We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very happy with my stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I selected Best Western Sands primarily because I had gift cards that I got when I redeemed air miles. BW was in my price range and the location was by English Bay, one of my favourite places. I wanted a room that was clean, had free wireless internet, a hair dryer and reasonable paid parking. I got all that I wanted and then some. The room was nice, a bit dated but very clean. The wireless internet was super quick and I had a hair dryer. As well, the room came equipped with an ironing board and iron, an umbrella, and a coffee maker. The coffee was from Blenz and was delicious. I was also lucky enough to have a mountain view and woke up to a beautiful sight every day. The area of the hotel is fantastic, I used the bus daily and Stanley Park/English Bay were right across the street. There were some really good restaurants in the area as well, so I had everything at my fingertips. Parking was $9.99 a night which was really reasonable. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    627
    216
    83
    27
See reviews for
332
607
112
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
westmeath
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed for 18 Days Best Western Sands,Loved the hotel, everything beside us English Bay, transport outside door,Stanley Park 6 minutes walk, Restaurants all around us, Staff in Sands were the friendliest we have ever met ,Yury thanks for all your help with all our Tours,Blake for maps and transport, Mercedes for keeping our room clean and tidy,and all staff Eddie, Will, Kylie, Guys you were simple the best. We hope to be back someday keep room 527. for us, what a view, we arrived as guests and left as friends, We loved Vancouver and would recommend hotel to family ,friends,Lovely big comfy Bed. Julia (Sally) William Reddin. Athlone, Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Positives/Neutrals
The location is great. Right at English Bay. Lots of shops, amenities, transit. Quick walk to Stanley Park.

Staff were fine. I appreciated the management's attention to security when we were there as 300,000 people were descending on English Bay for the annual fireworks festival and the hotel had on extra staff to cope with ensuring only hotel guests were accessing the building, particularly the upper floors.

The one bedroom suite with kitchenette worked well for us, but felt like a throwback to the 1970s in overall decor. The kitchenette had adequate dish-, glass-, and silverware for 4 people and basic pots, pans, and cooking ware. There was a toaster, microwave, coffeemaker in addition to sink, stove and fridge.

It was clean.

Negatives
The lobby feels tired and dingy and could use a reno. This is below the average Best Western.

The biggest negative is that the motel claims to have a "fitness centre". The fitness centre was in a stuffy, standard hotel bedroom with the furniture removed and a bunch of very old, mismatched weights and equipment put in. If you want to exercise, do not stay here. It was the worst motel/hotel fitness centre I have ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneyingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, 12 November 2009
I am happy to report that we have completed renovations to our fitness centre, and will be installing new equipment before the end of this year. You can look forward to an improved environment and brand new equipment during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

well were do i start, good location 200 meters from the beach,but in the centre of everything which is great IF the hotel had double glazing,which it does'nt,there is a bar on the ground floor which stays open until one,and then everyone has to get home,!!!! the buses run until 11,which is great if you are on them and they are electric which you would think no noise BUT air brakes and lift on them makes each one noisy and you could have up to 6 out side.THE HOTEL ,clean and tidy but in need of a up date,bath room old colours and very tired,air conditioning works but noisy,had a word with the staff on leaving about these items and told would bring it up at the next management meeting,yeh right..good views from the window at the front we were on the 2nd for our 1st 2 day stay then on the 4th on our 5 day stay so we do know a little about this hotel,check it out before you book and make sure its the one for you,but does the location cancelle out all the other problems only you can decide.staff okay very helpfull when we had problems to sort out...lots to do in Vancouver its a good walk to the city centre but the bus will take you there and it does as i say stop right outside the hotel ..have fun.............

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrybrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We could not have picked a better location for our stay; the staff was outstandingly helpful and friendly. It's a hopping neighborhood with more restaurants than you can shake a stick at, and two-block access to the beach, Stanley Park, bay trails and more.

Several aspects of the rooms are decrepit -- substandard AC, obvious gaps at tops of doors, little to no soundproofing -- but very clean and nice clean/modern touches in the bathroom, carpet, furnishings. When making reservations, ask to be AWAY from the 70-year-old ice machines. We were able to move to a quieter room -- not that it was quiet, but it was quieter and sleepable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discovertude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Vancouver was the last stop for two nights on our fly drive through the Rockies before we went to Vancouver Island for a few days. Vancouver confused us. We started by disliking it but were won round by the time we left. Approaching from the East down Hastings Road we saw more vagrants than we have seen anywhere else in our travels. The traffic was bad caused by the closure of a main Street in the centre of town and this continued right down to our hotel , both the vagrancy, although reduced in scale and the traffic. However we did gain a much better impression after taking an evening dinner cruise around the harbour and other trips.
The hotel reception was not very welcoming although the gentleman dealing with us did lighten up after a while and ended up being very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were very dismal. Other reviewers on this site speak very highly of the hotel and its accomodation - we must just have been unlucky. I suspect that as Gay Pride was taking place a couple of days after we left and there was also an international firework competition taking place, the hotel was fully booked and we and our friends were accomodated in rooms that were overdue for refurb and which with ordinary levels of occupation may not have been used. We observed other people at reception booking out as they were unhappy with their room and had made alternative arrangements. The room was shabby at best and the housekeeping was far from perfect. Our friends in an adjacent room did not walk barefoot on the carpet as they considered it to be too dirty and stained. The bedding and towels were clean and in good condition. There was air conditioning installed in one of the windows but it was noisy and rattled the other windows. A large square hole had been cut out of the blackout curtain so that cooled air could circulate into the room after dark ( so could bright sunshine in the morning!!). The bathroom was acceptable. Reception was inconsistent, some staff were very helpful others not. When we asked about getting to Capilano Bridge, one member of staff said "why would you want to, all you do is cross a bridge and then come back" We had a problem in making international phone calls. We followed the instructions but were unable to connect. We sought help from Reception who sent the head of house-keeping to show us how to use the phones. She had no success either. Upon explaining this to reception to see if we could use another phone we learned that we had been charged Can$4.25 for each attempt. However this was refunded upon protest. She then said that although the instructions stated that it was necessary to dial 9 for a line they had noticed that in some rooms it only worked if you dialed 8 - Bingo-it worked! Breakfast was included but what you had was not negotiable.Scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns and toast with Tea or Coffee - take it or leave it. We also felt a little insecure in the area after dusk. English Beach is almost adjacent to the hotel. We decided to wander down to walk as the sun set. It was very busy and many people appeared to be 'spaced out' and again there was some vagrancy and begging. It was much more pleasant during the day. Once we explored Vancouver we were more happy. Recommend Capilano Bridge for a couple of hours. Quite expensive but well presented with good facilities and pleasant walks and raised boardwalks. Good attempts at providing educational/informative guidance to children. We also enjoyed the habour boat tour with dinner. Although reception tried to put us off this as well as we could eat in a top class retaurant for the price, the tour itself takes you to areas you would not see on a tour bus and there an informative commentary for part of the tour and a sing duo during dinner. Stanley Park too is great and we toured it by Tram. Would choose another hotel if we ever returned to Vancouver

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr. MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Clean, a little cramped, quiet on top floor, no view, good linen. Lots of places for breakfast within a half block. Parking lot a little tight but it worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonianOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,424 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,419 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing