We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Sands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Sylvia Hotel(Vancouver)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Buchan Hotel(Vancouver)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,554)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveller rating
490
705
240
88
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
705
240
88
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstanley parkdavie streetbayside loungegreat locationenglish bay beachwest endsea wallan older hotelwould stay here againtop floorbus stoptim hortonsfront desk staffgranville islandhotel restaurantlots of restaurantsdowntown vancouver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
848 - 853 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel over the past week. Location...location....location. Beach...check.....park and mountains....check....restaurants.....check.....bars.....check.....convenience to mass transit.....check.....outdoor activities.....check.....big rooms.....check......professional service.....check.....terrific house cleaning....check.. Kudos to Karina at the front desk. She was extremely helpful and patient before I arrived and even more accommodating and welcoming while I stayed there....give her a raise and promotion!

Room Tip: the back rooms though facing a parking lot were not on the main drag
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello

I am glad you found our hotel so suitable to all of your needs. It is always nice to have such a fantastic review. You really did a great job of highlighting all our hotel and area have to offer. Did we enjoy your review CHECK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very vintage hotel and service ( except for the maid service which was excellent)... high cost for little in return compared to other hotels in the area. It is best that you do your homework as the You Tube video is very deceiving and makes hotel look better then it really is

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello

I am sorry your experience was not what you had hoped it would be. We strive on providing exceptional service and going beyond expectations and I apologize that we did not accomplish our goals during your stay. We would love another chance to provide you with superior service on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just a short walk across the street and your at the beach. On hose rainy days the view from the lounge was amazing enough that we didn't even feel down about the rain. It's also and close to everything. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, the staff were helpful, and we liked the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the English Bay side as the view of the Bay is beautiful. Ask for a room with a couch.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betterhalf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello

Thank You for the review. From the sounds of your review it appears you were able to take in the spectacular view of English Bay from the Bayside Lounge. We are glad a Vancouver rainy day still had some upside for you. I am pleased you found the hotel to suit all your needs as well and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our room had barely any air conditioning. For $223 a night we were just offered a fan to remedy the situation. Window a/c unit positioned next to exhaust vents which brought in horrible smell. Staff responded poorly to room problems.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unsatisifiedcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello

I do apologize for any problems you had with your room. We have since moved the fans from our laundry room more towards the alley they must have shifted in the wind. I am also sorry our staff did not act in manner you would have expected. Our staff are very empowered to help the guests with their needs and we have reviewed the situation so that we can continue to serve our guests with the utmost care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is very well priced. It accepts dogs, for a small fee, which is great. Location is fantastic. You can walk over to the beach and to any number of restaurants. Rooms are very nice - clean, well laid out. Very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank shastalucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello

Thank You for taking the time to review our property. It is true we do love dogs here and we are very happy to allow you to be able to travel with your 4 legged friend. I am glad you found the location to have everything you needed and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews