't feel like going out after walking all day, but we couldn't hear the noise while in the room. Our room was at the back by the parking lot but there was a view of the distant mountains, and may have saved us from street noise, not sure. No car noise from the parking lot. I have rarely stayed at a hotel that didn't have SOMETHING wrong, but this one was great, no problems at all. Amazing, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, which is above street level. It was quiet and had a view of the dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broz2Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for the fabulous review of The Best Western Plus Sands hotel. I am very happy we are one of the best hotels you have stayed at! I am glad that you found everything so close and were able to enjoy the many nearby restaurants. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is tired, the rooms are smaller than we expected. The bathroom was old and it was obvious the hotel could use a revamp. Otherwise the bed was comfortable, the location is very close to Stanley Park and convenient to the downtown shopping area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank You for your review. I apologize you did not find the room up to your standards. We are constantly updating our rooms and making improvements to the property. It was good to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and take in Stanley Park and do some Shopping. We look forward to you giving us another chance on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Address: 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing