We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B/W Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“B/W Vancouver”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location and right next to the Stanley Park, English Bay. Bike rentals right across the street and great dining and lounges within a three block radius. Public transportation was excellent as was the Hop On/Hop Off tourist buses that were scheduled every 20 minutes throughout the city with excellent driver narration. Tourist friendly city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 423pamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello

Thank You for choosing our property and taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found our location and primarily Vancouver so tourist friendly. You are correct the Hop on Hop off bus is great for touring the city and renting bikes is another fantastic way to travel through the streets. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    627
    216
    82
    27
See reviews for
331
606
112
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is a stone throw from the beach and Stanley park. A lot of restaurants within a few minutes walk. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They charge $15/day for parking but most hotels do in Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello

Thank You for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Sands. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the room and location. The location has lots to offer and like you mentioned it is extremely close to Stanley Park and English Bay Beach. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was very comfortable and the staff was excellent. We went for breakfast in the morning and it was wonderful. The location was outstanding! We went for a walk along the beach right across the street. Will stay here again. Did have some difficulting contacting room service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Sands. I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant and our staff. I do apologize for the difficulty reaching room service that should of not been an issue. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ocean view rooms are available and the higher floors look over a busy street but sunsets over the bay can be viewed from the comfort of your room. Located near the corner of Davies and Denman gives you both excellent areas to enjoy walks along the sea wall, to Stanley park, etc. and parking is available at a good fee rate for Vancouver. Rooms are well furnished, very clean, bedding comfortable. Reception staff are friendly and very helpful if looking for tours, etc. Older property so showers aren't the best in terms of flow and temperature early in the morning. We have stayed there a number of times over the years, and have always been satisfied with our choice.

Room Tip: Quiet side has mountain views, busier side has waterviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello


Thank You for the review and choosing to stay with us again. I am glad you enjoy our hotel and location. Your continued business is appreciated and we look forward seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The fact that it is so close to the waterfront is the main attraction of this hotel, not to mention
some of the best eating spots in Vancouver. The hotel has been renovated and the
restaurant has lost its nostalgic 50's charm; it is now typical of the many dark wooded
lounges in Vancouver. The rooms are clean, offering free coffee and tea beverages. At
low season it is a great bargain but the high rates of the summer are not equivalent up
to par with hotels that are on the waterfront with more amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HofCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello

Thank You for the review, Yes unfortunately to some people we have modernized our hotel bar. Although it did loose the nostalgic feel we now have 25 draft lines featuring local beers and a very diverse menu to go along with the new decor. I am glad you enjoyed the selection of Seattle Best coffee's and Tazo tea's in the rooms. We hope to see you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You can tell this is an old hotel, but this just adds to the character. It was very clean, and the staff were so courteous and helpful. This was a nice sized room, and it is one block from English Bay, which is were the Sea Wall is. The location was prime, and we were so glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello

Thank You for the review. We agree we think the Best Western Plus Sands has character. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding are. I will pass along your compliment about customer service to the staff and hope to see you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here on points, but the price that was quoted was very reasonable for the location. My favourite things about this hotel were that they have rooms that look out over the water. As this was my first time in Vancouver it was nice to see the water and some bits of mountains from my room. Another benefit, they provided a green bin for organic items. This was a pleasant surprise and where I stashed my teabags each morning. The room also provided a small fridge where I kept restaurant left overs. Very convenient.

One note about this location, it is at the end of Davie St. at the bottom of a long, graded hill. To go back up Davie it a little bit of a climb.

There is a Tim Horton's across the street for morning bagel, and the #6 Davie Bus right outside it will take you up the hill for $2.75. Also, a bike rental shop right beside.

The beach at English Bay is steps away and a great place to catch a sunset.

Room Tip: Ask to face the waters of English Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello

Thank You for your review. I am glad you had such a great first visit to Vancouver. I am glad you found the hotel's location so convenient and were able to enjoy Tim Hortons and rent bikes from across the street. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,410 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,518 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing