We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've been too.. Dirty and terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cassandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cassandra Hotel
Ranked #83 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
1 review
“Worst hotel I've been too.. Dirty and terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The rooms appeared to not even be cleaned, the bathroom was covered in hairs and floor had crumbs, the shower head sprayed water everywhere and the tub looked stained, every bathroom surface had smudges, the bed sheets looked clean but had hair all over, pillow was stained, smelled like cigarettes, only good thing is the tv and this cheap dump only gets about 5 channels... Definitely not what it appears to be online.. waste of 160$.. Terrible service all over

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    36
    25
    30
    57
See reviews for
37
43
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We booked through Expedia, so the rates were right ;) Walk-in rates are much higher and would have been a total rip-off for the services offered. The online photos of the hotel look much nicer than the hotel itself. Not exceptionally clean, has a funny smell throughout, the windows in the room don't open so there's no way of getting any fresh air, the "whirlpool" & "sauna" seem to always be closed, the front desk was a bit of a pain in the butt & it took us 3 attempts at different times during the day and between our activities to finally get checked in :( , everytime our neighbours ran water or flushed the toilet it sounded as though someone started an engine right next to our heads, the heater/air conditioner was also noisy, and an extra charge for w-fi is ridiculous in this day & age... On the up-side, the nice white cotton duvet was definitely appreciated (no patterned polyester bedspreads here), the room was spacious, and the location was ideal for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife stayed there about 3 weeks ago. The location was ok. The hotel was ok. However, the morning front desk person was not polite at all to us and other guess. When we first asked him about breakfast he rolled his eyes and said, " down the street". Later, we noticed a guess asking to let him into his room. The man made a comment in another language to his co-worker then got up, looked into the video camera behind the desk, rolled his eyes then went to let the man in. The guess commented to the employee about his obvious rudeness. We were so upset we left the hotel and wasted our pre-paid 2nd night. I wont advise this hotel if you care for courtesy.

Room Tip: look at room before you check in. You may not want to check in after dealing with the AM front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbank, B.C.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Was renoed for the Olympics, but could use some TLC currently. Good beds and lack of noise made for good nights sleep. In todays market having to pay extra for internet is questionable. Booked thru Expedia thus good value, walk-in door rates were considerably more.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatttrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel in may while I was attending a workshop. Received prompt check in for a 'chic' room. Room was dated with upgrades including lcd tv and white duvet instead of bed spread. Old bathroom and carpets. Complaints include that there was several hairs in bathroom tub and on floor, weed like odor came in through a/c when we turned it on, and found it rather odd that hotel staff stated that they do not provide face cloths. There were none in room and when I asked for some I was given more hand towels. Pool and hot tub were nice. overall it was a decent stay but I would not stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citygirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

It wasn't until I got to Vancouver do I realize the transportation is do easy with a ticket transferable between bus and skytrain.

Stayed at the hotel and got some fabulous service and reception staff to go to places around with my famiy like Metrotown and night market. Had a decent stay, will try again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Best location, really close to everything...15mins away from downtown, 10mins away from the mall...Great customer service, Specially Kelly, she really helped us with direction and gave a worm welcome. It is a modern hotel that is very clean. Comfortable beds and a friendly staff. Sightseeing options are very numerous from the location. I recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#71 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#78 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassandra Hotel

Property: Cassandra Hotel
Address: 3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5R 5J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cassandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cassandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassandra Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing