We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balcony and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Ranked #48 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great balcony and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We had a 5th floor room on the Davie side of the hotel. Nice view of the bay, and great to be able to sit outside. Ample room and big TV. Parking fee covers parking until 5pm on day of check out. That was very convenient for loading the car and then taking a stroll without having to repark.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 00Jill00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello

Thank You for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your balcony room with a partial view of English Bay.We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    586
    204
    80
    25
See reviews for
306
566
109
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We didn't want to rent a car, so the location of this hotel was perfect. We had a great beach nearby, we could walk to Stanley Park, Granville Island, and Canada Place. There were lots of places to eat and a Safeway nearby that was open until midnight. We had a great room on the top floor which had a nice view of the beach. There was some street noise, but worth it if you want the view. The room was exceptionally clean, had a small fridge, and had good air conditioning The king bed we had was really comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the train station is too far from the hotel which makes it hard to utilize that option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy01calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello

Thank you very much for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and even better enjoyed the location. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Could not ask for a better location. Just steps from English Bay Beach and a block from Stanley Park it offers unbeatable convenience at a reasonable price. The nice staff was a plus. Very satisfied with my stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our property to be in such an ideal location for a reasonable price. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

started our month in Rockies here, booked thru NetFlights rather than BW website. So BW didn't ask for a review of our stay (and we got no BW points)...but this was a lovely place with helpful front desk and quiet enough, yet close to all you could need tourist wise (and Stanley Park). We'll be back here the next/second time we come to Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullMick_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello

Thank You for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and our lovely local area which includes Stanley Park. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel over the past week. Location...location....location. Beach...check.....park and mountains....check....restaurants.....check.....bars.....check.....convenience to mass transit.....check.....outdoor activities.....check.....big rooms.....check......professional service.....check.....terrific house cleaning....check.. Kudos to Karina at the front desk. She was extremely helpful and patient before I arrived and even more accommodating and welcoming while I stayed there....give her a raise and promotion!

Room Tip: the back rooms though facing a parking lot were not on the main drag
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello

I am glad you found our hotel so suitable to all of your needs. It is always nice to have such a fantastic review. You really did a great job of highlighting all our hotel and area have to offer. Did we enjoy your review CHECK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very vintage hotel and service ( except for the maid service which was excellent)... high cost for little in return compared to other hotels in the area. It is best that you do your homework as the You Tube video is very deceiving and makes hotel look better then it really is

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello

I am sorry your experience was not what you had hoped it would be. We strive on providing exceptional service and going beyond expectations and I apologize that we did not accomplish our goals during your stay. We would love another chance to provide you with superior service on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just a short walk across the street and your at the beach. On hose rainy days the view from the lounge was amazing enough that we didn't even feel down about the rain. It's also and close to everything. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, the staff were helpful, and we liked the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the English Bay side as the view of the Bay is beautiful. Ask for a room with a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betterhalf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello

Thank You for the review. From the sounds of your review it appears you were able to take in the spectacular view of English Bay from the Bayside Lounge. We are glad a Vancouver rainy day still had some upside for you. I am pleased you found the hotel to suit all your needs as well and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Address: 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing